We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food, Excellent Service!”

The Gate at Bournheath
Ranked #9 of 115 Restaurants in Bromsgrove
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Set in the idilic rural village of Bournheath, Worcestershire, The Gate offers a Warm & Friendly Welcome to all. With our reputation built up over 35 years, our family run business is well known for it's consistently Great Food & Drink accompanied by our Generous Portions. Specialising in American & Mexican cuisine, Craft Beer + Cocktails, it's a no brainer. Come and see for yourselves.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Excellent Service!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The quality of the food at The Gate at Bournheath is nothing short of excellent, and this has been consistent for the 20+ years that my family and I have been going there!

There’s an extensive menu which specialises in American and Mexican dishes, but also has a selection of English pub classics. The same menu is available in the bar area, or for a more formal meal in the restaurant or conservatory.

My favourite has to be the Tex Mex Steak; a tender rump steak served with chilli and garlic butter. Absolutely delicious! The portions are big, and only The Gate knows how they make a rump steak so tender when at some other restaurants it can be a bit chewy!

We’ve always found the staff to be friendly and efficient, and they genuinely seem to take pride in their work which something you don’t always get in English restaurants.

We always enjoy going to The Gate because we know we will get excellent food, good service and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. And judging by the number of regular customers we see there, some of which travel from the suburbs of Birmingham and further afield, so do a lot of others!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    141
    34
    24
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Consistently good food”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We are regular visitors to the Gate, albeit on a Monday, Tuesday or Wednesday, as these provide the best value.

Monday is Mexican Night, Tuesday is American Night, and Wednesday is 15% off the total of the bill.

As I mentioned in the title, the food is always of a very high standard, and plenty of it! Waitresses are are also very friendly, and helpful, (they even know our drinks order off by heart when we walk in).

Excellent value for money, and we will keep returning :-)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fay_Morgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton Warwickshire Uk
Level Contributor
157 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Reliable spot for a decent meal”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have eaten here on several occasions and have not been let down yet. Good food with vearied menu (Tex/Mex) and plenty of it. Soup stater was very tasty, rare steak done just right and twice the amount of salad we get anywhere else. Did not have a pudding this time round.

Service was brisk and friendly.

Can definitely recommend

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenGlassGoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove
Level Contributor
99 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I are fairly regular customers at The Gate. The food is consistently good, well presented,hot and fresh. Good choice of menu, reasonably priced, particularly when you have the free starter between 6.00-7.00pm.

It is good to have somewhere as good as this within walking distance.

There is a choice of places to sit, the original and old part of the pub, the light and airy conservatory or for more formal dining the restaurant.

We would recommend a visit, if you are anywhere near Bromsgrove.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CazBromsgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good food slow service”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Very nice mexican food which was very tasty, however we had to wait 15 minutes for someone to come and ask us what we would like to drink, the drinks were then very slow to arrive at the table. When our food had finally arrived they forgot 2 main meals!!! apart from service being a let down the food was good & was good value for money!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rachel_2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gate at Bournheath also viewed

Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
 
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
 
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Gate at Bournheath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing