We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (685)
Filter reviews
685 results
Traveler rating
328
148
93
67
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
148
93
67
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmiltons restaurantpowder roomwedding venuewedding receptionwonderful weddingjacuzzi bathcountry houselovely groundslovely roomthe main housethe ground floorfunction roomwedding guestschristmas partylarge roomfollowing morningrestaurant staff
Filter
Updating list...
580 - 585 of 685 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and I decided to get married at Cantley House Hotel on October 6th 2012. As far as wedding arrangements it was the best decision we had made by far. We had our civil ceremony, wedding breakfast and evening disco all at Cantley House. The hotel more than adequately catered for our 60 guests during the day and 100 guests in the evening. Our wedding party also took up the majority of the bedrooms on the Saturday night.

The venue was excellent and the staff were all fantastic, starting with Lisa our wedding co-ordinator, the front of house ladies, Don and his chefs and the waiting staff. Also got to speak to Maurice the owner who was very busy but took the time out to chat to us as we were checking out. Cantley for us was far more than a lovely venue, everyone we came across cared that we were having a good time. Lisa was an angel, making sure everything ran smoothly for us throughout the day, despite us scattering after the main course...sorry Lisa! :-) Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff.

This was the second marriage for both of us and we had an amazing day which was made so by our guests and the staff at Cantley House. So many of our family and friends, who like us are very well travelled, commented that this was the most relaxing and enjoyable wedding they have ever been to. I can't recommend this hotel enough and have no doubt that we will be using it again in the very near future.

Many thanks to everyone for making our very special day an amazing experience.

Lots of love, Sarah and Tony Diamond xxx

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tont1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here for one night for our friends' wedding.

We were advised that check in was at 2pm, which the hotel agreed to change to 1pm as the wedding started at 2.30pm.

The hotel looks beautiful as you approach it via the rather pretty driveway. Check in was smooth and our room perfect. The rooms are large, ample storage, furnished in mod cons and most importantly you can't hear your neighbours! The bathroom is very large and contains a shower and bath, it's just a shame we didn't get to use the bath as we got up late.

From a guest's perspective, the wedding was perfect - the service faultless, surroundings beautiful and well looked after. The food was much better than expected - it was like something you would expect to receive in a posh restaurant rather than at a wedding.

All in all we had a fantastic time, really can't fault this place, would definitely recommend it as a place to stay for a romantic getaway or attending a wedding.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reading_Traveller06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauriceStanley, Owner at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write.Your review goes straight around the hotel, it's what most staff work for. It has made the day here. I hope we see you again soon

Maurice Monk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

July 28th was our wedding day - held at Cantley .The hotel is perfect ,all rooms decorated to a high standard some with jacuzzi baths !
The hotel restaurant (Miltons) is well known in the area for great food and is another big bonus for the hotel .
It's the combination of a good hotel , great restaurant and amazing staff that make this the perfect wedding venue .

Lisa the wedding coordinator does all the hard work and all we did was be nervous!

I can't speak highly enough of Lisa or Cantley House Hotel , it was the most perfect day and all our guests have said they have never tasted food like it at a wedding it was such high quality.

Room Tip: The Tower Block rooms are lovely with patio doors out onto some grounds.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We recently hosted our wedding at Cantley house Hotel, the staff were amazing, willing to assist in any possible way they could. They ensured that the day happened without any hitches. The rooms are also well presented and modern. Milton’s restaurant is amazing the food is perfect. We would highly recommend Cantley not only as a wedding venue but as a hotel and will be returning in the near future. THANK YOU for making our special day a succes x

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samhallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Following a late evening lengthy journey I was really delighted by the comfort of the rooms at Cantley Hotel. The bed was the most comfortable I have experienced in a hotel. On offer in the room was a bathrobe along with bottles of water at no extra cost.
The restaurant menu was of excellent quality; I enjoyed my meal of salmon the first night that I ordered it again the following evening.
The staff were so friendly and helpful which I really appreciated being away from home so thank you all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 165Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews