We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Overall very good. Staff make the effort to interact which is a plus point. Food excellent with a character chef. Bedrooms a bit tired but a nice place . Usual hilton prices for alcohol. Would return.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doonhamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear doonhamer

Thanks for your review of the hotel.

It was short and sweet and still gave a good insight that will give a snapshot of what guests can look forward to.

Thanks again for your time and effort in reviewing.

Yours sincerely

Liam

Liam Spillane, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,102 - 3,108 of 4,194 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

me and my partner came here for a lovely night away from the kids. the food in the restaurant is amazing, a little expensive but it was to be expected and totally worth it. i loved all the interesting pictures of all the Scottish inventors in the bar. we used the pool facilities, it was nice, nothing too special though. the room was nice and clean, we only booked the standard double but maybe go for an upgrade next time. during the night the fire alarm got set off so i didn't get a great sleep but it was handled well. all in all i would love to return to the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liam_Spillane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Deborah M

Thanks for your review earlier this week.

I enjoyed reading the positive comments on your stay, as did the rest of the team here at the hotel. Knowing what it's like to get away for the night without the kids to really relax is bliss, even though I can't wait to see them the next day!

It was a pity that the fire alarm disturbed your sleep but I'm sure you'll agree it's there for good reason.

I hope we'll see you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Liam

Liam Spillane, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We enjoyed a 2 night stay with our elderly dog at this hotel and spa. The hotel is a beautiful building sitting in extensive landscaped gardens with sufficient free car parking for guests. Customer service was very good from start to finish (e.g. prompt check-in and check-out, timely and friendly restaurant service). Our room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent (buffet style and catering well for vegetarians in addition to those who enjoy a good full Scottish breakfast). The leisure facilities were clean and fairly well equipped with welcoming staff. The hotel is well situated close to the centre of Dunblane where you can find some small shops to buy food or gifts as well as a coffee shop to enjoy some wine or a hot drink.
On a slightly negative note - the sleep quality was 'average' because of other guests, not the hotel facilities or staff (a bus load of very loud American/Canadian pensioners who might have had a hearing impairment were up at the crack of dawn wandering along the corridors roaring at each other en route for their breakfast every morning).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liam_Spillane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Thetruthlaidbare

Great username firstly!

Next your review is very welcome and was very enjoyable to read about how your overall stay exceeded your expectations, even for you're dog in our pet friendly hotel.

Dunblane will also be rightly proud of the impression that was made on how quaint and welcoming you were made to feel.

Thanks for your time and thoughts on your stay with us.

Yours sincerely

Liam

Liam Spillane, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We booked in here to attend a Saturday Wedding. It was very chaotic on arrival with all the guests milling around the cocktail bar. This was to become a theme when we had to vacate the reception area after the meal for the band to set up.Due to its lay out there is no solution for this.The cocktail bar area got very busy with wedding guests ,even with some expensive drink prices, other guests at times had a long wait at the bar before the function area was ready.
The wedding area was nice, no gazebo or anything for wedding photos and the bride and groom got wet. Reception room was nice and the set meal had a great starter and pudding and an ok main course.We booked in overnight and our room was on the ground floor overlooking the car park for the function suite. This made it a bit noisy with guests leaving at night. The room its self was a fine size with everything you would expect. The decor and corridors were tired and needs a bit of TLC and up grading.Next day breakfast £10 extra each was lovely set in a really nice area. We then went for a swim and the pool which was great with a very nice sauna and steam room. The overall building and setting of this hotel was very scenic.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms round the back over looking the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlasgowWinenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear GlasgowWinenut

Thanks for today's posting on TripAdvisor.

I can see your view on the points that you have raised about the hotel and appreciate the constructive nature of the comments on your review. As a team, we continue to try to control and manage the areas that we can impact on, however when it comes to space and room for guests, clearly that's not as easy for us to change quickly. Nevertheless your points are genuinely noted and appreciated.

Many thanks again for your time.

Yours sincerely

Liam

Liam Spillane, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed for one night, but wished it could have been longer.

The other half booked a very reasonable dinner, bed and breakfast deal. The food choice for dinner was limited but all options sounded tasty. The staff were very friendly and the food we'd ordered was excellent.

Our room was comfortable, ensure clean and the room looked as if it had recently been decorated.

Breakfast was up to the usual Hilton standard.

Unable to fault staff, hotel, food and the lovely setting.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRuntonDinersClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liam_Spillane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear TheRuntonDinersClub

Thanks for your outstanding review of our hotel today on TripAdvisor.

It was a real pleasure for my team to reach such glowing reports on the facilities and more so on what a positive impression the team engagement made on you and overall impressions.

Yours sincerely

Liam

Liam Spillane, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We are are just back from yet another lovely stay at the Dunblane Hydro.

I have been reading some of the recent reviews with amazement and some considerable disbelief.

Our check in was prompt and our room was easily located using the more than adequate signage.

On this occasion our room had a side view and looked over the top of the dining room so no nice views over Dunblane.

The room was extremely spacious and certainly not cramped by an stretch of the imagination.

A very comfy king size bed, sofa / fold up bed, table chairs.
dressing table ample wardrobe space.
Flat screen tv with a selection of free channels, if you want a radio try using the one in the alarm clock at the side of the bed.

Free safe in the wardrobe and an iron and ironing board also in there.

A fully stocked mini bar and snack tray, at the usual hotel inflated rate.
You do have free tea and coffee available.

The Kailyard restaurant was running very efficiently and all the staff were very attentive, a vast improvement on our last visit.
The food was very nicely presented and of the highest quality and Nick Nairn should be pleased with the transformation.

The bar is most certainly not shabby, it is a very pleasant, comfortable and smart area, yes the prices are not the cheapest however they are in keeping with the normaly higher prices one encounters in this type of hotel.

Yes it is true there is only one lift but hey chill and relax if it is full on your first attempt to enter, believe it or not it will come back to you quickly again in a few minutes there are only floors after all, it doesn't disappear or go far away from you.

I can easily recommend the Dunblane Hydro to you.

A note to Liam the General Manager, please act on the increading amount of comments that are being made regarding cleanliness.

My ONLY slight criticism is that there has been a drop in the cleaning standards since our last visit.
The corridors required the carpets to be cleaned properly as there was a lot of small bits of litter on them and the edges and skirting are dusty.
In our room the snack tray was very dusty as was the TV and stand and pieces of litter visible under the sofa / bed.

Not a major issue but well worth addressing now Liam.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiltman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liam_Spillane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Kiltman

I have to say that I am genuinely very touched by the honesty and perfectly acceptable advice you have given in your review.

Deep cleaning programmes started, having got into the detail of the issue and so please feel fully reassured I am listening to your advice and will get the standards back to where they need to be as soon as possible.

Thanks again for your thorough and very honest post.

Yours sincerely

Liam

Liam Spillane, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

What a disappointment. Driving up the road, the building looks spectacular but although there's a lot of good, rather shabby (un hoovered and just not up to scratch) in the general areas. Lift is tiny and totally inadequate for the size of the hotel. It's just really sad because its been decorated well and modern but just 'tacky' in how it's kept up. We have a family room, which is clean and a good size( but bathroom very small) and the restaurant where we had our breakfast is beautiful, but again, just not what it could be. Had to ask for our coffee in the morning and cutlery was missing from the place settings. Pool and gymn etc are in a separate building which is awkward to get to and in our usual Scottish weather, not pleasant to walk back from. Final straw in the dashing of my expectations for our break here is that tonight, just when we were begining to relax in our room, at around 10pm we began to hear the loud boom of a band at a function. It's an hour and a half later and we've had a constant background noise of a bass guitar and drums which increases dramatically whenever someone opens a door to the function . It looked so lovely on the website and perfect for a relaxing weekend. Such a shame, because there's so much wasted potential in this place. It could be incredible.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mojo110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Mojo110

Thanks for your review after your stay with us earlier this month.

Your views on tastes of how the hotel is decorated are noted. In a busy hotel like ours, we have areas that are in constant use and as a result will show signs of use. We do have a programme of re-decoration and will continue trying to keep up the appearances as much as is possible.

Likewise due to our event facilities being very popular, entertainment goes as part and parcel of those particular needs of the organiser. On Saturday past we had a 6 minute firework display at 21.45 arranged separately by the guests and carried out by a professional fireworks display company. It again goes hand in hand with what can happen at hotels across the country, so I'm sorry that this disturbed you.

I wonder would you consider coming back on a mid-week night when the chances of a busy hotel may not disturb you as much, we have some fantastic offers available if you watch out on our brand website.

Thanks again

Liam

Liam Spillane, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
2.8 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
13.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
5 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range: $125 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing