We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here, a disgrace to the Premier Inn brand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn St. Helens South Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St Helens
Certificate of Excellence
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't stay here, a disgrace to the Premier Inn brand”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

We booked two rooms on a Saturday night at the end of July to attend a family party in St Helens. The hotel was awful and not worthy of the Premier Inn badge. The rooms were way past 'tired.' One of them stank of cigarette smoke, the headboard was 'sticky' and the carpet was rank. We were told that that the hotel was full and therefore couldn't change rooms. We had to pay £79 per room and if I'd seen the rooms before we paid (which wasn't an option) I would not have stayed there, even if I got the cheapest advertised rate of £29 per room. My advice to anyone staying overnight in St Helens woudl be to stay at the Park Inn. We met my sister there for a drink in the bar, and it was in a completely league: modern, clean, and cheaper!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mono2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn St. Helens South Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2010
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to hear of your experience at our St Helens South hotel. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high level of service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. Your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up by both our Guest Relations Team and the Management team at our St Helens hotel. Once again thank you for your review we do hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    66
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
105
64
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights in May 2010, and it is up to the usual Premier Inn standards, you know what to expect and I wasn't disappointed.

The staff were incredibly helpful and always showed an interest in the guests, greeting me whenever I met any, and asking if I was OK, perhaps I looked lonely?

Checkin was effective even though I arrived quite late, none of the hideous self-check in found in some of the larger Premier Inns and other hotels.

The rooms still use a metal key which makes a pleasant change from the plastic strips,

The view out of the romm was ruddy awful, and I know the managers cannot do much about what their neighbours do, it wasn't nice, and on the first day the room smelled of smoke, not tobacco efluent, but from the neighbouring yard, see photo. They seem to have a fire constantly on the go. Fortunately the wind changed direction and I wasn't affected.

If you like fresh air ask for a room at the front of the hotel, view still none existent but...

The location is close to the M62 J7 on the outskirts of St. Helens and apart from a trip to the "Dream" monument, nothing around at all really.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveBMidlands_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn St. Helens South Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2010
Thanks for your review, we are pleased that you were satisfied with the service received whilst staying at our hotel. Our team members endeavour to communicate with all our guests throughout their stay this ensures that all aspects of your stay are meeting your expectations. We do apologise that you were inconvenienced during your stay please be assured this will be followed up by the Management Team of our hotel. Thanks again for your review we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff,Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2008

The accomodation is good and so is reception but we have stayed there a number of times and the restaurant leaves a lot to be desired.
once we had no hot breakfast with no explanation.
We had no hot water for breakfast tea the next time (only tepid)
and yesterday we ordered a bar meal at 7-30pm and at 8-45pm we were told it hadn't been ordered properly and could they give us a refund (We had already payed for the meal)

So Good Accomodation and reception but if you want food forget it!!!

  • Liked — Clean good rooms and good reception staff
  • Disliked — Restaurant/bar service terrible
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drummerboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Guest Relations Advisor at Premier Inn St. Helens South Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2009
Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2008

With the exception of no telephones in the room, this was an okay hotel. Not much in the area, so if you are arriving back late, forget getting any food or drink.

  • Disliked — No phone and poor location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelingDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Guest Relations Advisor at Premier Inn St. Helens South Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2009
Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helens
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn St. Helens (A580/East Lancs) Hotel
2.2 mi away
Mercure St Helens
Mercure St Helens
#3 of 4 in St Helens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Liverpool Rainhill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock
5.6 mi away
Mercure Haydock Hotel
Mercure Haydock Hotel
#1 of 3 in Haydock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
7.2 mi away
Premier Inn Haydock Hotel
Premier Inn Haydock Hotel
#3 of 21 in Warrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn St. Helens South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn St. Helens South Hotel

Property: Premier Inn St. Helens South Hotel
Address: Eurolink | Lea Green, St Helens WA9 4TT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > St Helens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St Helens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn St. Helens South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within easy reach of the M62 just off the A570. For shops and local amenities St. Helens town centre is only 2 miles away. Conveniently located for Lea Green train station. Our St. Helens South Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Beefeater restaurant serving freshly cooked chargrilled food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn St. Helens South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn St. Helens South Hotel St Helens, Merseyside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing