We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff don't care”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Game Bird

Game Bird
Ranked #164 of 222 Restaurants in St Helens
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Staff don't care”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

My fiancée and I dine at the Fayre and Square chain of pubs quite a bit. Unfortunately, The Gamebird is by far the worse there is. The meals are far from the quality expected and are quite different from other Fayre and Square pubs. Service is entirely lacking, our meals were ordered and at least half an hour went by before they arrived. The meals were warm as I suspect they had come straight out of the microwave. Dessert was another matter new ordered ice cream so you might expect this to be delivered to our table in good time..... No. Ice cream took 40 minutes to turn up after reminding staff several times.
Anyway, I hope management read these reviews and take some action before you end up like many other pubs around the UK.... Boarded up!

Helpful?
1 Thank The_weeve1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Game Bird, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear The_weeve1

Many thanks for your recent review. Your feedback was a concern to hear and I would like to investigate your feedback further with the Management Team of the pub. I have sent you a private message and look forward to hearing from you soon.

Many Thanks

Fayre & Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    35
    37
    40
    87
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Absolutely awful. Went there Monday night the 26/11. Food awful..think I found some meat like substance in my pie. No wines to speak of, they obviously had them but hadnt got them out or bothered to put them in fridge. Staff couldnt give a monkies and the duty manager was just as bad. Generally poor food, staff and attitude they all seemed to go well togther..

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rayney_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Won't bother again.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I'm no stranger to chain restaurants having had jobs that entailed living out of a suitcase for many a year. However visiting The Game Bird was felt like stepping back in time to a Henry's Table of the late '80s - complete with disinterested staff & couldn't care less manager...

The Game Bird is conveniently located on the A580, by the turn off to Rainhill/Prescot. It's got a good sized carpark & a reasonably sized children's area although we didn't get the chance to try that on this visit.

Now to be fair - it does what it says on the tin. And if you chose wisely, then you could eat quite cheaply. There was nothing WRONG with the food, but nor was it anything above average.

On ordering at the bar, I did wonder if the waitress would or could crack a smile. Alas no. And as surly to other customers as she was to me so it couldn't be down to her misunderstanding the balding, harrassed, fat geek stood before her...

Indeed another chap at the bar when she turned to serve him followed good bar etiquette and said "Oh I think that bloke over there was first..."

Her response of "Whatever. Oh, it doesn't matter - what do you want to order?" said it all...

Food took a little while to arrive but within the bounds of acceptable as they were to be fair busy.

Nice gammon in a supersized yorkshire - you just know it came straight from the freezer though. I didn't get a sense of much real cooking being done locally - that that's been true of all such chains for years and you pays yer money, you take your choice.

Chicken looked ok, chips underdone.

Dessert ok but ice cream cake still very frozen & so not as tasty as it could've been. yes I could've waited but with a toddler - waiting isn't ever an option!

With hindsight, should've taken the side road & found somewhere more on the beaten track in Prescot/Rainhill. I suspect their location accounts for the bulk of their trade rather than reeat custom.

Even when trying to return the key for the locked baby change room I was blanked by the Manager. This does not seem a happy ship...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First time to this restaurant - Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I'm was very surprised to read the reviews of this restaurant this morning, as we went for this first time on Sunday and our experience was excellent.

The restaurant is part of the Fayre and Square chain, similar to a Harvester, where you find a table, choose want you want from the menu, and then order from the bar.

The staff were very friendly, food was very good and came quickly.

The only problem came when 3 seperate large parties of 12 each descended on the restaurant at the same time - but to be fair that would have caused any restaurant a problem if they were not expected. This delayed our dessert, but we got an apology for it, which they didn't have to do.

I would definitely go again. One sign I look for when going to a new pub or restaurant is how full the car park is - and this one was full - so it couldn't have been all bad. If it was practically empty on a Sunday lunch time, I might have given it a miss.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeSJ-59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Food was microwaved, steak burnt, waited 40 minutes and restaurant was empty. sent the food back only to be given a new steak less burnt with the same chips that we now cold.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Case2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Game Bird, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Case2008,

Thank you for your review of the Game Bird, your comments will be passed to our managment team to ensure that the Kitchen staff are aware of the quality that is expected at the Game Bird.

Regards
Fayre & Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Game Bird also viewed

Hoylake, Wirral
St Helens, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Bootle, Merseyside
Leigh, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Game Bird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing