We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't book!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ParkView Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #5 of 5 St Helens B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We only lasted 1 night so can only go by the few hours we were there. We got there about 6 the lady showed us to our room after scrambling through the hallway past the stupid table that was clearly in the way (even though this was a fire exit), got to our room and had dirty brown sheets,dirty stained carpet,dusty broken blinds,windows that didn't close it only if you practially wrestled with it,the 1 radiator had no handle to turn down so we had to sweat with the window open (on a ground floor rm) bathroom had no shelves,1 towel each n finally a bedside lamp that had no bulb in and 1 free plug at the back of the tv and that was hard to get to. The manager was friendly and helpful but I'd never stay here again everywhere I went was just too cluttered and cramped

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thebear20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview_Hotel, General Manager at ParkView Hotel and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for your interest. We are in the process of de-cluttering. It is difficult when trying to keep with the charm of the Victorian ambience which our more discerning guest appreciate but are progressing well. Finally, let me reassure you ALL our bedding is clean as are our rooms. Your particular room as being on the ground floor has child/security locks which for those not familiar with hotel stays may find them difficult to open. Furthermore, if your radiator thermostat had stuck then all you had to do is ask a member of staff. May I say, I am glad you enjoyed your stay regardless to these teething problems and we luck forward to seeing you again at the Park View Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 106 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed in ParkView to be close to Whiston Hospital (less than 10 mins drive). I have coeliac disease so finding gluten free food is sometimes challenging; ParkView were great and cooked my bacon separately and made scrambled egg so that I was safe. Bathroom, towels and bed linen very clean. Tea/coffee facilities and plenty of tv channels.
Very quiet, both in terms of traffic, even though not far from main road, and fellow guests.
Ok, maybe decor is tired (and carpets have seen better days), but for the price it can't be faulted.

Room Tip: You need to ask if you want a shower as some rooms only have baths, and my shower had a 'roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

well we arrived at the hotel at 8.30pm and it was raining and was left to stand out side for a good while, then to be shown a room with a single bed when i had booked and payed for a room for 3 to sleep in i was shown down stairs again and had to wait for a good ten minutes for a lady to come and tell us they had another room, breakfast well don't expect much cornflakes and muesli that's the cereal and the full English is just dumped on the plate no presentation tin ala tin the best was the toast,bed not even made cleaning not done and two towels for for two adults for two nights come on stains on bed sheets not pleasent

Room Tip: ground floor room far better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia1972_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview_Hotel, General Manager at ParkView Hotel and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

The hotel can only apologise for the mix up as this was a last minute booking and we do fill quickly. We did however upgrade the guest to our executive room free of charge. Furthermore. we certainly clean and make the beds on a daily basis, but we do not change towels daily unless totally necessary as this reduces our carbon footprint. To keep our prices low and very competitive we serve a hearty but basic breakfast which most guest enjoy. We are a no frills hotel and offer clean basic rooms and great prices. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have stayed at the Parkview on numerous occasions over the last 18 months. I have always found the staff to be extremely helpful and accommodating (e.g. late entry etc). Rooms are clean and WiFi access is excellent. For the amount charged per night I cannot fault this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I spent one night at the B&B.I stayed in a room with a shared bathroom and I was very comfortable.I had no problem with the room.The breakfast was very good and I was very happy with my stay.I would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jt4771453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Only spent one night here but no real problems at all! Some of the reviews on here very harsh and unfair.Staff very helpful, rooms on the positive side of ok. Breakfast great-apart from some very dodgy sausages!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

never again was the worst place i have ever stayed in small room shabby bed dirty sheets threed bear carpets advertised as bed and breakfast. no breakfast until 0839hrs i was long gone by then no towells in the the rooms shared bathroom very grubby so overall not a good place would not recomend

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Salbojones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkview_Hotel, Manager at ParkView Hotel and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Let me re-assure you that our room are cleaned on a daily basis as described by our health and safety record. Unfortunately we don't do breakfast till 8.30am at weekends which is stated on our website and informed to our guests. All single guests are provided with one towel and only need to ask for a second when considering the enviroment. Furthermore, with shared bathroom facilities we cannot always gurantee the condition after being used but this is reflected in the price. Assuring you of our best intentions. Parkview Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helens
5.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock
1.9 mi away
Mercure St Helens
Mercure St Helens
#3 of 3 in St Helens
483 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eccleston Arms
Eccleston Arms
#2 of 5 in St Helens
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Griffin Inn
The Griffin Inn
#1 of 5 in St Helens
138 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn St. Helens (A580/East Lancs) Hotel
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn St. Helens South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ParkView Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ParkView Hotel and Guest House

Address: 333-335 Prescot Road, St Helens WA10 3HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > St Helens
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in St Helens
Price Range: $38 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ParkView Hotel and Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is 1 mile from St Helen's town. It is facing Taylor Park ideal for those guests who like that early morning jog or walk before breakfast. The hotel offers 3 types of accommodation. On the ground floor are executive suites i.e. widescreen TV, leather furniture and bathroom with bidet. The 2nd floor offers standard accommodation of en-suite single, double and family rooms or our budget single rooms from £20 per night. All rooms have colour TV and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your ParkView Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park View Hotel
ParkView Hotel And Guest House St Helens, Merseyside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing