We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avonlea, Jewel of the Sea
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
National Hotel(New Shoreham)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Manor Resort(New Shoreham)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Hotel Manisses(Block Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ballard's(New Shoreham)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Spring House Hotel(New Shoreham)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Break(Narragansett)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Weekapaug Inn(Westerly)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (336)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveler rating
252
54
11
9
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
252
54
11
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiesdiamond roomblock islandother guestswrap around porchyellow houseoff seasonhappy hourafternoon winecentral airsound of the wavesred and white wineenglish muffinsprivate porchlate afternooncrackersvery special place
Filter
Updating list...
293 - 298 of 336 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2011

The Avonlea was in a wonderful location, right on the beach and the closest you could be to town and not BE in town. Kristy was fabulous and a tireless innkeeper. We stayed in the Emerald room, which was perfect with awesome views out two sides.
The only drawback, as other reviewers have mentioned, is Yellow Kittens, an outdoor bar next door has live music on the weekends and it is extremely loud. But as long as you know this going in, the rest of the experience makes it worthwhile.
We went for long walks on the beach each morning before it got crowded and overall had an incredible time!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank khoover68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

My husband and I just celebrated our 20th anniversary at the Avonlea. We enjoyed being there very much. Loved that it was on the ocean and it was an easy walk to town. The Inn Keeper, Christy, was delightful and friendly. The breakfast and the wine and cheese in the afternoon were a great time to meet and talk with the other house guests (if you wanted to). Very clean and cool with the central air throughout the house...that is hard to come by on the island. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosellen267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Christy, the inn keeper, is a true gem! She not only runs a tight ship but cooks for all in the morning and has wine and cheese for the guests each night. She is the real reason we will be back. She was so friendly and helpful and genuine! We have stayed all over the island and no where has the staff been so personable. We stayed at Payne's and had to search the place to find someone who could help us. The views are incredible and you could not beat the location. We will be back!!

Room Tip: We stayed w/another couple in the suites down below and there awere 2 baths and a kitchen.A great value for couples!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTBoo428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

In mid-June we had a fantastic stay at Avonlea with four other couples to celebrate our 40th anniversary. We had planned this trip for almost a year, but the experience at Avonlea, and the hospitality that innkeeper Christy provided, exceeded even our expectations. We have been to Block Island at least ten times over the last 15 years, but had never stayed at Avonlea. The views, the porch, the rooms, the food and the service were outstanding! And Christy gave everything a personal touch.

Our friends were all BI rookies, and I think they loved discovering BI and Avonlea. They especially appreciated the location, so close "to town."

Thanks to all at Avonlea who made our special week so perfect!

Room Tip: We loved Emerald.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tobo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

This is truly a gem and such a great place! We stayed for 5 nights in mid-June as we were attending a wedding on Block and we were most happy with our stay. Our room was maybe a little small but very clean, cosy and comfortable with a new and spotless bathroom. The staff was attentative, very service-minded and most helpful. An excellent home-cooked breakfast was served every morning on the extensive porch while over-looking maybe one of the best ocean views on Block Island. In the afternoon wine and cookies were served on the porch, ideal for reading a book or for conversations. As the house is right on the beach, Avonlea is great for walks on the beach, swimming etc. but still only a few minutes walk away from restaurants, stores and many sights on the island. We were very delighted and happy with our stay, and even though we live in far-off Sweden we are already thinking about making plans to come back next year. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidReiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews