We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trust's got talent”
Review of Theatre Royal

Theatre Royal
Ranked #5 of 26 things to do in St Helens
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Warrinton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Trust's got talent”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Excellent night out, theatre foyer a bit cramped and toilets seen better days but still very enjoyable.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    45
    9
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“David Guests Legends of Soul”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic show, all the artists were wonderful. Lots of vitality and fabulous voices. Lovely little theatre in the centre if St Helens. It took us 45 minutes to get there by car from Chadderton. My only gripe was that we were in the stalls,which cost us £20 each more than the circle, and the people in the circle were told to remain seated at all times. That wasn't so in the stalls. Everyone was stood up most of the time,so if you couldn't stand, you couldn't see the show. There were quite a few people sat, who could not see a thing. One man was in a wheelchair in the aisle,and people were stood in front of him, totally ignorant to his plight!
As disabled people, my companion included, are unable to climb stairs to the circle, could it not be cited that the first 10 rows are only on sale to those who cannot stand all evening. This would then leave the back rows free to dance around at their leisure.
Also I had e misfortune to be directly in front of a 'singer' who was louder in my ear than the singers on stage, although not as tuneful. I had to request she refrained, or sang at the side somewhere. Maybe a notification on stage would stop that too. I don't mean do not sing to the upbeat chorus' which the singers themselves have requested audience participation, but, this songstress started at the beginning to lovely ballads,which spoiled the experience for me,and I did end up in the aisle to get away from it.
All in all a fabulous show, but if you have a disability,and want to watch and listen to the artists, be careful you may be wasting your money, which is quite a lot for the stalls and it was a long way to go for us also to be a little disappointed with the performance of the audience!
Can't see this happening during the Phantom of the Opera or Les Miserables!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Earley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great time at the Legends of Soul Show”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We went to see the David Guess Legends of Soul Show and had a really great time friendly staff and the whole show was brilliant Eddie Holman awesome looking forward to visiting this nice theatre again in the near future .

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank IANCSLOFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peter Pan St Helens Theatre Royal Pantomime 2013”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We went to see Peter Pan last week. The show itself is more of a story with pantomime bits and characters in it. The cast was brilliant. My 11 year daughter and 15 year old son were in stitches at the comedy moments, and loved getting wet!
One thing I have to say is that Simon Foster as the Dame is excellent. He brings a refreshing touch to the show and has fantastic comedy timing. Even a look can make you laugh. This cam also be said for Nick Cochrane from Corrie. He has a cheeky chap character of Smee.

Definitely go and watch this!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fantastic night of entertainment”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We went to watch St helens theatre last night and it was a fantastic experience. Although the actual theatre could do with updating and the chairs were very uncomfortable I could not mark this review down at all due to the fantastic show. Even though Peter Pan hardly features we were not disapointed as the best parts of the show were carried by the other characters. Nick Cochrane played an excellent Smee and kept the audience laughing all the way through. We will be booking for Snow White at Easter for sure.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dav R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theatre Royal also viewed

St Helens, Merseyside
St Helens, Merseyside
 

Been to Theatre Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing