We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Hampton in country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mehlville
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Hampton in country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

I seriously cannot say enough about this property. The employees are unreal. I had two guys help me scrape the ice from my car this morning. They actually were scraping the ice off every car in the lot. You will not even get that service at a 5-star property. The customer service is the best out of any property I visit and I travel around the country weekly. The rooms are quiet. The rooms are CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN. The management and employees take a lot of pride in running this property and you can tell it is a team effort.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sgpostle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    986
    79
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
510
197
41
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Long Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The hotel is in impeccable shape. The rooms are nice and clean and updated as is the rest of the hotel. Incredibly friendly staff that were sincere in their comments and questions. I have stayed at hampton's all over the country and this is by far the best around. Kudos to the management team for all of their hard work and dedication - it is obvious you really care about your guests.

Room Tip: The fourth floor has a key only access in the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2bebizee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

...and it was a wise choice!

Very friendly staff! Some of the best staff I've seen at a hotel in a long time. We used stay in Hampton Inn hotels when they first came around but found them falling short on quality very quickly. We haven't stayed in one for many years so I was hesitant but trusted TA reviewers enough to try it again. They came through on this one.

The breakfast is good. I'd give it 4 out of 5 for that. Biscuits were a little hard and powder eggs weren't the best but everything else was great. The oatmeal and instant orange juice (machine) were particularly excellent.

The rooms are very nicely decorated. Love the mood lighting above the window wall/cabinets! The bathrooms were very clean and nice. If I were to complain about something it's how hollow the floors are between the rooms. It's wood/steel and not solid concrete so you can hear people above you walking. The other very minor thing was I didn't like how you couldn't force the a/c to constantly blow on high speed fan instead of just auto fan. I like room white noise when i sleep. Good thing I brought my travel fan.

The double bed rooms come with a mini fridge and microwave so that's nice. The flat screen tv is nice and has hookups for those that like to bring their own DVD player, iPhone, or gaming system. I noticed it had component type (red/white/yellow) connections. I didn't get a chance to see if it had composite or HDMI or USB. sorry.

The hotel is south of town but its worth it just to stay away from the craziness. It's an easy place to get to and just as easy to hop right on 55 to go north or south. There is no highway noise on the east side. Not sure about the west but I doubt any noise there too.

I'm still overwhelmed on the nice staff! This hotel is a great choice! We will certainly return.

If you need a hotel closer in town the Homewood Suites at the Galleria is a great choice on a non-holiday weekend. The staff is super nice and all the nice major chain restaurants are close by, Chang's, Cheesecake Factory, etc. Don't stay on a holiday weekend cause the breakfast is swamped! Too small of space and not enough staff to work it. Other than that its a great place too.

Hope I helped ya!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Studio-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC
Level Contributor
132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Without question, the best Hampton I've ever stayed in.
Building, service, rooms, all of it the best.

When have you ever stayed in a hotel that scrapped your car windows everyornimg before you left?

Simply the best!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s20mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed at hotel for a week during a business trip. The hotel and rooms were very clean. The staff were so friendly; we were greeted everytime when passing thru the lobby and by the staff in the breakfast area. The rooms were spacious and the shower was great! Warm cookies and milk every night at 8 pm was an extra treat and Linda who served the cookies was wonderful. One morning there was a frost and the staff scraped every car in the parking lot. I cannot say enough about this place. I have stayed at many places, but this hotel is the one that has exceeded all the others by far.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quality9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
396 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I do believe you get a good quality with Hamptons in general. Most (ok, not all) are clean, kept up well, etc. This one is about two years all, so it is super nice. But what makes this hotel stand out from all the other Hamptons is their staff. Their front desk staff takes the time to really get to know their clients. I am by no means "a regular" there. I think I have only been there twice before, but recognized me, made me feel welcome and generally took care of me and anyone else who is a client there. I had to admit I was impressed by their care.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

From the above and beyond friendliness of the staff to the cleanliness of the rooms and lobby, this is probably hands down one of the best Hampton Inns we've stayed in in America and we've stayed in MANY.
Security guard at night but only served as a help- the area is very safe. Close to shopping and to several quaint small towns that border St Louis. Loved staying here and we will be back, guaranteed
15 -20 minutes from downtown, depending on traffic.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salzburgchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mehlville
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55
Address: 4200 Mid America Ln, Mehlville, Saint Louis, MO 63129-1202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Mehlville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mehlville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55 is located just outside of St. Louis with easy access to downtown. The hotel is located near Anheuser Busch Brewery, which offers tours and tastings daily. Guests can enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Louis/South i-55
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South i-55 Hotel Mehlville
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55 Saint Louis, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing