We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ANDY MURRAYS TOWN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Churches House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We could highly recommend this small ( 11 bedrooms ) hotel. No complaints!.In fact the very opposite. Go there!
The staff are first class. bar,dining servers smiley, fast, helpful, knowledgeable. Bar prices generous.
The hotel is in the centre of the town directly opposite the cathedral and near the shopping area

Room Tip: Front rooms are fine and as far as staff are concerned , immaculate.!!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROBERT w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Old Churches House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 310 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I had dinner here with my mum and it was lovely. The restaurant is cozy and comfortable.
The food was very tasty and the portion size was great.
The staff were great. Nothing was a problem to them.
I would definately recommend Old Churches House and will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Meekke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We booked one night at this venue to attend a local wedding. We were advised that there were only two small twin rooms left so we opted for one at £75 for the room. I then let my friends (who were also attending the wedding) know that there was still one room available and they went on to book it the following week. When we arrived we were shown to our room which was small but absolutely fine, however, the beds were tiny - smaller than a regular single bed. Later, we discovered that our friends who had booked on our recommendation, were told on arrival that they were overcharged (they also paid £75), and were subsequently upgraded to a larger double room!! The hotel itself is lovely, warm, very clean, and has a really nice dining room serving delightful breakfasts, but I couldn't help feeling a bit miffed at getting tossed into the tiny beds :-). Having said all that, I would definitely go back, I would just avoid the 'small twin' rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid small twin rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CautherMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a 4 night biking tour of Scotland.

Overall, it's almost great.......... food and quality of the rooms was outstanding, and the staff are very keen....... but you can tell they are new and you just need to approach things with a bit of patience.

Booked on a last minute and had very friendly chat with Alex who did a good deal on the rooms. On arrival, greeted by Gill who was fabulous. Had a bit of a mix up with the rooms (booked 2 doubles and a super king size, ended up with a twin instead of one of the doubles - not great but too tired to complain or get it changed).

The rooms are very well appointed with cracking showers - good sized, modern, powerful, lots of hot water. Still an odd bit of snagging to be done (bit of unpainted plaster around the ceiling access but that is me being a bit picky), but overall quality of fixtures and fittings is excellent - great bed and bedding!

Evening meal in the restaurant was superb in terms of the taste experience, but could have been a bit better re service. The food itself was outstanding, absolutely first rate in terms of choice, quality of produce and quantity on the plate - superb. Had a bit of an issue with service in that our mains were brought out before our starters - but like I said up front, these aren't staff that are uncaringly incompetent they are very keen, very friendly and just getting into the swing of things.

Breakfast was great, hot fresh and plenty of it.

Hope that they get through the few staff training blips asap 'cus this could be an outstanding place to stay when they're all up to speed.

Would happily recommend you to stay here if:
- you want an outstanding evening meal
- excellent breakfast
- first rate bed and shower facilities
- you can have a bit of patience with service as they 'bed in'

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here when they had only been open 5 days but it was a great stay. The staff went out of their way to make our stay comfortable including setting up a reading light for me and going into Stirling to help us solve our electrical difficulties. The rooms were comfortable and we faced the street with a beautiful view of the cathedral. There is also a lovely courtyard in the rear. The breakfast was substantial and delicious. They even "went out to the shops" to get me yogurt when their supplier had not delivered any. They knew I had yogurt with my breakfast and made sure I had some. That is SERVICE! The train station is a short walk away. Edinburgh is about an hour by train. We are hoping to stay here again sometime!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weheckman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hermann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Piloups d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
2.9 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,128 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
567 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Churches House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Churches House Hotel

Address: 1-7 Kirk Street | Cathedral Square, Dunblane FK15 0AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range: $56 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Churches House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely wee hotel in the heart of Dunblane with 11 tastefully furnished and decorated ensuite bedrooms. A lovely guest lounge, bar and dining room with breathtaking views over the cathedral. Free High Speed Internet and wifi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Old Churches House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Churches House Hotel Dunblane, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing