We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Lunch”
Review of Holiday Inn Corby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Corby
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Corby
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I recently had a really good business lunch in the Hotel lobby. Plenty of space so that conversations couldn't be overheared, prompt service, good price and comfortable seating.
Excellent car parking right outside hotel reception. I will return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager227, General Manager at Holiday Inn Corby, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear reviewer, I was delighted to read you had a pleasant lunch with us recently Our free WI-FI is always available to anyone who purchases something from the bar. We look forward to welcoming you back soon; if you need a competitively priced meeting room ask for details at reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 321 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

The room was big enough with comfortable bed and tidy bathroom, but the T.V was a basic CRT with a snowy screen to watch a very limited choice of channels. The staff were friendly, helpful and available. The attached gym and pool were well equipped and not too crowded. The restaurant had a good selection of well prepared food though there were no lower budget choices, mains were £12 - 20 and the promised fish and Italian nights didn't materialize.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEandJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager227, General Manager at Holiday Inn Corby, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Great news reviewer, we are getting new TV’s, they should be here within the next few weeks, I was please to read that you found our rooms to be of a good size, your comments about the staff are most welcome and I have fed your comments about food cost to our head chef, I hope we can welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights earlier this month. I did not take breakfast but ate in the restaurant on both nights.

The first impression was ok, if a little dated. A massive car park and the access is located at the back of the hotel which is a bit confusing the first time as the outside signage is not great. Actual entrance is quite grand, when you find it.

The room was comfortable enough with amenities including a chair and table in addition to the desk, old style furniture but fine. TV is old style CRT - huge but it works, although seems to be programmed for London/South East News instead of the local East England area, which is odd but OK for me as I live in the South East.

Room was cold - not freezing but the window had a distinct draft which I could feel at all times. Grouting in shower/bath was a bit mouldy and one tile appeared to be loose.

The main problems, however, were:
1. Restaurant was huge and not busy in the evening. A symphony in brown. I guess they need the space for breakfast but it was all a bit disheartening. Restaurant staff did not appear especially engaged, though they were better the 2nd night. The food was poor - fish overcooked and dry, portions huge. And a bit pricey.
2. Wireless internet. One of the main reasons for my booking here was access to "free wifi". I spent 2 hours trying to send a short email (tried in the room, the restaurant and the lobby area) before giving up and sending a text instead. If you need internet connectivity for business, choose somewhere else.
3. Bed. Was not especially comfortable - mattress seemed hard and the duvet was both small and thin. Pillows were hard foam. Not a great night's sleep.

There are other hotels in the area with comparable prices that provide better value. Holiday Inn Corby needs to up its game.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager227, General Manager at Holiday Inn Corby, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear reviewer, many thanks for taking the time to give such detailed feedback, the great news for us is that the hotel has a investment plan that starts this week (105 new TV’s on their way) Second thing on the list is Wi-Fi, I have fed your comments onto the team and I am sure that when you stay again you will see a positive change

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently for one night during a business trip. I checked inn at around 3pm and was given a room on the 2nd floor. Initial thoughts were not good, a huge iron mark on the floor and a dated looking room.

I then went back downstairs to work in the reception area. I could not get a signal on my phone near the bar, and the receptionist told me i would only be able to get a reception near the front door,

The gym is ok and the pool area is good and after using these facilities i went down for the evening. I ordered an arrabiata pasta and it was dreadful. Being half italian i know what a good arrabiata should look and taste like and this was woeful. It was also served with garlic bread which was soggy and covered in what tasted like a cheap chedder. For over £12 i would have expected a lot more.

After an average nights sleep in a very warm room, i went to have a shower, however i was unable to use the shower as the temperature controls were faulty. Slight turn up and it was scalding hot, slight turn down and it was freezing cold.

I explained this to the check out clerk and she could not have looked less interested, with only a token apology but no offer of any money off or at least a free breakfast.

Talking of breakfast a continental breakfast is priced at £9.50 which is extortionate.

I do business in this area frequently but will not be coming back here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager227, General Manager at Holiday Inn Corby, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear review
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback, I was please to read you found our gym and pool to be of use to you. I have fed your comment re the food to the chef who assures me that this is the first time someone has commented negatively about this dish, we will review going forward, Our rooms are about to go through a refurbishment programme which will, if you decide to return, ensure that the other points you have highlighted are addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
Thank Torino74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martyn H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Corby, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Лучше выбирать номер в центальном крыле отеля с окнами на внутренний двор
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Вячеслав З
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martyn H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Corby, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones son inseguras, nadie se responsabiliza si tus pertenencias no están cuando vuelvas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AGGomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martyn H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Corby, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corby
2.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Corby
2.9 mi away
Best Western Rockingham Forest Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Raven Hotel
The Raven Hotel
#6 of 6 in Corby
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Saxon Crown
The Saxon Crown
#4 of 6 in Corby
183 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kettering
7.9 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Corby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Corby

Address: Geddington Road, Corby NN18 8ET, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Corby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Corby
Price Range: $103 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Corby 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Corby-Kettering hotel is located in the heart of Northamptonshire within easy reach of some beautiful countryside and stately homes, this fully air conditioned Corby hotel is conveniently located for leisure and business. The M1 motorway is easily accessible, as are Birmingham, Luton & East Midlands airports.For speed demons the Holiday Inn Corby-Kettering hotel is perfectly located for Rockingham Speedway, home to British Touring Car Championships. Silverstone, home of the British Formula 1 Grand Prix, is a 40 minute drive. If it s leisure that brings you to Corby, Northamptonshire, why not visit Rockingham Castle to see where Charles Dickens spent time or Wicksteed Park for a great family day out. Retrace Jane Eyre s footsteps in the Georgian town of Stamford or explore the grand Burghley House. Althorp House, resting place of Diana Princess of Wales.If you re visiting Corby on business, our air conditioned meeting rooms for up to 250 people plus high speed Internet access throughout the public areas, make the Holiday Inn Corby-Kettering hotel the perfect place for any event. Our Triangle Health & Fitness Club, complimentary to guests, is perfect if you wish to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Corby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Corby Hotel Corby
Corby Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing