We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Continental - CLOSED

Cafe Continental
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, European, British, Scottish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Italian & European restaurant set over two floors with Idyllic views over the river Allan. Relaxed cafe & brasserie offering a wide variety of coffee, drinks, snacks and meals from 9am to late 7 days a week. A further A la Carte restaurant offers exceptional dining from our world class chefs which also has panoramic views over the river to the rear of the property. Entrance is from the High Street, Dunblane which also has a small outdoor seating terrace. Regular entertainment is offered within the Brasserie and on Friday and Saturday evenings, customers may enjoy further entertainment until 1am whilst sampling an exceptional range of wines and cocktails.
moray
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stopped in Dunblane for a coffee and found Cafe Continental

Most impressed. Well worth a visit. Will definately go back again.

Asked the young waiter some questions about the town, he was well informed and very pleasant, which added to the visit. Thanks.



Thanks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank laverbairnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    73
    26
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cafe Continental, Dunblane, a Scottish City treat.”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Last weekend my wife and I and two friends had the pleasure of dining a la carte in the brasserie. We are sophisticated diners with considerable international dining experience. Cafe Continental's offer neither disappointed us nor broke the bank. The menu was varied and offered a good choice of well-priced dishes to suit the most discerning tastes. The good ambience in the restaurant was enhanced by tasteful, contemporary decor, attentive staff and a jazz duo. By mid-evening it was nicely busy demonstrating its growing popularity and reputation despite it only having opened recently. I have no hesitation in recommending Cafe Continental to anyone who appreciates good value, informal dining in a historic setting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“visiting scotland”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

have just spent weekend in Dunblane but had no idea of restaurants etc, but found a magical one at Cafe Continental for coffee and lunch. Restaurant was very clean, food excellent and staff really helpful, we gather it has just opened and it is well worth a visit and we wish them well in the future.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely dining experiance”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We visited the Cafe' Continental whilst staying with friends in Dunblane. The excellent polite service we recieved from smartly dressed young waiters was so refreshing . The restaurant was very clean and tidy as were the toilets The food was delicious and beautifully presented. We would recommend this restaurant .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JaBe_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“If you know good food and service book now !”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Having worked in hospitality for a number of years , I can not reccomend this place enough the service was above and beyond , The menu is as delightful to read as to taste . I had the lamb and it was beautiful . I could rave over the whole eating experience but there is no it enough space . I do recomend having a platter for dessert though its amazing . Please take the time to enjoy the atmosphere both upstairs and down .The men playing on piano and guitar were awesome (may need to book them ). I do wonder if some of the other diners who have posted reviews were at the same place or maybe just don't know great food and service . well done cafe continental can't wait to come again loving the place .

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank dawn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Continental also viewed

Dunblane, Stirlingshire
Dunblane, Stirlingshire
 
Dunblane, Stirlingshire
Dunblane, Stirlingshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing