We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Room, terrible breakfast”
Review of Mercure St Helens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure St Helens
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in St Helens
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in this Hotel on the 20 July. The rooms appear to have had a major upgrade. Fantastic bed, lovely bathroom, Air conditioning, full Sky TV channels. All very impressive.

The rest of the hotel is looking very shabby and a full refit cannot come sooner enough to be honest.

The real let down was the breakfast. The hotel had a wedding the night before so the hotel was full. Breakfast was something out of Faulty Towers. No glasses, no juice, poor tea and coffee. all hot food came out in stages so if you wanted a full breakfast, expect to take it in 4 or 5 courses. It was all self service and clearly not very organised at all.

The breakfast let our stay down. Staff were trying but there were simply not enough people of organisation. I would stay in the hotel again but get it on room only basis and go across the road to Weatherspoons

Room Tip: Book a room without breakfast and go elsewhere
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pierre_le_Fruffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
There are newer reviews for Mercure St Helens
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 472 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for a trip to Haydock races. It was a bit further away than we planned. Check in staff were fine and quite helpful. The room was good, considering it was quite cheap. The bar downstairs was very under-stocked...empty shelves, however, this was not a problem as were only having 1 drink before the races. Breakfast was really poor. No choice hardly of cooked food, no mugs for the coffee, no glasses out next to the fruit juice. We managed to have a very small breakfast and a drink, but don't expect much and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oakleigh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We booked this hotel in the January sale ! And wasn't disappointed at all. We chose the hotel as its only a few miles from haydock racecourse which we were visiting and lots cheaper then any other in the area. On the edge of St. Helens town Center you couldn't wish for a better location with free parking, as long as you put your registration number in the machine at check in. The hotel has free fast speed wi- fi and the breakfast wasn't the best we have had but it served a purpose but the scrambled eggs looked awful and resembled egg custard - yuk,! The rooms were clean with a variety of TV channels and air con , however we were unable to have this running through the night as there was a constant noise from it,the downside of the room was you couldn't open the window which made sleeping difficult. The staff were friendly and respectful in there manor. We would return if the price was again right and we were going to the races.

Room Tip: Ask for a cooler room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The room was a furnace, bar (?) big empty room, was deserted, didn't brave dinner, breakfast was nothing short of Fawlty Towers, and for the final icing on the cake, I've just received a parking fine, yes, despite leaving my registration details at reception, as instructed by the receptionist so that I wouldn't get a fine!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Being from the area originally we decided to give it a go for our week in the UK.
The reception staff were always very pleasant and helpful, though not at times knowledgeable.
The entrance lobby was clean but uninspiring. Smokers were able to congregate directly outside the main door, so walking through the smoke was not nice.
The lifts worked perfectly.
Room maintenance was very good, the cleaners obviously worked very hard. Our room was well appointed and immaculately decorated with up to date appliances and a modern bathroom suite.
Air conditioning in the room was either too hot or too cold, though we lived with it.
Having booked our stay for seven nights we chose to have breakfast.
Whoever is in charge of this hotel needs to get up and visit at least weekly the set up here, on three occasions I needed to ask for cups without chips on the rims, on one breakfast visit I found and changed the two cups we needed rather than ask. Decaffeinated coffee was not readily available and again daily except for once I needed to ask for this.
A premier Inn supplies a far greater range of cereals and pleasantly cooked fayre than the Park Inn.
A very limited range of yoghurts, only plain on display for two days. though cheese and some meat was available.

While I am sure the chef tried hard, he really should try eating the stuff, or at least get a better idea of presentation by visiting other hotels.

The only young girl who impressed us in the dining area worked on Sunday morning, she worked fantastically while her male colleague stood shuffling his feet by a lectern no doubt clearing up or setting tables or removing damaged cups was way beyond him.

It is also apparent that no dress code applies to the dining area as we were subjected to a few individuals wearing various items of sleepwear, Raise your standards Radisson, we don't all want to see pyjama shorts at breakfast!

A free car park is attached to the hotel

Going for a swim in the hotel though easy to find, I found the changing area dirty to the point of vile, obviously all it takes is a quick walk through every hour to ensure standards are raised. The gym was fantastic and modern.
The Park Inn was a centrally located hotel which suited our needs perfectly, we were able to travel to Liverpool and Manchester very easily either via public transport or by car. St Helens town centre is literally just yards away.
The hotel is not a good advert for the town and really needs to raise it's game, unless it can afford to lose business. A terrible shame for the town and the workforce who all need to work to enhance this perfectly located gem.
Unfortunately not my favourite hotel and I really wanted it to be, maybe if I choose to stay here again I may be able to see vast improvements.

Room Tip: All rooms are refurbished so a good standard.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Hi we found this hotel great lovely and clean room great big bed but what a disappointment the breakfast was it was buffet style more like a works canteen set up,the hot food was cold we had to ask for plates then no tea then no cups .We cancelled breakfast the next morning and received a refund of £20 which we used to buy breakfast in weatherspoons called the glass house 2 minutes walk from hotel two breakfast tea coffee £7 and it was great .Park hotel should get there act together and need to improve the standard of its food. Mrs Pat Graham. Teeside.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 55kpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip and service was OK but hotel felt a bit tired and lacked atmosphere. Lobby looks a bit scruffy and in need of a refurb, room was clean and comfortable but the bar and restaurant were dead and the chairs felt like I was the 10,000th person to sit on it since it was last cleaned (sticky arms and dirty looking).
Overall for the price it was OK for a night to sleep in but nothing more.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanL50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helens
Mercure Haydock Hotel
#3 of 3 in Haydock
91 reviews
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
#1 of 1 in Newton Le Willows
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Shankly Hotel
The Shankly Hotel
#4 of 98 in Liverpool
2,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure St Helens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure St Helens

Address: Linkway, St Helens WA10 1NG, England (Formerly Chalon Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > St Helens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in St Helens
Price Range: $80 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure St Helens 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Chalon Court hotel in St. Helens welcomes guest'sExperience delightful St. Helens as well as the lovely counties of Northwest England from this cosy home base. Only 35 minutes from Manchester International Airport and a mere 20 minutes from John Lennon Airport, with easy access to the Trafford centre and liverpool one. this St. Helens hotel features contemporary, colourful rooms as well as on-site dining at the Pyramid Restaurant. Business and leisure travellers alike enjoy access to the hotel's fitness centre, in addition to room service, convenient work stations and Wireless, High-speed Internet access (fees apply). The Chalon Court hotel in St. Helens also has five adaptable meetings rooms, which can be tailored to accommodate a wide range of special events.The Chalon Court hotel's location makes it easy to explore the vibrant cities of Liverpool and Manchester as well as the scenic landscapes of Merseyside.The 84 stylish and up-to-date rooms include features like LCD televisions, mini safes, hairdryers .Visitors can savour British-inspired cuisine at Pyramid Restaurant in the Chalon Court hotel.Guests can maintain their workout routines thanks to the on-site fitness centre complete with indoor pool at Chalon Court hotel.This St. Helens Chalon Court hotel offers secure parking for 150 cars.The Chalon Court hotels helpful staff are happy to assist guests with impressive events for up to 300 attendees ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure St Helens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson St. Helens Hotel St Helens
Park Inn Saint Helens
Park Inn St Helens
Mercure St Helens Merseyside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing