We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one nighter o a chilled break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“one nighter o a chilled break”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

using this hotel from 5pm deal - we enjoyed our stay esp weather being dry - scenic place! been there few times years ago and bit dark interior esp dining area! staff very pleasant, meals nice - thanks for giving us a chilled overnighter!

Room Tip: was in room 232 with frosted glass!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deefiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Sorry to read you did not like some of the styles created by the designers when the hotel was refurbished; nevertheless, glad to see this did not stop you from enjoying your overnighter with us. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,148
    1,284
    828
    399
    188
See reviews for
752
2,054
62
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (828)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We found the staff really friendly and welcoming, particularly in the Nick Nairn restaurant at dinner. The room was lovely with a fantastic view over the grounds and snow-covered hills of Perth. We enjoyed an excellent dinner in the restaurant and breakfast, too, was of a high standard. The only thing that we were disappointed in was the spa/health club. It was ok but just not a luxurious or particularly nurturing experience. It is pretty basic and utilitarian and does not match the facilities or feel of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValSJ59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience in the Kailyard, alongside your visit to our hotel. As with all our feedback, your comments have been shared with the team and will be used as part of our ongoing commitment to improve. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Lovely hotel, no complaints at all!

All members of staff were lovely and helpful. Room was clean. Food was lovely, if having dinner you should book a table as its very busy. We booked when we were at breakfast for that evening and was fine. Buffet style breakfast with plenty of choice.

I tried to book a spa treatment but they were fully booked all weekend so if you fancy this you should book before you arrive.

Minibar prices were very expensive but that unfortunately is expected in big hotel chains. I didn't think the bar prices were too bad.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback; we do advise our guests to book both a table in the restaurant and spa treatments as required before arrival, especially for weekend visits as they are always busy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful setting and our room - a junior suite - was fantastic.
The quality of food and service at dinner were also first class.
But now the downside...breakfast was chaotic, as it appeared no one was in charge.
Our alleged dog-friendly room was on the third floor at the end of a long corridor - basically as far from the exit door as possible. Also £10 per night per dog is steep.
Reception and bar staff left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I’m sorry to read that you did not find the room allocated to you was suitable for you and your extended family and as with all our feedback we will review your comments with our team. Thank you for letting us know your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Nick Nairn restaurant is the only top kennel aspect of this hotel, with both the food and service being of a high standard. After this there is little positive to say about the hotel, other than the grounds and the building itself. The rooms are shabby, wee had no hot water throughout our stay and the leisure facilities need condemning a they are dirty, rusting and broken. Thankfully, we were only staying the one night and we did receive a refund for everything apart from dinner, which made up for the poor room and facilities, but on the whole we were very disappointed and I wouldn't recommend staying here, but dining at the Nick Nairn was a joy

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ADC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I would like to reiterate our sincere apology, as per our private communications.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We spent a lovely weekend in the Doubletrees however there are a few things that need attention.
The sports facitlites are desperately needing an upgrade, the steam room had a large number of missing tiles, the sauna had a broken bench and the overall state of the area could do with a bit of sprucing up. There was chat in the ladies changing area between a few members who felt the very same. Shame really.
The rooms were spacious and well equipped; however it was freezing as the heater did not work and we did mention this a few times however nothing was done to resolve the situation.
The food was superb as was the service, however on the first night we were placed in the middle of the dining room which had public traffic on both sides of the table and at one point a pram being wheeled around with a crying baby. We had to wait just under an hour for our starter so that meant we didn't start to eat until 9:15pm - a bit too late for my liking.
It was a lovely weekend and excellent value for money £100 for db&b plus a bottle of Proseco on arrival - however there are a few points that could be tweeked.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Delighted to read that you enjoyed your cheeky weekend away, thank you for highlighting the shortcomings you perceived to us, this will enable us to develop our service. We do hope you will notice the improvement when you visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

weekend stay, lovely hotel. very clean and staff very professional, efficient and friendly.Had dinner in restaurant which was delicious. Pool area very clean, but shower and changing facilities in great need of upgrading.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your weekend in our hotel and dinner in the restaurant. We are in the planning stages of a refurbishment for the Livingwell Health Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
2.8 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,050 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
13.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
712 reviews
11.4 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Property: Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing