We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel-but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mehlville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights while visiting St Louis recently. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the room impeccably clean. The breakfast that was included had a nice selection of both hot and cold items. Warm cookies in the evening was a nice perk! But there was one problem. On the day of our departure, in the early morning hours,we were informed by the front desk that someone attempted to break into our car.As it turns out we were not alone. There were a number of other guests who had the same problem. Although the thieves did not gain entry inside our vehicle did sustain damage to the driver's door handle. Since we are not from the area not sure if this was a common occurrence but perhaps more lighting, cameras and/or additional security might deter any future incidents. If this had not happened we would have had a perfect stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RJLock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonI55, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for your kind notes about our hotel and our service. As you can see from the many posts previously, we take great pride in making our guest’s time in St. Louis memorable. Unfortunately, on one of the days you were with us, you were vandalized by a group in the middle of the night. We share your frustration of that evening, as we all understand the pain you went through that morning. Safety and security is an utmost concern of ours and being a relatively new property, we have installed a secured back entrance to our hotel with a brand new and well lit parking lot. We are in a very safe residential area of St. Louis, but with our location to a popular interstate, we take preventative measures to avoid when someone wants to do harm. We do have overnight security and 24-hour video surveillance to prevent these occurrences, and it was this nightly patrol and video that interrupted the group and was able to provide a license, car description and information to local law enforcement. In the almost 2 years we have been open, we have not had a single car issue until this night. We will continue to improve our security measures and do our best to make sure our guests do not have a worry about staying with us. If you are a potential future guest thinking of staying at our hotel and have questions or concerns, I would please ask you to call me direct at the hotel 314-894-1900 or email me at tom.dempsey@hilton.com.

Tom Dempsey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,255 - 1,261 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

Very nice hotel, nice rooms, clean and quiet, comfy beds, refrigerator in room. Free hot breakfast and evening cookies that were a hit with teens. Nice pool. Location had pros and cons. Felt pretty far from downtown and sights and to find restaurants and sights meant getting back on the highway. On the other hand the hotel is located in a nice quiet, green area despite being so near the highway and was a real value compared to downtown hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OhMadPioneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on our cross country trip. We had been staying at different hotels every night and I really enjoyed this hotel. When we checked in we were offered complimentary fresh baked cookies which were a hit. The staff was extremely friendly and the hotel was very clean and polished. The rooms were spotless the bed and sheets were fresh and crisp. Breakfast was better than most places and had a wide variety from fruit to oatmeal to eggs and biscuits. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Araceli O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We were very impressed with this hotel! The outside is well kept. The minute we walked in the door we were greeted. The staff working on June 27 and 28 were awesome; they were all very pleasant, willing to answer questions on where to go to dinner, etc. We even needed to print something from our laptop and they directed us to an area where they have internet/printer to help us with this. The free breakfast was very extensive...lots of choices...cold cereal, hot oatmeal with optional toppings, waffles, biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, bacon,hard boiled eggs, a huge bowl of cut up fresh fruit, apples, bananas, muffins, pastries, yogurt, coffee, juice...am I forgetting anything? Anyway, plenty of options for everyone. There are free newspapers every morning. They have a bowl of fruit out 24/7 and every night at 8:00 they have fresh-baked cookies that were wonderful! Nice little touches. The rooms were clean and beds/pillows very comfortable. The frig came in handy and there is also a microwave...both of these are in every room. There is a workout room and pool and hot tub. It's located about 15 minutes from the main attractions which we found nice. There are several stores close by...Walgreens, Target, Costco to name a few. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AngelaM65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We picked this hotel based on reviews here, and were very happy with our choice. It's a little bit outside the city but the wonderful staff and excellent accomodations make it well worth a little extra driving. We went here with extended family and all of us enjoyed our stay. The staff go out of their way to be friendly and helpful, even printing out directions for us. And this must be the cleanest hotel I've ever seen. We were sad to leave. Hope to stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2littlepeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was the best hotel stay I've experienced in recent memory! We've stayed at several hotels recently and I had begun to think my standards were just too high, as I found something less-than-desirable at each place we stayed. I'm so glad this Hampton Inn set me straight! It's a gorgeous building with top-notch everything. The desk staff was extraordinarily friendly and helpful and our room was spotless and beautiful. I loved the little notes on our beds touting the clean, fresh duvet covers as I often lay in bed at hotels wondering how many others have slept on/touched the blanket I'm using to keep warm! Our favorite part of the stay, however, was cookies at milk in the evening. We had the nicest chat with the sweet woman in charge of keeping the cookies and milk flowing. I will certainly seek out Hampton hotels in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The hotel is very clean. The room is divided by entertainment center/desk which gives a nice separation from the bed. The breakfast is great. The bed is very comfortable. The Arch is very close to the hotel. Because this hotel is outside of main hub of St. Louis, it is very quiet. The personnel at the hotel were very nice and friendly. Always ask if you need help. Their workout room is very nice too!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fruitbowl_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mehlville
Best Western St. Louis Inn
#1 of 1 in Tesson Ferry
861 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 123 in Saint Louis
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55

Address: 4200 Mid America Ln, Mehlville, Saint Louis, MO 63129-1202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Mehlville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mehlville
Price Range: $115 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55 is located just outside of St. Louis with easy access to downtown. The hotel is located near Anheuser Busch Brewery, which offers tours and tastings daily. Guests can enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South i-55 Hotel Mehlville
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Louis/South i-55
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55 Saint Louis, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing