We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sunday lunch”
Review of The Nailers Arms

The Nailers Arms
Ranked #8 of 139 Restaurants in Bromsgrove
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $28
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Love this restaurant if your looking for a delicious carvery & friendly staff this is the place to go. Been here lots of times and they never disappoint. We have also tried food from the menu also delicious . Booked in for their Christmas fayre again this year can’t wait

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Jayneship04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shula W, Owner at The Nailers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful five star review from a recent visit to our establishment with the Trip Advisor community. It was a delight to read your flattering feedback.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your repeated custom and support.

We look forward to welcoming you back for more delicious meals in the very near future!

Kind regards

Shula Witherford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (962)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 962 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Today was possibly our 6th visit to the nailers and we have never been disappointed!! Initially we were recommend to visit the nailers by a friend earlier this year. From a meal with a friend to birthday celebrations, the food and service is always fab and consistent. I love a carvery but not many other members of my family do so to have a varied food menu is great for us! Carvery is the best for miles and all other food tried on the menu has always gone done well! Only criticism is I wish the restaurant was air conditioned! Roll on my next visit!!!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 46rachels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shula W, Owner at The Nailers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful five star review from a recent visit to our establishment with the Trip Advisor community. It was a delight to read your flattering feedback.

We would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for your repeated custom and support.

It has been on our radar for quite some time to have air conditioning installed but sadly the budget was swallowed earlier this year with the replacement of our flat roof which cost us a great deal of money I'm afraid. We will definitely keep this in mind for the future and if the budget allows rest assured it will be done.

We look forward to welcoming you back for more delicious meals in the very near future!

Kind regards

Shula Witherford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had booked a table for 7 people but another three people wanted to come when we told them how great the food is.
The staff were only to happy to accommodate us which we were grateful
The food again and service were excellent. Our friends said how great the food was and said they would visit again.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Baggies_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shula W, Owner at The Nailers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful five star review from a recent visit to our establishment with the Trip Advisor community. It was a delight to read your flattering feedback.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your repeated custom and support and your personal recommendation to friends and family really does mean so much to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back for more delicious meals in the very near future!

Kind regards

Shula Witherford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Have visited many times-often with friends and feel guilty for not reviewing earlier but have been prompted to by a friend pointing out the recent ‘never again’ review and your response which I thoroughly enjoyed. Haven’t been for a few weeks but am booked in shortly and looking forward to it as ever.

Just wanted to say that, whilst we regularly enjoy fine dining at Michelin starred restaurants it is always great to have a simple perfect meal which is always guaranteed at the Nailers. I have only ever had the carvery (plus pud of course) and must try something else (though probably never will) and I must comment that the gravy is to die for-I must ask for a bowl of it as a soup course one day.

The comparison with Tom Kerridge is that we have been to his acclaimed 2 Michelin star ‘pub’ -the Hand and Flower- and been very disappointed (and fleeced). The Nailers will never get such acclaim but it wins on every count except pretentiousness

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank malcolmahunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shula W, Owner at The Nailers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your five star review with the Trip Advisor community.

We have been the proud owners for just over ten years now and we do care passionately about what we do.

Your review was a delight to receive in light of our very disappointing "Never Again" review who sadly did not think of us so favourably.

Thank you for your continued custom and support and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!

Kind regards

Shula Witherford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked a table of five two weeks ago by phone. Turned up today for a birthday lunch, having travelled 50 miles, to be told they didn't have a reservation for us and flatly refused, quite rudely, to accept thay could have taken my bookling. Nor would they consider finding us a table till 6 o'clock! So we went to another place 150 yards away and had a fabulous meal. Never booking here again, they need some customer service advice.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank iancowley369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shula W, Owner at The Nailers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking the time to share your appalling review of our warm and welcoming eatery on Trip Advisor.

I’m very saddened to hear your disappointing feedback but glad that you have given me the opportunity to respond and express my review of your disgusting behaviour towards our team of Staff.

You entered our premises with an aggressive attitude insisting that you had booked a table online. We do not take online bookings on Sunday’s. You could not produce an email confirmation when politely asked. Your story then changed and you insisted you had called and booked by telephone for a 1pm reservation. We have not taken 1pm reservations on Sunday’s for 10 years. Needless to say your ever changing story of how your reservation was made doesn’t leave me with much confidence that your booking was actually made in the first place being that it could not be found anywhere in our system.

Your attitude towards our team was totally unacceptable and will certainly not be tolerated at our business. Shouting and making obscene hand gestures I think says more about you as a person than us as a business. Our team behaved in a professional and respectful manor given the situation you presented them with.

I’m glad you enjoyed your dining experience elsewhere and I’m pleased to hear ‘never again’ in your review title as unfortunately you would not be welcome Sir.

Wishing you the very best of luck with your future dining experiences. Honesty is always the best policy and respect for your fellow humans costs nothing.

Kind regards

Shula Witherford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nailers Arms also viewed

Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
 
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
 
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Nailers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing