We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stunning hotel maintained to an excellent standard let down by bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Ayrshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A stunning hotel maintained to an excellent standard let down by bad service”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Went to Dunblane hydro to celibate our parents golden wedding. The hotel itself is stunning and maintained very well. The issues are all staff related. We paid top dollar for the rooms & entry was 16.00 which is quite late & added to this my sons room was only ready after 18.00. we had dinner booked for 18.15 giving him only 00.15 mins to get ready. the 18.15 dinner slot was the management preset slot of we had a choice of a far too late slot & really one is too early & one too late. Its supposed to be a good restaurant. we found it to be quite poor. The creme brulee was delivered cold (all of it) & when they asked about it when I did not eat it I explained but they said they always do it that way!! Even the custard bit underneath that should be cold tasted bad.
The breakfast was chaos. Lots of people queuing up for a table & when I walked around to see what the problem was there was lots of free tables all requiring to be cleared. lots of staff were working around but no one accomplishing anything EG each person doing a job like clearing the glasses only for all the tables & no one doing a full job of clearing a table.
All in all poor service due to being let down badly by the staff that are not properly organized. Take a packed lunch or eat in the town. The restraint is not worth the stress.

Room Tip: Try to get into the main building as the annex is a long hike & the front of the building will g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Graeme M

Thanks for your review of DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro.

I am sorry to read that there were a number of points that did not go well during your stay. Whilst this has impacted your stay on this occasion I want to assure you that each individual point you have made will be followed up and efforts doubled to address them to prevent the possibility of future reoccurrence. There are no excuses to be made and take responsibility for your points fully.

I am sorry once again you did not receive the levels of service that we should have provided to you.

If I can help in any other way in the future, please do contact me at the hotel directly.

Yours sincerely

Liam Spillane, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,161
    1,300
    835
    404
    189
See reviews for
761
2,081
63
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (836)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
up north
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

a great hotel, we only stayed one night while visiting the Blairdrummond safari park nearby, but could have stayed longer. friendly service good breakfast, The pool is across the way to the left of the hotel (a few minute walk) good changing areas and pool clean and warm. The hotel is just on the cusp of the town which was very quaint (good chip shop too)

Room Tip: try for a room at the front, great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tallybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear tallybelle

Thanks for your review today on TripAdvisor.

You have mentioned one of the many great reasons why our hotel is a perfect location to stay at when visiting one of the many local tourist attractions.

Your stay appears to have ticked all the boxes at the hotel too which I was delighted to read about, particularly the friendly team we have to make sure your every need was catered for.

Thanks again for your review, please do stay again soon.

Yours sincerely

Liam Spillane, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Booked for a weekend break. The service from start to finish was faultless. Friendly and efficient check in staff, quality of rooms with high levels of finish, fantastic and relaxed breakfast complimented with great grounds and the facilities within the recreation centre all made for an excellent weekend.

The staff we met were all great and could not do enough to ensure that the experience remained first class. This is my third stay at the Doubletree and with this level of quality service will not be my last = highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GWBEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liam_Spillane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear GWBEdinburgh

Thank you for your fantastic review of our hotel today.

I have just recently had the pleasure of taking over as General Manager of this iconic hotel and I can see instantly the amazing opportunity I have at DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro Hotel.

Your review is a great compliment to my new team and I will ensure that the full team are aware of your kind comments.

This was your third stay, your fourth stay awaits.....why not try booking on our website direct for the best rates guaranteed!

Yours sincerely

Liam

Liam Spillane, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochwinnoch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the above hotel for a long weekend in early march. We had gift vouchers to use and booked some extra nights. Check in was slightly haphazard, they were going to change our room in the middle of our stay! But I said no to that idea, as I was not repacking to move for one more night. we were given the free cookies which every one gets when they check in, there were endless queue’s of people wanting to check in, and they stipulate that check in is at 4.00 pm which is a bit on the late side if people are want to get ready to go out or eat early in the nick Nairn restaurant. The rooms were very clean and well presented and my granddaughter loved the bed settee she got to sleep in. food was first class, and staff were very attentive. We also got use of free wife for duration of about two hours. There were bottles of water in the room on our arrival; the rest of the bottled water was in the mini bar. I asked at reception if they would give us some more bottled water, we were advised that they were in the mini bar and were chargeable! When we checked out the receptionist advised us that because we were in a deluxe family room that the water would have been free!! The grounds are wonderful with views over the surrounding hills of Dunblane and beyond. Car parking was a bit iffy as there was a wedding fayre on so there were lots of vans etc unloading, making it difficult to manoeuvre. We didn’t book a table in the restaurant for the Saturday evening; hence there were no available tables. We ate in the bar eventually after the wedding party had gone for their meal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LENIHowwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed on a dinner bed and breakfast deal and we expected the room to be one of their basic rooms. First impression, with the cleaners cupboard next door and a few things lying about, was not great but the room itself was immaculate. Decent size and spotless is all you can ask when on a budget deal. We had £32.50 allowance each for dinner and we needed every penny as prices are not cheap. Food was delicious and the service first class. Same at breakfast and overall a very enjoyable experience

Room Tip: we stayed in back of hotel in part built on so don't know what rooms are like in main part of ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinDunoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We arranged a last minute night away for my birthday and could not fault anything about the stay. Dinner in "The Kailyard" was fantastic and with a bottle of prosecco in our room and warm cookies on arrival we felt it was excellent value for money. Now keeping an eye out for future offers for another break away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irenem32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxburn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed for one night ,good Friday'on the Spring Offer deal £109 dinner bed and breakfast which was fantastic value. Our twin room was spacious spotlessly clean and had a huge bath shower room. Highlight was dinner at Nick Nairns signature restaurant 'The Kailyard' this is cuisine of the highest order with exceptional service. Leisure facilities were separate from main hotel but were also excellent. Well done Doubletree Hilton we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drewster1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
2.8 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,075 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
13.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
730 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Property: Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing