We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice welcoming restaurant...”
Review of On The Rocks

On The Rocks
Reserve with OpenTable
On The Rocks is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 115 Restaurants in Bromsgrove
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Family run restaurant offering you the chance to cook 'on the rocks' ie on volcanic rock, at your table. Healthy, fun, interactive dining. All steaks are 21 day matured, locally sourced Fish is excellent and fresh. All dishes are freshly prepared inhouse and our cheesecake is already the talk of the town!!
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice welcoming restaurant...”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were originally attracted to this restaurant by the concept of volcanic rock cooking at the table. There's no doubt it's unusual, and if you want your meat cooked a particular way, then you're in charge! The piece of venison and steak we had were of a high quality.

We visited as a family of 5, and Caroline made my family very welcome, despite the lack of children's menu. We managed to sort out smaller portions from the menu, which worked well.

The only downside is that after a few diners were cooking at their tables, it gets a little smoky in the restaurant! We also felt that service could have been a little quicker - it shouldn't take over 10 minutes to get a liquer coffee for example, when there are only 4 tables in!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crumbles_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    81
    26
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coleshill, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous Dining Experience”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Lovely little friendly restaurant. The staff are efficient and knowledgable and on arrival we received an outline of what was on the menu and how it would be served. I opted for the sirloin steak and my partner had the surf and turf. Out came the 400 degree hot rocks with our steak searing on the top. Once the food arrives you simply remove the meat from the rocks and then you are free to cook your steak a little at a time to your own taste. Great idea as your food never gets cold. For dessert we opted for the white chocolate and raspberry cheesecake. Simply heaven! You will not be disappointed if you go.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant.”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Brilliant place to go and do something a bit different. The staff are helpful and friendly and the owners are there as well getting their hands stuck in which is nice to see.

I would go back and I will recommend this place to everyone I know.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stubate79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cooked exactly how you want”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

An excellent small friendly restaurant with good parking facilities nearby.
Staff very helpful.
Cook your own Steak, Fish or Shellfish on a really hot stone to your exact requirements, when & how well cooked you like.
Not rushed or hurried over your meal in any way.
Steaks are hung for 21 days & lovely and tender.Accompanying choices of potatoes, veg or salad very good.
Best place to eat in Bromsgrove

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Steaks and Seafood on the Rocks”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Excellent quality steak and fresh scallops (even this far inland.) Pleasant and attentive service with sticky toffee pudding to follow. With drinks and puddings less than £25 per person.

This is the best way to have steak or scallops- you sear it first and then cook each piece quickjly so it is always hot and freshly cooked- steaks so often pall after the first half; not here. Scallops the same- I like mine just seared on the outside and still cold in the centre; restaurants rarely do this; you can do it yourself here.

Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandBorderReiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On The Rocks also viewed

Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
 
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
 

Been to On The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing