We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“afternoon tea”
Review of Miltons Restaurant

Miltons Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 139 Restaurants in Wokingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $48
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Miltons is an Award-Winning 2 AA Rosettes restaurant housed in a stunning converted 17th Century barn, with it's own secluded courtyard garden. Specialised in Modern European cuisine with locally sourced food and seasonally changing menu.
Reading berkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“afternoon tea”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Following a superb morning in London, watching the Trooping of the Colour, we made our way to The Milton Restaurant, Cantley Hotel, Wokingham (only 3/4hour drive). We wanted to finish the day in style.... afternoon tea and a glass of fizz - a suitably English tradition.....

We arrived and were greeted in a friendly manner and were given a choice of table or easy lounge type area. A sufficient time was given for us to peruse the menu - either a set afternoon tea or we could have composed our own to suit any type of dietary requirements.

The fizz arrived and we made our loyal toast - 'long may she reign over us'

Three sandwiches were presented on a slate platter (initially I thought - only three sandwiches...) However, they were not small... smoked salmon, beef and cheese and tomato - delicious.

Next came the cake stand - the lightest fruit scone I have ever tasted, accompanied by clotted cream and jam (in a jar - home made would have been better). On the top tier - a tiny light lemon drizzle cake, a huge profiterole and the most 'short' shortbread. All seemed to be home made rather than mass produced items that you may get in other establishments..

We were given the choice of many teas and coffees - again refills were offered as required.
Service was attentive but not intrusive.

The restaurant was busy but not noisy or distracting as we studied our photographs - including a group of ladies celebrating a forth- coming wedding and a family with a small child.

A suitable afternoon for all ages and occasions.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank christine e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    46
    30
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hugely dissapionted”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This was our first time at this restaurant and it had been recommended but either the chef must have changed or it was his night off as the food was terrible. We visited for a special occasion and the restaurant itself was nicely presented, the staff were good and the menu looked fantastic if a bit pricey. The food was such a dissapointment, a duck leg starter was luke warm and the duck was rock hard, clearly not freshly prepared. The wild mushroom risotto arrived looking a very surprising milky colour with a runny texture and tasted bland and sickly, more like a rice pudding. I could not eat this and the staff were very good about replacing it with another dish, but again although the steak was cooked to my liking the sauce was just meat juice and garlic and the potatoes were tasteless and hard. The prices charge suggest a good class of restaurant but the chef could not possibly of been very experienced, so so dissapointed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue_W437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good and Bad”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

First of all, my Sunday lunch was very enjoyable and reasonably priced from a set Sunday lunch menu. My terrine starter and roast beef main course were excellent and came with freshly cooked vegetables.

What spoils Miltons are the rip-off prices for wine and beer. I paid £4 for a pint of London Pride which prompted me to stick to the one drink. Had the price been more reasonable I might have had a second drink. A small glass of wine from the bar was £6.25 and I recall a large glass being something like £7.90, prices I feel are extortionate. Interestingly, the Miltons website does not feature the prices of wine by the glass nor beer. No doubt this is an intentional omission so as not to deter customers from booking. I don't think they'll be seeing me again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry27UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service at a great price”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Hadn't realised there was a restaurant at Miltons until recently so gave it a try and was really pleasantly surprised. Excellent food and service with a decent wine list at what felt like a much more reasonable price than many of the other restaurants in the Wokingham area. Definitely worth a visit if you are local.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happydoingthisnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham Berkshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not publicised enough - great food and service.”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The service is good and very attentive. The food is delicious, and the wines are good.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank salbar26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miltons Restaurant also viewed

Finchampstead, Wokingham
 
Woodley, Wokingham
Wokingham, Berkshire
 
Wokingham, Berkshire
Wokingham, Berkshire
 

Been to Miltons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing