We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Venue for a Charity Lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Woodlands Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cobham
Surrey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Good Venue for a Charity Lunch”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We recently attended a Charity Lunch at this Hotel. It is a perfect venue with easy parking. and lovely grounds. As you enter the building you feel you are in Downton Abbey - dark and Victorian - but as you are shown the way to the Reception Room for the lunch there is quite a different atmosphere. The room was light and airy with welcoming staff inviting guests to enjoy a pre-lunch drink. We then moved into the dining room where we were served a three course lunch. The tables were attractively laid and the whole room looked very inviting. The lunch was fine and the service very good. We chose a Chilean Red Wine which was a little on the high price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeybridgeDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    192
    117
    53
    42
See reviews for
124
252
14
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was my first time staying at the woodlands, and I have mixed feelings. The price is competitive, and the grounds certainly support the 4*. When you walk in, there is that musty smell that such an old building has - it certainly adds to the atmosphere. The lobby is very grand, but the furniture is looking a little worn and could do with replacement. I had room 25. It was very small, hardly any space to move. The bathroom was functional, and the shower was good, but it's all looking very dated and is in need of a makeover. The windows are old fashioned and so a lot of noise leaks in. I was continually disturbed by people at the bar downstairs, the buzz of the nearby motorway, or the big air conditioning units a stones throw from the room. There was also a whistle from the extractor in the bathroom which was very annoying. Free wifi is included, and you get a good signal, however all the plug sockets in the room were in daft positions, so I couldn't charge my laptop. The plug by the bed were too close to the bedside table to fit a plug into the socket. The plug by the small table, had a special fitting for the kettle. The desk doesn't even have a plug nearby. The only useful plug was near the bathroom, miles away from anywhere convenient. The staff were very courteous and polite, however it was tricky to get any service from them. I had dinner in the coffee area. After serving my main course, all the staff disappeared, and after waiting for about 20mins, I had to ask reception if I could settle the bill. The following night, I sat down and asked for the menu. After waiting about 30mins for someone to bring it over, I gave up and went to the local pub instead. The staff all seemed distracted by some sort of private dinner which had been arranged that night.

Overall, the grounds are very nice, the price is competitive, they offer free wifi, however they need to upgrade their furniture, and ensure the staff take care of all the guests. I would give this hotel 3 stars, but they can easily get 4 if they sort out the above.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pr1te5h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Recently had afternoon tea at Woodland Park Hotel. I took a friend to celebrate her birthday and felt so disappointed with the service, food and atmosphere. The hotel appears very run down and in need of some TLC, on arrival we were asked what we wanted by a young man passing by, who showed us into the dinning room which was gloomy and lack any sort of identity. We were shown to our seats and during our time there we must have had at least 5 different waitresses, some too over bearing in asking if we were alright. The sandwiches were extremely disappointing both in presentation and taste, as were the cakes which tasted like they had come straight out of the fridge, very cold. The scones had flavour but again I felt that they had not been freshly made and had gone hard on the outside. We could have overlooked all this but the whole room lacked any sort of atmosphere, it was dark, no flowers, it appeared no effort has been made to make this a pleasant and welcoming place, if it hadn't been such a beautiful day outside it would have looked even worse. Due to the silence we constantly felt that our conversation was being ease dropped on. My suggestion would be to perhaps have some sort of music quietly in the backgroup and fresh flowers would have made a huge difference. Overall an extremely disappointing experience and would not recommend others to go for afternoon tea.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmnorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I recently had my wedding at Woodlands Park Hotel and I could not have been happier. Katie, a wedding co-ordinator, was incredibly helpful in the run up to the wedding and made everything so easy for us. Peter was the operations manager on the day and he was fantastic! He looked after everybody so well and the day went exactly as we had hoped. The hotel looked absolutely beautiful. The setting and building itself was stunning outside and in. The weather was awful all day so we were unable to have any photos outside but there were plenty of places to take photos inside that look very impressive. We had around 20 rooms booked the night of the wedding and all of our guests were impressed with the bedrooms and the breakfast offered the next morning. The honeymoon suite was particularly amazing. I would definitely recommend this hotel as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy_22_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Woodlands Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of your wedding at Woodlands Park. I have sent a copy of your very lovely comments to all of my colleagues and I know that both Katie and Peter are very proud that they made a contribution to your very special day. We loved hosting your wedding and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
With kind regards

Michael A McKay FIH GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langdon Hills, Essex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed one night as part of a break with my partner. On arrival there were a few people in the lounge but the restaurant in the evening was almost deserted and consequently the staffing level was very low. At one point I waited 15 minutes to place a dessert order simply because there were no staff in the room to take it! Food quality was average at best. Breakfast was better, although because we arrived during the last hour of service the waitress was very keen to take our order and rush us through. Overall I wasn't particularly impressed and this place is not the best I have stayed at in the handpicked group. . . .it's also not the worst!

Helpful?
Thank SCSDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael M, General Manager at Woodlands Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for writing a constructive review of your recent visit to Woodlands Park. I was very disappointed that you were underwhelmed with aspects of your visit and I have circulated your comments to my restaurant team to help them understand how you were disappointed by the shortfall in their attentiveness to your needs. Please accept my apologies and be assured that action has been taken to prevent a recurrence.
With kind regards

Michael A McKay FIH GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We recently had our wedding at Woodlands Park Hotel and from start to finish the hotel and staff were brilliant. Between our wedding party we had about 15 rooms the night of the wedding and the rooms were good. The honeymoon suite was beautiful and lived up to our expectations. Milan was the operations manager working on the day and he was very attentive and made the whole day run smoothly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Woodlands Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
I was absolutely delighted to read that your wedding was a huge success at Woodlands Park; it is something we strive for every day. I have passed on our very kind comments to my colleagues and I do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you both back on many occasions in the future.

With kind regards

Michael A McKay FIH GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxemburg
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Compared to other hotels in the area the WP is the best deal and I have already chosen it several times. Good Wifi, excellent bar and service. As a German I tend to say - very British. Drawback is the location that is far from everything and the missing opportunities to do sports. I could not even figure out how to do a run in the internet. Suggestion for the boss: Have a map copy ready at the reception that shows the path to the next Leatherhead running route (see http://www.walkjogrun.net/running-routes/UK/Surrey/Leatherhead/).

Room Tip: Make sure that your room is not to the front right (from outside). Behind the bar entrance there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edelweisbewunderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Woodlands Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review after your recent visit; I am delighted that we are your natural choice when you stay in Surrey. Thank you for your recommendation about running routes, I have had some printed off for collection at Reception. In addition, we are starting two complimentary boot camps for residents each week now that the weather is lighter in the morning, as well as a new service for guests - an in-room fitness programme called Gym in a Bag.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Woodlands Park when you are next visiting the UK.

With kind regards

Michael A McKay FIH GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobham
3.5 mi away
Hilton Cobham
Hilton Cobham
#4 of 4 in Cobham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
5.3 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,508 reviews
5.3 mi away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Cobham M25
Days Inn Cobham M25
#1 of 4 in Cobham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
7.5 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Park Hotel

Property: Woodlands Park Hotel
Address: Woodlands Lane | Stoke D'Abernon, Cobham KT11 3QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Cobham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cobham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique country house hotel in Surrey Woodlands Park Hotel in Surrey, near Leatherhead and Cobham, was originally commissioned by English industrialist William Bryant, son of the founder of the match company Bryant and May. Built in 1885, the house was a modern marvel and one of the first in the UK to have electric light. Over a century on, the house remains as impressive as ever. Situated near to Cobham and within easy access of London, this 57 bedroom hotel is set in landscaped grounds and gardens, making our hotel one of the most perfect wedding venues in Surrey. Offering a range of classic and executive bedrooms and suites, Woodlands Park has a choice of bedrooms to suit everyone. It has two great restaurants: the wood panelled Oak Room and the more contemporary Bensons Restaurant. The hotel also boasts excellent conference facilities as well as being the perfect training and meeting venue in Surrey. I am delighted to welcome you to Woodlands Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Woodlands Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Park Cobham
Hotel Woodlands Park
Woodlands Park Hotel Cobham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing