We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent night's sleep!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bromsgrove
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent night's sleep!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I've stated at this hotel on both business & leisure over the last 7 years this stay was a leisure stay with my 5 year old son; my son loved the pool, his chicken nuggets & chips for tea & the complimentary chocolate bar in the room. I enjoyed my dinner (Tandoori Chicken Salad, onion rings & chilli green beans) & I enjoyed the level of attentiveness by the staff I the restaurant & Reception. Breakfast starting at 8am on a Sunday is a pain (we came down early for cereals & they were ok about it), the room was large & comfortable. The heating could have been a little more effective, although we weren't cold enough to be uncomfortable. In summary, I would recommend the Hilton Bromsgrove as the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelsquire, General Manager at Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thanks for your kind words about the team at the hotel, they will appreciate your feedback. Glad to read you enjoyed your stay.

Sorry the room wasn't quite warm enough for you, next time you stay, you are welcome to phone ahead and make sure we either turn it up for you or put another heater in the room. Happy to do that as we appreciate it has been very cold recently.

I know we start breakfast later on a Sunday (honestly, very few people come down early unless we have a conference on the go) but you are welcome to sneak down and if we have it ready, you are welcome to help yourself.

Thanks once again for your time

Michael

Michael Squire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    393
    282
    122
    87
See reviews for
340
289
50
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have to say I have been staying here for a while But I've recently seen cut backs pretty much all over the hotel. It's just a basic things that are nice touch when in the hotel, for example no biscuits in the room any more and if your gold or diamond member you no longer to get the nice Hilton chocolates or that matter you don't even get the small bar of Cadburys dairy milk that they recently started with! The latest one is you no longer get the very small bottle of wine in your room each night you get a drink voucher that you have to go to the bar to exchange. Which in itself is not a bad thing but if you're here for three or four nights you only get one voucher. So my tip would be if you are here for three or four nights book each night individually to ensure you get your member benefits. I am sure they will realise that having to change bedding etc each day will become cost prohibitive! Better still find another hotel I can recommend the holiday inn which is only five minutes away!,,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S_GIDDSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelsquire, General Manager at Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thanks for your time and effort in providing some feedback after your stay with us.

Our Gold and Diamond members do get a selection of benefits when they stay with us as they are our most loyal customers. We have put Cadburys chocolate in the rooms for a few years now, rather than the 2 small Hilton chocs that we used to put in. It's far larger and from a local company. We also put 2 x 500ml of water in the room and the drinks voucher is instead of the wine as it does allow guests far more choice than just wine. If you are staying 4 nights then we do give 4 vouchers for the customer to use. There are also 'MyWay' benefits as well.

The next time you are staying, do come and say hello,

Thanks once again for your time,

Michael

Michael Squire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Booked a couple of rooms for 2 nights recently. £70.00 room rate seemed ok until hit with car park charges.
Food was reasonably priced but offered poor value. Had the tiniest portion of pâté ( 2 quenneles made with teaspoons)with a some tiny splash of relish. Chicken Tikka was very dry and the bed of salad soggy.decided not to eat here on second night.
Minus 3 outside but even so the room heater struggled to keep the room warm, bathroom was very cold.
Staff were great and helpful particularly in the bar. Overall Decor was dated and tired looking.
This used to be a great hotel when Stakis had it as a Garden Court but has not maintained its quality.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelsquire, General Manager at Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback after staying with us, appreciated as we can always seek to learn and improve. I was glad to see you were able to take advantage of a good deal on the room, but like many establishments nowadays (from hotels to shopping centres to hospitals) we do levy a car park charge to help us cover some of the opertaing costs of such a large area. I do acknowledge such charges can be contentious.

I was sorry to read that you felt our portions were not large enough for your liking, my apologies for that. I will talk to our chef, but if you are ever dining and feel the portion is too small do let us know and we can see what we can do at the time. We do serve many meals every day and despite our best efforts, like anyone we can get something wrong. If you do feel we have erred, please do let us know so that we can seek to put things right at the time.

We are fortunate to have large bedrooms, but we should have the heater set so that the room is ready for you, not to have to heat up a lot further once you have checked in.

I will ensure that I do pass on your comments about the hotel colleagues,

thank you once again

Michael

Michael Squire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights during the Cheltenham festival. Location wise it is great - close to motorway & only 45 minute drive from the racecourse. However that's where the positivity ends I'm afraid. The hotel is a little tired & a bit shabby in places. Rooms spacious enough but bed not very comfortable & it was a bit chilly. There was a heater but no extra blankets supplied. Breakfast average but some of the plates were not clean. We had dinner one evening which was cavery at £15 per head. Nothing special & to be honest I wish I had walked down the road to the Toby Cavery which would have been half the price. Drinks very expensive at the bar - pint of lager and G&T almost £10. Also you have to pay £5 per night to park at the hotel which seems odd as it is not in the town centre. Bottle of water in room was £3.95 but there is an off-licence within walking distance so I would suggest you go there instead. Staff are okay in the main but one complaint we have is that we were sat in front of the tv in the lounge, clearly watching a programme and one member of staff came up and switched channels without even saying a word which I found extremely rude. Overall it was average but as we were out of the hotel most of the time it didn't really matter but I wouldn't rush to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pb231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelsquire, General Manager at Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback after your recent stay with us.
Sorry to read about your room being a little cold for your wishes. even though it was cold the week of Cheltenham, we could provide an extra heater or extra duvets on request, no problem. Please do let us know if you do need anything.

The Toby down the road, does do a good carvery for £12-17 for a three course meal, but unlike us they do charge extra for a children's menu, whereas our children dine for free from the children's menu when their parents dine.

Like many establishments nowadays, from hotels, to shopping centres to hospitals, we do levy a charge to contribute to covering the cost of operating such a large area. We do accept that such charges can be contentious at any time. We do have Litre bottles of water available for our customers to purchase should they wish to, or we would happily give them a jug of tap water if they preferred at the bar to drink instead.

Sorry about the channel changing, we do show a lot of sport because of demand, but we should always be courteous when we change channels.

Our thanks once again though, for your feedback, which we trust we can learn from

Michael

Michael Squire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

What an awful place. Noisy, dirty and would never go again.

Reception were actively telling customers that they had overbooked the rooms and that 3 people old be turned away, they give dirty smelly rooms to non smokers who have requested no smoking rooms, the double glazing doesn't fit and the road noise is awful, teapots are not cleaned and are served stained and dirty, stained cracked cups put out at breakfast, bathroom floor tiles cracked in many places, chairs and tables in dining room stained and damaged, £3.95 for a bottle of water in the room, the walls are so thin you can hear exactly what is going on in the room next door. I was woken this morning by the sound of the chap next door having a wee! it sounded like the wall was being jet washed ... ( this is funny but really not acceptable - rooms should have a reasonable level of sound insulation)

I honestly don't know how Hilton can lend their name to the property - terrible !

Room Tip: Go somewhere else !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miffyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelsquire, General Manager at Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thanks for your feedback after your recent stay with us, we appreciate your time.

On the night you stayed we did have two people arrive, one of whom had booked for the wrong month and turned up a month early, the other lady had no booking with us at all. We did help them both find alternative accommodation.

Thank you for your feedback about breakfast, I know we do serve a lot of breakfasts but you are right the items should all be clean and ready for use.

In our hotel we do have 3 different styles of bedroom and our few last remaining smoking rooms are the oldest. When we are full we do have to use every room. We are slowly removing smoking rooms from our hotel as we refurbish and we hope we will become a non smoking hotel later this year. In all bedrooms, customers can purchase a Litre bottle of Strathmore water if they chose to.

Our thanks to you once again for your time,

Michael

Michael Squire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bromsgrove hotels

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

The age of the building is not so bad except that if you're here during the cold months, it's very drafty and cold even in the bar dining area.
Housekeeping is subpar; bedding has not been changed after 3 nights and you have to ask for a 2nd bar of soap for the shower. Washclothes are not replenished.
Do not attempt to eat in the restaurant since you will be told that all tables are reserved even though only 1/4 of tables actually have people sitting at them. Reservations are apparently required to eat at the hotel restaurant even if you are a guest.
If you are working late, be aware internet access is inconsistent and not very strong.
Thsi location is convenient so as long as you keep your expectations in check, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiremom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelsquire, General Manager at Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your time in providing us with some feedback after your stay with us, your time is appreciated.
We have experienced some cold public areas, with the recent extreme cold weather and winds blowing and have struggled to keep those areas as warm as we would have liked, my apologies for that.
All our bed linen is fresh for every arrival. In our hotel we do have a green policy where we do change linen every 3rd day. If our customers want towels changed more often they can chose to leave them in the bath and we will replace every day. As our room attendants make the beds each day, they can use their judgement and can change the bed linen more often if heavily creased or soiled.
We do encourage our guests to let us know they wish to dine in our restaurant, so we can have a table ready for them. As we only have 86 seats, the space can go quite quickly and if it all goes in the middle of service (around 7 - 8 pm) then we do struggle to fit more in and we must manage the bookings better.
Our 20MB wifi throughout the hotel is provided by BT Openzone. We do check it regularly, apologies if there was a dip on the night you were in. If that should occur, please do let us know and we can investigate further.
As you say our location is good, but we do also need to work hard on ensuring our customers have as few niggles as possible,

Thanks once again,

Michael

Michael Squire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Used this hotel for a trip to Cadbury world with my 2 children. We had to wait 20 mins in the reception as the room was not ready, this was at 3pm and after a 2 hr drive just wanted to get to the room. The first night, I had to ring reception to be moved rooms as there was a dog wailing in the room facing me which was horrendous to listen to... The second night had to ring reception again as there was a family party in the conference room, to which the adults of that party thought it was ok for their children to run amock in the room above me, the manager was there within a coup,e of minutes to sort it out, but an hr later the same thing happened again. For the price of the hotel would think that the £5 parking per day would be included. On a positive note the children liked the pool, the food was really nice, would recommend the tandoori chicken salad. Breakfast was nice, and Sophie was lovely who served the tea, and asked how we were and remembered the next morning to ask the children about cadburys world.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angela d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelsquire, General Manager at Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your time in providing us with feedback after your stay with us, I appreciate your time.
I was sorry to read about the noise disturbance as a result of other people's inconsiderateness, please accept my apologies for that.

Like many establishments nowadays, from hotels to shops to hospitals, we do charge for parking to help cover the costs of operating such a large area. I do accept that any such charges can be a little contentious, but we do have offers over the summer where car parking rates at weekends is included in the rates.

Glad you enjoyed the food and I will tell Sophie she did a great job looking after you,

Thanks once again,

Michael

Michael Squire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromsgrove
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Bromsgrove Central Hotel
6.6 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa
3.7 mi away
Grafton Manor
Grafton Manor
#7 of 8 in Bromsgrove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
3.8 mi away
Westmead Hotel
Westmead Hotel
#38 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa

Property: Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
Address: Birmingham Road, Bromsgrove B61 0JB, England (Formerly Hilton Birmingham Bromsgrove)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Bromsgrove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bromsgrove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 20 minutes from Birmingham Airport, the Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa offers an ideal location to explore the heart of England. Located half a mile from the M5 and M42, the hotel provides access to the beautiful Cotswolds region, Birmingham city center and shopping areas and picturesque Stratford-upon-Avon. With a bar, restaurant and Java coffee shop, 60ft indoor heated pool, fitness center and nearby golf course available, you may choose to simply relax and unwind at the hotel and the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Bromsgrove Hotel Bromsgrove
Hilton International Bromsgrove
Bromsgrove Hilton International
Hilton Bromsgrove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing