We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs renovating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Reviewed April 15, 2014

A very grand hotel experience food and staff are very good. The room let them down for me it looked old and tired. They were painting but guests were getting the wet paint on their clothes due to the lack of signage.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,090)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,591 - 2,597 of 4,090 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

My mum and dad stayed overnight this weekend for their 30th wedding anniversary. Room was very basic and small - bed was atrocious, all you'd need to do was look at it and the springs squeaked! Meal was inedible - main course - slow cooked beef was disgusting, slimey and webbed with fat, like a tin of dog meat. This was reported to waitress who said she would tell chef - however no apology was made. To cleanse pallet, fresh fruit salad was ordered - this took the biscuit. It resembled a tin of fruit cocktail smashed into smithereens. Breakfast - bacon could have soled shoes. A Wetherspoons breakfast would have been more enjoyable. Self service check out therefore no one to complain to. Still waiting on an apology for meal. I'm looking forward to a management response on this post. A letter shall follow to yourself and Hilton head office. Thank you.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank LRR2013ayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were really looking forward to this stay, and the initial feel of the hotel didn't disappoint. Check in was smooth and welcoming, but beyond that it went downhill fast. Complete lack of attention at both dinner and breakfast, and no service skills whatsoever in the lounge. Come on Hilton, you need to do much better! Please invest in some decent pillows too!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Godders486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear Guest

We appreciate the time and trouble you have taken to complete the survey and to give us feedback on your recent stay in our hotel.

I note in particular your comments regarding lack of service skills and have reviewed your comments with the hotel team in order for us to improve our service.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Reasonably comfortable. Plenty of hot water. Good restaurant. Early to bed as there is nothing to do. No free WiFi. There is little in the way of human interaction. I bet they would be falling all over themselves if I was young or drove a fancy car.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Ronald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Had a few days away with my son. The staff were very friendly. Food was amazing - 3 course evening meal from Nick Nairn menu. Breakfast was also really good - buffet breakfast. Overall a lovely hotel and cant wait to go back! Also swimming pool on site. I would recommend this hotel 100 %

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank TraceyMikeyRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor questionnaire after your recent visit to us with your son.

Your feedback for The Kailyard by Nick Nairn Restaurant is appreciated as we work hard to deliver consistently.

I look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The hotel looks great from the outside and has real character if you are in the old part. The staff are universally good from my experience over several stays.
The breakfasts are much better than the average buffet breakfast that you get in most places - love the haggis!
When I have visited on my own on business before, I have had really good, spacious rooms. This time I was accompanied by my wife and was put in a much smaller room, with a lot of waterworks noises - bizarre and a bit disappointing

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey. We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us and in particular that you enjoyed the haggis!

I am sorry the room was not as large as you have stayed in previously. Being an older building our room sizes do vary.

I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Excellent stay at the Hilton Double tree , staff very helpful and a warm welcome was made with hot cookies at reception!. Only thing was the rooms were too hot and had to open the windows , but everything else was just perfect , the food was amazing with Nick Nairns meals every night would highly recommend

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
0.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,168 reviews
13.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
786 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range: $115 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing