We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch before home”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Samuel Lloyd

The Samuel Lloyd
Ranked #13 of 106 Restaurants in Corby
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: It was Samuel Lloyd who began the transformation of Corby, from a sleepy village in Rockingham Forest into a modern, industrial town. Stewart & Lloyds (the successor to Lloyds Ironstone Company) built many of the houses, as well as the school and sports ground in the vicinity of the Wetherspoon pub.The original village of Corby gets its name from 'Kori', the leader of the Danish invaders who settled in a Rockingham Forest clearing. Corby remained a village until the arrival of Samuel Lloyd, in the 1880s, when the new ironstone industry developed to dominate life in Corby, until the closure of the iron and steelworks in 1980.This wetherspoon, opened in July 2008, is completely new and is a gas-free site, it has an extrodinary design to traditional pubs to mark both its individuality, and to tie in with the concept of glass use in the building of some of corbys' landmark sites (cube/swimming pool)
Birmingham
Level Contributor
108 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lunch before home”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very basic, food was good, but some of the "guests" were a little disturbing, with bad language in particular. Not how I like to enjoy a meal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank smiler1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    90
    51
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It's a Wetherspoons but...”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Actually it's ok! I've been in a Wetherspoons but only briefly and just for a quick drink. I ate here as I was staying in the hotel next door and didn't have a lot if options.

Huge portions, very cheap prices and the booze prices are amazing £4.05 for a large Hendricks gin and tonic is ridiculous, I doubt if I could make one at home for much less!

It is what it is and you get what you pay for. I was pleasantly surprised and if I'm in the area again I would return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulm7067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Best Modern Wetherspoon's Ever?”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

As a rule I am not a friend of Wetherspoon's but they really pulled out all the stops on this one. Light and airy interior (though a bit like an airport waiting lounge), well laid-out and comfortable. Feature piece is a massive circular stove suspended from the ceiling - really adds character. The bar is very long and well laid out - properly handled by a team of excellent staff. Exterior facilities are great for smoking or Summer.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisSmiith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant value both food and drink”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Good staff, good value food and beers!

Free Wifi as well .... all you need for a lunchtime meeting or day out with the lads.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“not bad, but ?”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

It was okay but not a wide choice on the menu, tipical weatherspoons menu, the service was slow, not many staff serving,

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank richofisca_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Samuel Lloyd also viewed

Corby, Northamptonshire
Corby, Northamptonshire
 
Corby, Northamptonshire
Corby, Northamptonshire
 
Corby, Northamptonshire
Corby, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Samuel Lloyd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing