We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hit and miss” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frankie & Benny's

Frankie & Benny's
Ranked #135 of 219 Restaurants in St Helens
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I would agree with a previous reviewer that F&B's St Helens is a bit hit and miss with both the food and the service. We visited on 21.8.13 and our food was nice, the waitress was also nice however the lady that greeted us on the door was grumpy and sour faced (maybe the same one...?) Overall our meal was good (if a little pricey for what we got, £50 for two mains, a starter to share and a few drinks; we will be sticking to the meal deal next time we visit).

We did try and go for breakfast on 18.8.13 but ended up leaving and going to the Running Horses instead as we were kept waiting for ages at the door, then at the bar without any offer of drinks. The staff seemed stressed (short staffed?) and also surprised that a few people had come, on a Sunday morning, for breakfast. How dare they! We wouldn't bother again for breakfast but would come again in the evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    55
    27
    29
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GRUMPY SOUR FACED WAITRESS”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Just been to Frankie and Benny's in St.Helens, the food was of a good standard. The service however was terrible. We where served by a grumpy sour faced waitress with no customer care skills. Shall not be returning again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I been here 4 times and 2 out of the four it good

Good things
It's good when its empty
The cocktail are lovely and the food is lovely.

I think that the service lets this place down when it's busy. Once I when and they forgot are dinner we sat their and after one hour we ask someone and we did get the meal for free.

Once went and the was 15 of us and we had to pay a service charge of £25.
It is expensive too

The food here is good and the drink.
But any frankie & benny has hit and miss service

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Haven't been to a Frankie & Benny's for some time - I remember the reason why now - dreadful, horrid and an absolute rip off.
Junior portion of pasta coating £7.55 was little more than a saucer of food
Burgers seemed to be cooked from frozen type - no taste, horrid
A simple request - no tomato was too much for them to remember
Horrid, we will not be back to this branch or any other

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I love the food at Frankie and Bennys! The staff were lovely and i just had a great meal with my family and friends :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KristyJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankie & Benny's also viewed

 

Been to Frankie & Benny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing