We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mehlville
Certificate of Excellence
Jefferson city MO, United States
1 review
“great stay”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Hats off to the staff at Hampton I55 South. They were awesome. We were snowed in for an extra night and our stay couldn't have been better. The front desk, housekeeping, MOD and especially the evening "cookie lady" made our stay just wonderful despite the stressful situation. They even provided soup one evening that no one could get out. They even helped shovel us out when we could finally go. Many thanks and kudos to all!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonI55, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to share your visit. I am so glad that you found everyone/everything to be so great, especially during that crazy snow storm. I am also glad that we were able to provide you with some soup in the evening so that you wouldn't have to try to trek out in all of that snow. We hope to have the opportunity to see you again, and hopefully in warmer weather. :)

Your St. Louis Hotel Staff,

Ashley Vrtis
Front Office Manager
(314) 894-1900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,202
    100
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
635
245
52
256
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The staff was very helpful and friendly. We stayed the weekend St. Louis got a foot of snow. Staff members brushed snow off all the cars in the parking lot. The hotel was very clean. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Marissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonI55, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear that you found everyone to be friendly and helpful, and that we were able to help you out a little with the crazy snow storm that we had. We can't wait till your next visit with us, and hopefully with no snow ;).

Your Hampton Staff,

Ashley Vrtis
Front Office Manager
(314) 894-1900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I'm always surprised when people complain about certain things. The hotel has very little control over noisey or heavy footed guests and if you want a four star breakfast go to a four star restaurant and pay for it! With that being said, I didn't have any issues with this hotel. I chose it because of the TA reviews. For the lower than average reviews, I had to assume they came from people who don't get out much. I am a little OCD about the cleanliness of hotel rooms and while I still wiped down handles, knobs, switches and the remote, I didn't feel uncomfortable at all about the cleanliness of my room. I didn't even throw the comforter in the corner of the room and forbid my son to touch it! The beds were clean and comfortable. The room was clean and fresh. The bathroom was clean and there was no dirt or mold in the corners. I never had any problems with sleep or noise. The pool was clean and the chemicals were perfectly balanced and the toys were very appreciated by my son. The breakfast was good and FREE. My car windows were cleaned off after the snow storm. The cookies and milk were an added bonus. The lobby/breakfast area was gorgeous and very accomodating to the guests. I saw several families having gatherings in the area. I know I'm forgetting something, but I really can't say anything more than what others have said already. All of the "Excellent" reviews speak for themselves!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank J3201IGangelam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonI55, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
What a compliment! Thank you so much for your kind words. I, too, am very cautious when it comes to the cleanliness of the hotel that I am staying in, so it is great to know how comfortable you felt and how thorough you felt we are with our cleanliness. We have been recognized as one of the top cleanest Hampton Inns worldwide, but nothing is better than knowing that our guest can see that. I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed everything from our breakfast, to our pool, all the way to our services, like cleaning off your car windows. We look forward to your next visit with us, and thank you again.

Your St. Louis Hampton Inn,

Ashley Vrtis
Front Office Manager
(314) 894-1900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We chose this location for a brief St Louis visit almost solely on the TA reviews, and are very glad we did. It's an excellent property.

Our stay was on New Year's Eve, so we were very concerned that we might end up next to party rooms or something of that sort. We were thrilled to learn that our room was on the 4th floor, which was secured with elevator key access, so that no one who wasn't staying on the floor could access it. I think that helped keep the noise down. (Not that we didn't still hear a bit of it. But there wasn't any running up and down the halls happening.)

The breakfast setup was outstanding. And the location was exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonI55, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you so much for bringing in the New Year with us and for sharing your experience with everyone. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our 4th floor security feature, and that you enjoyed our hot complimentary breakfast in the morning. We hope to see you again soon.

Your St. Louis Hotel,

Ashley Vrtis
Front Office Manager
(314) 894-1900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville, Mississippi, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Found this property after a long travel day from Mississippi. Natalie and Nancy made us feel at home from the minute we walked in; the cookies and milk at 8pm didn't hurt, either. My kids loved the pool; the toys there were a nice touch. Comfy beds, excellent rooms. A very "suite" place to stay!

Room Tip: Get to Exit 195 off I-55, and turn right. Likely EVERY room is a good room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank King F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonI55, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for not only taking the time to write a review, but for mentioning Natalie & Nancy. I know that has put a smile on their faces. It is great to hear that you felt at home from the minute you walked in, and found the pool toys and cookies to be that extra touch that you needed. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Your St. Louis Place to Stay,

Ashley Vrtis
Front Office Manager
(314) 894-1900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott,AZ, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Absolutely & totally satisfied with our stay at this hotel. Very professional staff. This is the best run hotel in its class in which we have stayed. The cookies and cold milk at night was a "home run" with our grandchildren and ourselves.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonI55, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
It is so great to hear that you were 100% Satisfied with your stay. Hampton Inns have a 100% guarantee, which means we want you 100% satisfied or we don't expect you to pay, so we wouldn't have it any other way. Thank you for sharing your visit with everyone. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Your Hotel with Cookies & Milk,

Ashley Vrtis
Front Office Manager
(314) 894-1900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on Jan 5th during the snow storm. KUDOS to the general manager Mr Dempsey and the hotel staff. They cleaned all the customers cars of the snow. My car was spotless without any snow after being parked in the parking lot for over 3 hours. Came to know that the general manager and the staff periodically take turns to clean all the cars and the parking lot. Never seen such a dedicated and fantastic hotel manager and staff in all my over 12 yrs of business travel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank biztraveller2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonI55, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your stay on tripadvisor. I'm sorry that you had to travel during that crazy storm, but I'm glad you made it to us safely. I am also glad that Tom and everyone was able to make your stay comfortable and that we were able to help you out of our parking lot so that you could continue your travels. We hope to see you again, hopefully during better weather conditions ;).

Your "Awesome Staff",

Ashley Vrtis
Front Office Manager
(314) 894-1900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mehlville
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55
Address: 4200 Mid America Ln, Mehlville, Saint Louis, MO 63129-1202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Mehlville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mehlville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55 is located just outside of St. Louis with easy access to downtown. The hotel is located near Anheuser Busch Brewery, which offers tours and tastings daily. Guests can enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Louis/South i-55
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South i-55 Hotel Mehlville
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55 Saint Louis, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing