We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Camping at Dodford Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dodford Inn

The Dodford Inn
Ranked #9 of 115 Restaurants in Bromsgrove
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: Contemporary, Gastropub, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Recently renovated and reopened on 3rd November 2015 under new management. All previous reviews do not represent new ownership and are not reflective of the fully refurbished, bar, kitchen and dining area. We are a family run pub using fresh, locally sourced produce in our home cooked meals. We offer a variety of local favourite ales. A warm welcome is guaranteed! The setting is idyllic in the heart of Dodford village, with stunning views across Dodford, Bromsgrove and Wychbold. There are local favourite walks in the surrounding area which we fully recommend. Please visit and feel free to leave a review.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Camping at Dodford Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We took the opportunity to camp (onsite) at the Dodford Inn 24, 25/08/2013 in our 4 berth tent.
The live music was great and enjoyed by all. The kids (aged 5 & 9) were both made to feel very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed the free entertainment.
We took the family dopey Labrador who was also welcomed.
The facilities were good and the staff very helpful.
Will be going back next year as its a very nice pub in a nice setting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lamby29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    39
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Music in the Meadow festival”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

While searching for something to do at the weekend I found the Dodford Inn advertising a music festival and camping for £5 per tent so thought we'd give it a go

There were a couple of great music acts on that went on till closing time, great draft ales, stouts and ciders (I recommend the Pioneer lager). We didn't eat in the restaurant but had a burger from the BBQ which was lovely.

Lots of rooms outside for kids and dogs and the pub had a lovely friendly atmosphere.

The camping was very basic, the pub toilets were left open and there was a tap on the wall, but fantastic value for £5 per tent and no expensive taxis, just a quick walk across the field and fall into our tent. Best idea ever!!

We are already planning our next visit and hoping to try the restaurant food next time

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisalewis73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stourbridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

found this great pub through reviews on trip advisor ,really top pub grub and good ales .lovely atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, great beer, awesome company!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

What a great pub, its still a proper family run pub, not like a lot of these 'chain' pubs you get everywhere nowadays.
Proper ale on tap, good pub grub - nothing special but thats what you want sometimes, if you know what i mean, and awesome surrounding scenic views
For the kids, this place cannot be beaten, no other pub in the area has the grounds, and activities to keep the kids happy as the Dodford Inn has. Quite often there is a large bouncy castle or/and a giant inflatable bouncy slide.
There is live music most weekends, and sam and his team hold several events through the year, from beer festivals to weekend live music events.
The pub went downhill several years ago, but Sam and his staff are back on track, making the pub what it once was, Keep it up !!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Step back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

what a place! great food and best of all real ale that is actually clear. I will be back. Live music that left it's mark and best of all the Kids had plenty to do meaning I didn't

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nobby84uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dodford Inn also viewed

Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
 
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Dodford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing