We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed”
Review of Oliver's grill & diner - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Oliver's grill & diner
Cuisines: British, International, Greek, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating
Description: We offer a unique roadside dining experience, serving restaurant quality food at great prices. All of our food, including our desserts are made fresh by our fully trained chefs. Enjoy Oliver's Grill & diner from 9am until 9pm.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Closed”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This restaurant is closed. It has been closed for some time now. Was good when visited when it was open

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gruffalo-Crumble-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    2
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“dead and buried”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

it is a dead restaurant, it has ceased to be, its shuffled off its mortal coil, run down the curtain and joined the bleedin' choir invisible !! THIS IS AN EX- RESTAURANT !!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank benicegetcustom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Appears to have closed down! Very Sad!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This place only opened in the Spring of 2013 ,having previously served as the North side Little Chef which I have visited before. We had an excellent soup and sandwich lunch and made a mental note to visit again sometime as the menu was very interesting. When I called round today (August 21,2013 ) the place looked closed. All the stock of drink cans had been removed, mail was piling up behind the (glass) door and a side window had been boarded up. How sad that such an excellent place has closed so soon after opening. However when we visited in May we were the only customers.

If the place reopens one thing that might help business would be a large roadside sign about a quarter or a half mile before the restaurant on the left hand side. I am sure this place had such a sign when it was a Little Chef. At present drivers speed past before they realise the restaurant is there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinB227126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable breakfast!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We noticed a few weeks ago that the Closed North bound Little Chef had reopened as Oliver's Grill & Diner so as we were passing by this morning we decided to pop in for breakfast. What a great decision. A friendly welcome awaited us by a young man and woman, they were really cheery and we took a seat in the diner, nicely furnished and well laid out, a good job! Breakfast was cooked fresh after ordering and we were really impressed by the quality. Proper butchers Square sausage, not the mush from a cash and carry! Same with the bacon, a nice quality smoked back bacon, not greasy and pumped full of water like the supermarket packs. And the fried egg, cooked to how I requested it and tasty! We were really impressed and the prices were really good. I had a look at the full menu and again there are plenty to choose from at really good prices and we are going to visit again soon for a lunch or evening meal. This is the 2nd closed down Little Chef we have visited recently that has reopened as a diner (Dundee has also reopened) and I think its great to see these places open again serving quality food, cooked fresh in front of you. I wish this place well and we will be visiting again for sure and soon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scotsman2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OLIVER'S GRILL AND DINER”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Tempted by your recommendation, we visited Oliver's last week. It is inconceivable that Oliver's could be rated No.1 in the Dunblane area. The external appearance is off-putting for a start and the hand-written notice on the door is hardly welcoming ("Toilets for use of paying customers only"). However, we ignored these and entered only to be handed dog-eared menus that have seen better days. Things improved after that. The mushrooms starter and the tomato soup were both wholesome. The Balmoral chicken main was ok (if a bit too much with coolish, undercooked veg): the penne pasta was bland and unexciting. Don't look for a glass of wine to accompany your food - soft drinks only. Service was friendly and fairly quick - excellent if you are in a hurry to continue up the A9 after your meal. And you have to be going north as there is no right turn from the diner ! The aforementioned toilets are scrupulously clean with handwash, air freshener and handcream no less. The place was fairly well-populated for a Thursday lunchtime.
Next time we are in the area it will be the Kailyard at the Hilton, the Village Inn or the Sheriffmuir Inn - all of them a cut above Oliver's and more deserving of the No.1 accolade. As others have said - it's no greasy spoon - but it has some way to go to deserve top billing. If you are going north and need a snack do not hesitate but do not be misled by previous reviews.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BillG82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliver's grill & diner also viewed

Dunblane, Stirlingshire
Dunblane, Stirlingshire
 
Dunblane, Stirlingshire
 
Dunblane, Stirlingshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing