We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodlands Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cobham
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed here after receiving a gift box for a stay with dinner, bed and breakfast. Check in was good, the room was very nice with a nice coffee making machine. Breakfast was nice but not very plentiful for the hot food. Dinner was good too.
The only downside is that there was nothing else to do here, no spa, no pool, a wet day outside so not practical for a walk around their gardens. There were some board games if you fancied them though.
If I was to stay here in the future, it would be for attending a function, or just somewhere to lay my head late one evening and leaving early. A really nice building though and a nice warm atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hecoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (701)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 701 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014

My husband had bought this as a treat for ourselves and friends. On arrival the receptionist was pleasant but seemed very inexperienced and did not explain anything about the hotel, infact we had to enquire about dinner booking etc. Dinner was a let down, the food was good but we only received he vegetables once we had finished the main course! Breakfast the next morning was very disorganised and came without the eggs we ordered, which on request came when everything else was finished. We spoke to the young trainee manager who was
very pleasant and informed us that the head chef would be working the following evening an that he would mention our concerns to the duty manager who would see us the next day. We had no contact from him. The food on the second evening was presented totally different and even the content was different from the night before even though some of us ordered the same items, the food was lovely. We have stayed in several handpicked hotels,including Lhorizon in Jersey on a regular basis, which is amazing. My husband is a consultant to the hotel trade and we all felt hat there was a general lack of leadership and senior management supervision here. This really could be a great place but just needs some staff training and consistency.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front, if you are a light sleeper I would not recommend as there is constant no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne190753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We came here for the 1 night special deal with a bottle of champagne and a 3 course meal. Check in was easy, the hotel was lovely a cosy with log fire in the lobby. The room was comfortable and relaxing. And the food was fantastic. The service was not at all slow. Everyone is so friendly and welcoming. We are going to try to book again for next week! Thank you to all the staff at the woodlands park hotel for making the weekend truly relaxing !

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank syl12341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed over on business - everything was fine and to standard except a noise form the heating system. disappointingly a colleague used the same room on the previous night and complained about the same issue.

Breakfast very good with friendly staff first thing in the morning

Bar staff in the evening slow !

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The hotel itself is gorgeous, the breakfast was lovely a wide range to choose from, a peaceful attractive room, no traffic noise, clean and tidy. BUT the rude staff let it down big time! Receptionist's and general staff around the hotel specifically a younger blonde woman were extremely rude and unhelpful. Didn't want to help or advise came across as rude and really disappointed me and my partner. They acted as if they didn't want to be there and didn't want to make eye contact incase you asked them something! Beautiful hotel but will not stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We booked dinner, B&B last minute which seemed good value. Plus side is the food was ok for what we paid, 3 courses, and a bottle of champagne included, and staff were friendly but service was mixed, could be quite slow. It all seemed disorganised. In the morning after waiting over 30mins for breakfast, my husbands was cold and tasted like it had been sitting there some time.

The hotel over all needs some upgrading, I am not quite sure how it is a 4 star. Our first room was freezing, I thought window was open as there was such a draft, the curtains were moving. However there was no problem when we asked to be moved, 2nd room was better. Although we did not sleep well with a mix of overheating and draft, bed and pillows were too soft.

I was also not happy to be told that staff do not receive the tips paid on a card, cash was better surely that is now illegal? This issue along with the overall quality of the hotel would not encourage me to return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrendaW473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed here to meet friends for dinner.
Using the groups booking line was excellent, they really do help.
Check in was seamless and we were lucky to be upgraded once again. The room was lovely and very spacious and clean, with everything else you would expect from a good hotel and the bed was very comfortable.
The menu choices, we paid £15 a head for the a la carte upgrade, were excellent and covered all bases on all courses. When signing for our drinks/meal there were a few discrepancies - both items missing and extras added, but this was sorted at that point, so I thought.
Given my last review of this chain and my comment re a wedding, there was a wedding on the night we stayed but it was so well managed that it had no impact on our stay.
Breakfast was very good with good choices again although the room we took it in was slightly on the cramped side and staff moved us from a table that would have had room, stating that it was reserved but remained unused, to a very small table, for 4 people.
Finally on check out there were a few discrepancies again, but this was sorted very quickly, a case of less automation and better communication and training, maybe.

Room Tip: Room 36 was lovely, although in the summer you might have motorway noise with a window open although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobham
7.5 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
246 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Cobham
Hilton Cobham
#3 of 4 in Cobham
1,743 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,729 reviews
11.1 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Park Hotel

Address: Woodlands Lane | Stoke D'Abernon, Cobham KT11 3QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Cobham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cobham
Price Range: $123 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique country house hotel in Surrey Woodlands Park Hotel in Surrey, near Leatherhead and Cobham, was originally commissioned by English industrialist William Bryant, son of the founder of the match company Bryant and May. Built in 1885, the house was a modern marvel and one of the first in the UK to have electric light. Over a century on, the house remains as impressive as ever. Situated near to Cobham and within easy access of London, this 57 bedroom hotel is set in landscaped grounds and gardens, making our hotel one of the most perfect wedding venues in Surrey. Offering a range of classic and executive bedrooms and suites, Woodlands Park has a choice of bedrooms to suit everyone. It has two great restaurants: the wood panelled Oak Room and the more contemporary Bensons Restaurant. The hotel also boasts excellent conference facilities as well as being the perfect training and meeting venue in Surrey. I am delighted to welcome you to Woodlands Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Woodlands Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Park Cobham
Hotel Woodlands Park
Woodlands Park Hotel Cobham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing