We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
fun hiking spot

check out the Hollow if you bring any pets or just want a nice place to take a walk or a hike... read more

Reviewed September 28, 2018
Kate L
Nice walks through woods to dramatic bluffs

Rodman's Hollow is one of my wife's and my favorite Block Island hikes (the other being Clayhead... read more

Reviewed September 18, 2018
danieloW7812SH
,
Pompton Plains, New Jersey
Read all 57 reviews
  
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
35
12
7
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
12
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a small parking lot block island short walk woods paths hike hiking nature bloom ocean vista beach edge moped
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 57 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2018

check out the Hollow if you bring any pets or just want a nice place to take a walk or a hike, beautiful!

Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018

Rodman's Hollow is one of my wife's and my favorite Block Island hikes (the other being Clayhead Trail). There is a small parking lot on Cooneymus Rd. After a short walk through woods, the trail forks. The right fork brings you to a rise looking over lush meadows, the left brings you down into the hollow. Both meet up again and take you to bluffs overlooking Black Rock Beach. The views are spectacular. There are trails to take you down to the beach but they looked pretty rough so we passed them by. Be sure to spray yourself with Deep Woods Off to keep ticks away. There are free trail maps available at the visitor's center, near the ferry. They have directions and write-ups for all the Block Island trails. Rodman's Hollow is a fun way to spend an hour or half a say.

Thank danieloW7812SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

Rodman’s Hollow is an area on block island that is a must see spot on the moped map tours. We stopped to check the area but since we were on a timed moped rental we didn’t do the hike.

Thank lollygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018

This area is in the middle of the island, so it is more of a walk in the woods than anything dramatic or scenic.

1  Thank RHR28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2018

We didn't hike the trails but others loved the hike. Also a good place to treasure hunt orbs (lamp blown glass). Beautiful scenary!

1  Thank nplingos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018

Friends suggested we try Rodman’s Hollow for a hike. Initial reaction at the parking area was, this looks ok. But once we got going, the hike got better and better. Easy enough trails in peaceful meadows and along cliff areas which offered awesome views. Spent three hours wandering around and taking pictures, very nice.

1  Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018

Rodman’s Hollow is easily accessible via the main road that circles the island from the Old Harbor, where most ferries come in. There’s plenty of parking, and the hiking is relatively easy, even though there are some little hills. You will go through shaded areas as well as open fields, and then you’ll advance to the water’s edge where you can see Montauk Point from one angle, and the Deepwater Wind Farms. Don’t worry, you won’t get lost, but stay on the designated paths.

2  Thank Masayoperfume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2017

Spent the day on November 25th walking and hiking all over the place on the island. This is a place that i've been past or stopped and briefly overlooked while cruising the island on mopeds in the summer. This time was different, we spent a couple of hours walking/hiking the Rodman's. It was great, probably would have spent more time there, but the sun was getting ready to set. It would be nice if the paths were marked better as we had to really just guess several times. It was so beautiful there, and that was the last Saturday of November. I imagine it must be breathtaking in the spring when everything is in bloom, before it is too hot to make the hike. It was nice to be there in November, no crowds, getting to see a "different island" and venturing to places we hadn't before. If you have the opportunity to go in the off season, do. If you can get to Rodman's and spend some time there, do that too!

2  Thank Islandsandz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I loved our hike here. So peaceful and filled with natural beauty. Not a very difficult hike, and I think it would be hard to get lost even though the trails aren't marked because you can hear the crashing of the waves to orient yourself. We had the place to ourselves, and it's beauty is a testament to the island's conservation efforts. One of the highlights of our trip!

Thank taylew1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2017

good for hiking but beware of the ticks. When you get to the end you see a vista of the ocean. Go to Mohegan's Bluff for no hiking, ticks and a much better view.

Thank leslieellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews