We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Service but Disappointing Public Areas”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Holiday Inn Corby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Corby
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Corby
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good Service but Disappointing Public Areas”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in March 2013 for business. It was easy to find with plenty of parking but not much around it. The gym and fitness centre seemed well patronised by locals. Check in was well handled and friendly and I was pleased to be ugraded to a suite in recognition of my Reward Club status.

The suite was very nice with separate bedroom, sitting room, dressing room, lobby and bathroom. The bed was comfortable and the 2 TVs worked fine. The complimentary bottles of water and chocolate bar were also a nice touch. Downside would be heating that relied on radiators and windows that couldonly be opened by staff with a key so if you had the radiators up too high it was hard to cool the room.

Unfortunately the lobby and bar area was a bit of a wide open space off the front doors and not very warm nor characterful. It din't encourage you to linger over a drink.

Restaurant also lacked character and had only one diner in the evning. Prices were significantly higher than the bar menu and room service (even for the same dishes) and so I went back to my room and ordered room service. My fish and chips were very nice and a glass of wine wasn't extortionate (relative to hotel prices generally).

Breakfast service was friendly and the food choice very acceptable.

The hotel was convenient but lacked warmth and atmosphere. Service was very good though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager227, General Manager at Holiday Inn Corby, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear reviewer, thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, I was please to read you enjoyed the gym and due to your continued custom and PCR membership you received a free upgrade to one of our suites, we are in the process of agreeing an investment plan and will be updating our lounge shortly, watch this space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    94
    59
    39
    23
See reviews for
46
57
6
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corby
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I recently had a really good business lunch in the Hotel lobby. Plenty of space so that conversations couldn't be overheared, prompt service, good price and comfortable seating.
Excellent car parking right outside hotel reception. I will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager227, General Manager at Holiday Inn Corby, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear reviewer, I was delighted to read you had a pleasant lunch with us recently Our free WI-FI is always available to anyone who purchases something from the bar. We look forward to welcoming you back soon; if you need a competitively priced meeting room ask for details at reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The room was big enough with comfortable bed and tidy bathroom, but the T.V was a basic CRT with a snowy screen to watch a very limited choice of channels. The staff were friendly, helpful and available. The attached gym and pool were well equipped and not too crowded. The restaurant had a good selection of well prepared food though there were no lower budget choices, mains were £12 - 20 and the promised fish and Italian nights didn't materialize.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEandJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager227, General Manager at Holiday Inn Corby, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Great news reviewer, we are getting new TV’s, they should be here within the next few weeks, I was please to read that you found our rooms to be of a good size, your comments about the staff are most welcome and I have fed your comments about food cost to our head chef, I hope we can welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights earlier this month. I did not take breakfast but ate in the restaurant on both nights.

The first impression was ok, if a little dated. A massive car park and the access is located at the back of the hotel which is a bit confusing the first time as the outside signage is not great. Actual entrance is quite grand, when you find it.

The room was comfortable enough with amenities including a chair and table in addition to the desk, old style furniture but fine. TV is old style CRT - huge but it works, although seems to be programmed for London/South East News instead of the local East England area, which is odd but OK for me as I live in the South East.

Room was cold - not freezing but the window had a distinct draft which I could feel at all times. Grouting in shower/bath was a bit mouldy and one tile appeared to be loose.

The main problems, however, were:
1. Restaurant was huge and not busy in the evening. A symphony in brown. I guess they need the space for breakfast but it was all a bit disheartening. Restaurant staff did not appear especially engaged, though they were better the 2nd night. The food was poor - fish overcooked and dry, portions huge. And a bit pricey.
2. Wireless internet. One of the main reasons for my booking here was access to "free wifi". I spent 2 hours trying to send a short email (tried in the room, the restaurant and the lobby area) before giving up and sending a text instead. If you need internet connectivity for business, choose somewhere else.
3. Bed. Was not especially comfortable - mattress seemed hard and the duvet was both small and thin. Pillows were hard foam. Not a great night's sleep.

There are other hotels in the area with comparable prices that provide better value. Holiday Inn Corby needs to up its game.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager227, General Manager at Holiday Inn Corby, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear reviewer, many thanks for taking the time to give such detailed feedback, the great news for us is that the hotel has a investment plan that starts this week (105 new TV’s on their way) Second thing on the list is Wi-Fi, I have fed your comments onto the team and I am sure that when you stay again you will see a positive change
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently for one night during a business trip. I checked inn at around 3pm and was given a room on the 2nd floor. Initial thoughts were not good, a huge iron mark on the floor and a dated looking room.

I then went back downstairs to work in the reception area. I could not get a signal on my phone near the bar, and the receptionist told me i would only be able to get a reception near the front door,

The gym is ok and the pool area is good and after using these facilities i went down for the evening. I ordered an arrabiata pasta and it was dreadful. Being half italian i know what a good arrabiata should look and taste like and this was woeful. It was also served with garlic bread which was soggy and covered in what tasted like a cheap chedder. For over £12 i would have expected a lot more.

After an average nights sleep in a very warm room, i went to have a shower, however i was unable to use the shower as the temperature controls were faulty. Slight turn up and it was scalding hot, slight turn down and it was freezing cold.

I explained this to the check out clerk and she could not have looked less interested, with only a token apology but no offer of any money off or at least a free breakfast.

Talking of breakfast a continental breakfast is priced at £9.50 which is extortionate.

I do business in this area frequently but will not be coming back here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager227, General Manager at Holiday Inn Corby, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear review
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback, I was please to read you found our gym and pool to be of use to you. I have fed your comment re the food to the chef who assures me that this is the first time someone has commented negatively about this dish, we will review going forward, Our rooms are about to go through a refurbishment programme which will, if you decide to return, ensure that the other points you have highlighted are addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corby
2.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Corby
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rockingham Forest Hotel Corby
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Corby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Saxon Crown
The Saxon Crown
#2 of 6 in Corby
153 reviews
7.9 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
1.8 mi away
The Raven Hotel
The Raven Hotel
#6 of 6 in Corby
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Corby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Corby

Property: Holiday Inn Corby
Address: Geddington Road, Corby NN18 8ET, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Corby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Corby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Corby 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Corby-Kettering hotel is located in the heart of Northamptonshire within easy reach of some beautiful countryside and stately homes, this fully air conditioned Corby hotel is conveniently located for leisure and business. The M1 motorway is easily accessible, as are Birmingham, Luton & East Midlands airports.For speed demons the Holiday Inn Corby-Kettering hotel is perfectly located for Rockingham Speedway, home to British Touring Car Championships. Silverstone, home of the British Formula 1 Grand Prix, is a 40 minute drive. If it s leisure that brings you to Corby, Northamptonshire, why not visit Rockingham Castle to see where Charles Dickens spent time or Wicksteed Park for a great family day out. Retrace Jane Eyre s footsteps in the Georgian town of Stamford or explore the grand Burghley House. Althorp House, resting place of Diana Princess of Wales.If you re visiting Corby on business, our air conditioned meeting rooms for up to 250 people plus high speed Internet access throughout the public areas, make the Holiday Inn Corby-Kettering hotel the perfect place for any event. Our Triangle Health & Fitness Club, complimentary to guests, is perfect if you wish to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Corby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Corby Hotel Corby
Corby Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing