We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky but quality”
Review of On The Rocks

On The Rocks
Reserve with OpenTable
On The Rocks is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 120 Restaurants in Bromsgrove
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Family run restaurant offering you the chance to cook 'on the rocks' ie on volcanic rock, at your table. Healthy, fun, interactive dining. All steaks are 21 day matured, locally sourced Fish is excellent and fresh. All dishes are freshly prepared inhouse and our cheesecake is already the talk of the town!!
Reviewed March 15, 2013

On the Rocks is one of those restaurants where your meat/fish is delivered uncooked to your table along with your choice of vegetables.

You are also supplied with a VERY hot slab of rock to cook your own lump of meat or fish exactly how you like it.

It's quirky, but the quality of the food is absolutely first class, as is the reception you get and the service.

It's also extremely popular - try getting a table without booking well in advance!!

We have been there several times now and the standards are constantly first class

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroE9, Owner at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

We like 'quirky but quality'.......we try very hard to maintain the same high standard and excellent level of service, so thank you for voicing your appreciation of this. Look forward to seeing you soon, Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

462 - 466 of 544 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Found this restaurant on trip advisor as we were stopping over in Bromsgrove for a night and previous reviews were good. Have to say we were not disappointed! We opted for the set menu - excellent value at £21 a head for 3 courses. Homemade pâté for starters, steak for main and homemade white chocolate & raspberry cheesecake for dessert. Quality of food was excellent - beef is sourced locally and it was delicious. I loved the concept of cooking the steak on volcanic rocks at the table; the smell whilst cooking was making our mouths water! The service was excellent and the staff couldn't make us feel any more welcome. I would definitely recommend to anyone for a lovely evening out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pb231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroE9, Owner at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to add your review. Glad we able to provide you with a memorable evening. Hope to see you again if you pass this way again. Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Having grown up in Bromsgrove it was great to come back and dine at this restaurant. I didn't get (although probably should have) that the food was cooking your food on hot plates/rocks hence the name 'on the rocks' d'oh! We had the sharing platter of fillet steak, tuna and scallops. Was lovely as you can cook the meat to how you want it. I think we were a little dubious about the scallops as we weren't sure when they were cooked but you have a choice of meats/fish so this isn't a problem. The scallops were huge though which you don't often find in restaurants and the waitress recommended we cut them in half before cooking. Would definitely recommend for dining with friends or for couples. Little gem in Bromsgrove town centre.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ShereeDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroE9, Owner at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thanks so much for the review........you'd be surprised how many people don't realise the concept until it's explained to them........just adds to the excitement of the evening for them. Agree the Sharing Platter is a great choice if you like both Steak & Fish. Hope to see you again soon. Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Okay, as promised , I revisited this lovely restaurant. The rating has now gone up from 4 to 5 stars. I took my wife to try it out and she really enjoyed it too. As a fish-eater she tried the surf and turf and informs me the scallops were great, but the fillet steak was the star of the show. I tried a bit of her fillet and had to agree, I had ordered the sirloin and was delighted with it....till I tried her fillet . Now I'll have to back and order one for myself, oh well, lol. I expect this will be back up as top restaurant in the area soon, deserves to be.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroE9, Owner at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Back up to number 1 now!!! Thank you for your review.......so it's Fillet Steak for you next time then. Look forward to welcoming you both back again soon. Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Have eaten at this restaurant several times now because its become our favourite in Worcestershire. Passed on the starter because I enjoy the main course so much. The fillet steak is out of this world and being greedy I always have an extra portion of scallops that goes down a treat. The white chocolate cheesecake is reason enough to eat here and ensures I leave feeling fully satisfied, which sadly enough doesn't happen in many restaurants I go to these days. The wine is very reasonably priced and my wife has become a huge fan of the Marlborough. My only complaint is I love the steak and scallops so much I am very reluctant to try other items on the menu. Great food, great service and exceptional value means we have already booked early to make sure we get a table for next weekend!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Blod9uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaroE9, Owner at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thanks so much for the great review, much appreciated Fillet Steak, Scallops & Cheesecake would have to be my favourite too!! We appreciate your support and always look forward to welcoming you back. Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On The Rocks also viewed

Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
 
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
 
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
 

Been to On The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing