We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit too pricey”
Review of The Wildmoor Oak

The Wildmoor Oak
Ranked #34 of 115 Restaurants in Bromsgrove
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: It's a lovely country pub that serves English, European & Caribbean food which is a unique combination in its locality. They even do monthly Caribbean themed nights.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A bit too pricey”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

The Cajun salmon was excellent and the curry goat was really nice too. We were a little apprehensive reading previous reviews but the staff were very polite efficient and courteous and not over "is everything to your satisfaction" as some restaurants can be. The drinks menu was really good and I had a couple of ciders that I hadn't had before. It's a little over priced and we would have had a starter if it was a little bit less expensive but on the whole it was very pleasant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darbyandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    108
    58
    36
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome freshly cooked food and great beer, properly kept!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Called here at 4p.m. on a Sunday afternoon and was pleased to find that lunch was still available. I had a roast beef lunch with great quality meat and vegetables. No microwave here, this was all freshly cooked. My partner had the jerk chicken with rice and peas and professed it as excellent. She knows what she is talking about as she learned to cook Caribbean food at her grandmothers side. We will be returning having claimed the last two bookings for the next Caribbean night and hope for mor of the same quality and service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Indifferent service, indifferent food.”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was our first visit to the Wildmore and from its previous reviews was expecting something special. What we got was a very disappointing experience, The waiter who from previous reviews sounds like he could be the owner was more interested in talking to his friends in the other bar and had to be asked by one of the bar staff to take our order. The food was OK but disappointing and was largely microwave or reheated fare. The jerk chicken lacked the intense flavour of meat that has been properly marinated and was more chicken with a jerk sauce. At the end of the meal the waiter had again retreated to the other bar and was in deep conversation so no puddings or coffee. I decided we would pay and leave, so approached the bar and asked for our bill. Its a long time since it has happend to me but a mysterious half pint of larger had appeared on the bill. This is one customer that won't be coming back in a hurry.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“menacing atmosphere and poor food”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This was our second visit. On the first visit we thought that the food was OK, but the staff scowled and there was a feeling that the morale was low and they resented your presence.

On the second visit (some 8 months later) the staff attitude was the same - don't expect a friendly smile. Unfortunately this time the food reflected the staff - poor.

I don't know why we went back a second time - there won't be a third.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bromsgrove
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude proprieter, food only evenings with no notice to say so.”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

went for a quiet drink and after buying our drinks were very rudely told by the proprieter it was a ticket only carribean evening (no notice of this on the outside of the building, nor did the bar staff inform us) - even though there were plenty of tables and seats unocupied with no reserved notices we were told that we would have to move if someone else wanted to use that table. we were asked to move and vacate the table after a few minutes even though there were lots of other tables available - we were very rudely approached by the proprieter and treated like lepers

  • Visited January 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
1 Thank dennis b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wildmoor Oak also viewed

Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
 
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
 
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Wildmoor Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing