We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as it used to be.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sultan Balti Palace

Sultan Balti Palace
Ranked #68 of 135 Restaurants in Wokingham
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Sultan Palace now in its 17th year is the busiest Indian restaurant in Wokingham. An article in a local newspaper referred to the restaurant as having "Poppadoms in the Premier League". Where: In the heart of Wokingham, Sultan Balti Palace operates from a two storey listed Tudor building. Sultan Palace holds 20 seats on the ground floor and 55 seats upstairs in the main restaurant. The restaurant serves a range of tempting and delicious light meals and snacks at lunchtime. In the evening the restaurant is well known for its traditional Balti style cuisine. There is a private room that holds 30 covers that can be hired for parties and functions.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Good food but lately the service has not been too good. they seem to favour large 'corporate' groups over locals. We have been asked to move tables twice to accommodate large groups.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elizasgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    31
    13
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Always excellent service and food, brilliant value too!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, Uk
Level Contributor
261 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Excellent meal & service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

This is a very decent restaurant with enough room for quite large parties. It doesn't look at all large from outside, but is on two floors that go back a long way from the road. Broad menu with some interesting and unusual variations. Service was friendly, although not super-fast. But at least we never felt pressured, even when the restaurant started filling up with people from the Ascot races. Price was very fair. I would have no problem eating there again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pandalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average Food, Good Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Being from Birmingham where there are seemingly more curry houses than there are grains of rice in the world, I am usually spoiled for getting a good indian, but unfortunately nowhere in Wokingham has lived up to the Midlands' brilliant fare.

The food from Sultan is average to good qquality, but slightly lacking in flavour. Service is excellent and they do good deals on collection, so the meal ends up being good value.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank FreddieML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Hottest Vindaloo in Wokingham?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

I've only ever tasted one hotter Vindaloo, and I've eaten a lot of curry. The Sultan is the worthy silver medal winner in my experience!

The Sultan isn't the cheapest curry house in Wokingham (probably the most expensive), which is perhaps the only reason I NEARLY removed a mark!

That said... The food is fantastic, served hot and promptly! They do seem to use more colouring than other curry houses but this doesn't affect the taste, which is truly excellent.

The atmosphere is warm and cosy if sitting upstairs. I will continue to go to the Sultan for sure, it remains our personal favourite.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mugearsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sultan Balti Palace also viewed

Wokingham, Berkshire
Wokingham, Berkshire
 
Wokingham, Berkshire
 
Wokingham, Berkshire
Wokingham, Berkshire
 

Been to Sultan Balti Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing