We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Doubletree by Hilton Dunblane-Hydro
Nearby Hotels
Old Churches House Hotel(Dunblane)(Great Value!)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cromlix(Kinbuck)
$448
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stirling Court Hotel(Stirling)(Great Value!)
$69
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$113
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Colessio(Stirling)
$169
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$127
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$108
$99
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,285)
Filter reviews
4,285 results
Traveler rating
1,318
1,420
899
435
213
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,318
1,420
899
435
213
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskailyard restaurantnick nairncookiescocktail barseparate buildingmain buildingfront facingleisure facilitiesjunior suitelovely hotelsteam roomdinner bed and breakfastboth nightsdoubletree by hiltonrelaxing breakself servicebeautiful building
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,696 - 2,701 of 4,285 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed two nights in at the Dunblane Hydro in May 2014 on the Dinner Bed and Breakfast deal. Our room (214) was lovely, the food was great and the staff were really pleasant. I will be going back and would recommend anyone to stay there too! Also the halibut on dinner menu was one of the best plates of food I have ever tasted! Only slight negative was the mattress on our massive bed was a bit worn and spingy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Guest

We appreciate the time you have taken to give us your valuable feedback after your recent stay with us.

I was delighted you had an enjoyable stay and in particular enjoyed your Halibut at dinner. I have passed your comments back to the Executive Chef and his team.

We hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Regards
Michael P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel is living on a long lost reputation. It is possibly one of the most impressive hotels to arrive at - the grounds and the public areas are outstanding BUT this was where it ended for us!
Our room was in the extension at the rear of the property and we had a ground floor view of a very large car park and tour coaches passed within a few feet of our window very early in the morning. It seems that this hotel is now on the overnight stop itinerary for a host of Chinese, Japanese etc tour coaches and they and their passengers are noisy - not what you would expect at a Hydro! And then there was the price - £109 for bed and breakfast in a jaded very basic room with no view. The following night we stayed in a budget hotel in Glasgow city centre where the room was larger, better equipped and more appealing with a view of the city rooftops and it cost less than £70 for bed and breakfast. Dunblane Hydro is not the hotel I remember as a child and I could not recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Don't get a room in the extension out the back
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Tom_Tank_Engine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro Hotel.

I am sorry to read that the room allocated to you in the Stirling Wing was not what you expected; many of our guests prefer staying in this part of the hotel. We will do our utmost to allocate you a more appropriate room for you in the main building should you wish to return to the Hotel. Please mention this at the time of the booking.

We appreciate having a large tour inhouse will have contributed to increased noise levels within the Hotel and for this we apologise. We are reliant on all our guests to respect the fact that other guests do not wish to be disturbed and I am sorry that this impinged on your enjoyment.

I do hope that this experience will not deter you from visiting us again in the future.

Regards
Michael P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

A superb final night of our honeymoon. Being given a warm cookie on arrival is a genius idea by Doubletree but it doesn't feel like just a gimic, every member of staff was polite, friendly, helpful and smiled and said hello when passing us in the corridor, it was like the whole place was filled with a cookie-esque loveliness. Cocktails in the bar were superb, made with skill and there was an amazing level of customer service, the barmen making us cocktails not on the menu and bringing them to our plush velvet sofa, in the sumptuous Wallace lounge. I mean really, it felt utterly decadent. And it was only £89 for one night and breakfast! And considering how delicious and varied the breakfast was as well as the rest of it, this feels like amazing value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing your recent review.

We appreciate you choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro Hotel for the final night of your honeymoon and are delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is especially great to read that our team delivered excellent service throughout your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Michael P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stopped there last week (May 28th – 29th) it looks impressive from the drive but that’s where it ended for us. Our first room was very small with a tiny shower room. We booked a roll-out bed for our young daughter which wasn’t there we also wondered where it would go as there was no room. We went to reception told them about our concerns but they sent someone up with a bed regardless, the lady said “this is crazy there’s no room to put it, if there was you’d have to climb over your daughter to get out of bed and that’d dangerous!” We went down again, this time we got moved to a larger room, all looked ok. We tried to get a drink at the bar but there were so many “corporate customers” there it was impossible so we went out. Later that night we were woken by water cascading down pipes we later found were in the wall behind the bed, every time a loo above was flushed or a sink/bath emptied the water crashed down, not good when the “corporate customers” started to shower at 05:30.I’m sure there are better rooms at this hotel but I wouldn’t like to chance it again. Overall our room was tired and dated the curtains were hanging off the rail the net curtains were dirty.They also tried to charge us for breakfast that was included, oh and the charge for 24hrs internet access is more than I pay for a month at home!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane.

Your observations are appreciated as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and monitor if we are meeting guests expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies for the areas we let you down in, in particular the issues with your room.

Please accept our assurance that we will use your review to focus attention in these areas and use this as part of our on-going commitment to improve.

Regards
Michael P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Not as great as we thought it would be. Booked a double room which was fairly small. Stains on carpet and curtains and a 4pm check in time wasn't great.
Spa was ok but more like a public swimming baths. Jacuzzi not working, told it was an electrical problem.
Lovely food and service in the restaurant, something for everyone on the menu.
Afraid there are nicer hotels for the money tho. Can't say we would be in a hurry to return.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank jac0761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete your recent review.

We are always sorry to hear that guests did not enjoy their stay as much as they had hoped. Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced during your visit.

I will take the time to review your comments with the hotel team and will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed both the service and the meal in the Kailyard by Nick Nairn Restaurant and will ensure your comments are fed back to the Executive Chef and the rest of the team.

Thank you again for the time and trouble you have taken to give us this feedback.

Regards
Michael P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews