We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deal made it good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Rockingham Forest Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Corby
Certificate of Excellence
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Deal made it good value.”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Managed to get a deal with experience now.2 nights with Breakfast for £89 for 2.10 mins to Corby town.Plenty of free parking.Nice reception.Booking dealt with quickly.No lift to second floor.Large clean room.Bath & shower.Condiments supplied.Large double bed.Hairdryer & tea/coffee supplied.Very large tv.Free wifi.Quiet noisy as on main road.Squeaky floorboards in corridors.Not double glazed.Looks like refurbishment going on.Nice bar area,Reasonable prices.Nice buffet breakfast.Helpful staff in all departments.Deal made it good value.

Room Tip: Try to get room away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livelifelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren B, General Manager at Best Western Rockingham Forest Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear livelifelong,
Thank you for writing a review and sharing your thoughts about your stay with us here at the BEST WESTERN Rockingham Forest Hotel.

We are looking in to replacing with windows and upgrading to a double or triple glazing system in the future and are looking in to the squeaky floorboards as part of the ongoing refurbishment program.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Warren Browning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    162
    74
    28
    11
See reviews for
70
169
22
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Instead of visiting for one day we decided to spend a week exploring an area which we knew nothing about. We were very pleasantly surprised. We knew the hotel would be good having used Best Western elsewhere, but were surprised by a very pleasant town and beautiful surrounding area with villages comparable to the Cotswolds or Devon. The people of Corby are very friendly and only too pleased to be helpful to two "old crocks". We will be back in 10 days' time for the Birdfair at Rutland Water, only 12 miles away and it can't come soon enough. we will of course be staying at Rockingham Forest Hotel.

Room Tip: Wifi was better in reception area. The area is full of history with Rockingham Castle only 300 yds a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren B, General Manager at Best Western Rockingham Forest Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Eileen W,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a review here on TripAdvisor.
It is with great delight to read such reviews and will be sharing with all the team here at the BEST WESTERN Rockingham Forest Hotel.

We do hope you will come and stay with us again in the very near future.
Please ring us here direct at the hotel to offer you the best package available to meet your needs.

Kindest regards,

Warren Browning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Weekend bought for us as a present. Arrived at midday and was told room was ready. The room was quite spacious, large comfortable bed and choice of pillows. The bathroom was clean, fair size but could do with a light above the mirror. The hotel itself seemed a bit dated, the carpets were a bit ragged and the décor could do with updating. We went down for the evening meal and the waitress took our orders. 40 mins later the starters arrived, potato skins, stone cold. We sent them back and 5 minutes later we had microwaved potato skins. The main course of roast chicken was more like boiled chicken, apparently the chef was having an off night. In the morning we went for breakfast, a good choice of cereal and a fair choice of a piping hot cooked breakfast, pity this chef didn't do evenings. Plenty of fruit and juices on offer as well . The staff were all very polite and helpful .

Room Tip: Rooms at the front face the road but are not too noisy but pick a room at the back for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren B, General Manager at Best Western Rockingham Forest Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear John R,
Thank you for sharing your feedback and sorry to hear you where disappointed with the food offering here at the hotel, this has been investigated, reviewed and actions being taken to increase the resources in the kitchen to negate such complaints .
As you rightly mention we are undergoing a refurbishment program in the hotel and looking to replace the carpet and decorate throughout, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future so you can leave us a review telling us what you think of the changes to date.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review.

Kind regards,

Warren Browning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I spent six nights at this Hotel this month, with a group of friends. I was pleasantly surprised when we got there. I had an idea that for the rate we were paying (including breakfast) that it would be dark and dingy. Instead it was a bright hotel with large sized rooms. There were a good set of drawers, as well as the wardrobe. The only downside is that there was no fridge - which is something we found with some other hotels as well.

They are in the process of refurbishing the rooms, which will make them even better.

The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.

It was a great base from which to explore nearby villages and towns.

I recommend this Hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room at the back, rather than at the front overlooking the carpark. I disco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren B, General Manager at Best Western Rockingham Forest Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Rachel B,
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for a recent stay in the Corby area.

I am delighted to here how happy you are with the product we have on offer here and yes as you rightly say we are investing in the property including the bedrooms and welcome all feedback from all of our guests.

Thank you once again for your kind words.

Kind regards,

Warren Browning
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Rockingham Forest Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed at Rockingham Forest Hotel about a month ago as we were visiting family in the area. The welcome we received from the receptionist, was wonderful, and throughout our visit every member of staff we encountered could not of have been more helpful and friendly.
The room in which we stayed was large and comfortable,and tastefully decorated it had all the usual facilities including free Wi-Fi, the room was clean and tidy and well presented, with a very comfortable king size bed so a good nights sleep is almost guaranteed.
The bar is a has a nice friendly atmosphere and is well stocked and caters for every taste. although we did not use the dining facilities we were lead to believe (from other guests) the food there was very good.
We would like to take this opportunity to thank all the staff for a very pleasant stay, and to wish Mr Ash Bandal all the very best in this venture and for the future.
Mr & Mrs Williams.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevor54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren B, General Manager at Best Western Rockingham Forest Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs Williams,

Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 01536401348.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Thank you once again for your very kind words and I will pass on your well wishes to Dr Bansal.

Sincerely,

Warren Browning
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Rockingham Forest Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed one night - unfortunately a Saturday - and there was a wedding. Reception staff good. Just sat down to dinner when there was a fire alarm and we all had to get out to the car park: no sense of hurry - not sure whether that was good or not! The food though was well cooked and presented well. It was a stifling hot day: the bedroom only had two small upper windows which could be opened and we sweltered. Of course no sheets and blankets which could be thrown off - just the usual thick duvets. The noise from other guests continued until 0130. Decor was sad but gather from another contributor that the place has been taken over so maybe that will improve. A video in the reception showed what had been done - obviously they consider the water feature and car park more important than the interior. Our door could only be closed by slamming it (which we reported) and there was a bedside light missing. Would not want to return and do not consider this to be up to BW standard.

Room Tip: 1st floor does not have anyone above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren B, General Manager at Best Western Rockingham Forest Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Cheryl095,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor, all feedback is taking very seriously.
Thank you for complimenting the staff.
In regards to the fire alarm the team fulfilled their duties as per our evacuation procedure and evacuated in a calm and timely manner and always have our guests safety foremost at all times and have to say they carry this out very well.
Thank you for acknowledging the food offering to be well cooked and presented well, we are looking to expand on the food offering and will be soon announcing a new menu.
The bedroom windows are in line with regulation/s and open at the top to negate any risk of falling from heights.
We are in the process of going through a refurbishment program and having works carried both internally and externally and both the doors and lighting throughout the hotel are being addressed as well as part of this program.
It is with regret you will not return to our hotel as we strive to be the best in the area within six months to a year and we do adhere to all BEST WESTERN standards being audited on an annual basis to demonstrate this.
Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review, should you wish to consider using us again please contact us directly to honour you a deal that is tailored to your needs.

Kindest regards,

Warren Browning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corby
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Corby
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Corby
Holiday Inn Corby
#5 of 6 in Corby
297 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Saxon Crown
The Saxon Crown
#2 of 6 in Corby
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Raven Hotel
The Raven Hotel
#6 of 6 in Corby
102 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kettering Corby
9.4 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Rockingham Forest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Rockingham Forest Hotel

Property: Best Western Rockingham Forest Hotel
Address: Rockingham Road, Corby NN17 1AE, England (Formerly Hotel Elizabeth Rockingham)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Corby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Corby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Rockingham Forest Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Rockingham Forest Hotel has recently been taken over operating as an independent company which is currently investing in the hotel to upgrade the bedrooms, external space, restaurant, bar and conference centre ensuring the best quality product is on offer for all to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Rockingham Forest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rockingham Forest Corby Hotel Corby
Best Western Corby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing