We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice setting and building, shame about spa and food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“nice setting and building, shame about spa and food.”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This revamped hotel looks sumptuous enough and the service and rooms are seriously nice hut what lets this place down is the ancient crumbling spa/pool and the dining, as it is trying to be something its not. I read somewhere that they were trying to compete with gleneagles on the food front which is ludicrous as this is nowhere near the standard of andrew fairlie, although the prices are approaching very expensive which is just quite simply a rip off. If they can bring the spa and dining up to the standard of the rest of the hotel then this will be a very fine place to stay indeed. But until then it will eemain overpriced and diners im sure will leave feeling a little cheated out of their money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grubs35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,180
    1,314
    843
    405
    190
See reviews for
773
2,105
63
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Booked an overnight stay in Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane - excellent accommodation in elevated postion at front of hotel overlooking lawn and Dunblane (covering of snow may the winter view quite spectacular!) Meal in hotel was very good with pleasant, efficient service. Good "Living Well" health club in grounds of hotel. Would recommend for weekend stay in winter for any special occasion.

Room Tip: Ask for deluxe room facing front of hotel - level and quality of accommodation will be worth the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Homejames63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your recommendations – we agree - the views from the front facing deluxe rooms are most definitely worth it! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

just returned from an overnight stay in this lovely hotel. Due to a heavy snowfall it was very picturesque especially with children sledging on the slopes of the hotel. the staff were very pleasant and helpful , the room was very clean, spacious and comfortable and we had a lovely meal - only downside was the price of drinks but this is expected in this type of hotel However i think £2 for a caramel wafer from the mini bar was overdoing it - could buy 12 for this price in some supermarkets.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we are delighted to read that you found our hotel spacious and comfortable and enjoyed watching the children (big and small) having fun in the snow. Your comments have been shared with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grangemouth
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Got a last minute deal at the hotel. The drive into the grounds is lovely. Check-in was efficient and receptionist was very pleasant. First room we were given was ok, however bathroom was awful. We asked for another room and were given one with no fuss. This room was very poor. Very small with cheap looking stand a lone wardrobe, frosted glass window to hide the totally dreadful view of a roof, stains all over the carpet. On the upside, the bathroom was fine!! We couldn't be bothered with any more fuss, so decided to live with it. The bar was nice, staff very helpful and the food was really good. All-in-all, it was a cheap night away, with good food, but very poor rooms!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
I am disappointed to read that you didn’t like the rooms you were allocated; unfortunately the size of the rooms is something we cannot modify. It good to read that this did not lessen the enjoyment of your stay, thank you for your compliments about our staff, service and food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We took two rooms for dinner, bed and breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The dinner menu was very varied, including a Burns menu, and the package deal allowed a dinner spend of a reasonable £32 per head. The hotel is well presented and appears well maintained and the staff were extremely attentive. Food was of a very high standard. The hotel was full and there seemed to be some entertainment in the dining room although we could not really hear it due to the normal dining room noise. Our only gripe was the chill in the lounge where a log fire fought in vain against the cold. Overall a very enjoyable break.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lodesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Delighted to read you had a lovely break staying with us last weekend, and enjoyed our special Burns menu on offer. I have forwarded your compliments to the hotel team and we will endeavour to boost up the log fire on a cold night to eliminate the chill you mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay which was an offer through 5pm, I wasn't expecting to be such good value, Happy with our room, which was a double, think you can upgrade to king or suite, very clean, and bathroom was lovely and also very clean. Hate staying in hotels where basic level
of hygiene is not met.

The Kailyard Restaurant is excellent and my husband and I really enjoyed our food choices-
Desserts were amazing, only downside was the coffee which I ordered, had a bitter taste and was cold, however the amount was deducted from the bill, and I was offered another cup, decided not to chance it. We found the hotel quiet and comfortable. We enjoyed our breakfast. Very fresh and tasty - plenty of choices. Would recommend this hotel and hoping to make a visit soon for the Sunday Roast lunch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we love the Kailyard food and service too! Please accept our apologies for the coffee; I am sure this must have been a one-off error. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for one of our delicious Sunday Lunches.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Went to the Dunblane Hilton as I had attended a wedding there some time ago (only found out later that the hotel had made mistakes at that event).

The New Year package was expensive and not really good value. No programme of events sent in advance so if you arrive a little late, you miss out on items in the package. Entertainment was restricted to one night (Hogmanay) and very limited Scottish music and dancing. If I had wanted a disco I could have gone anywhere.

Food outstanding; restaurant unable to seat the number of guests in the hotel and if you have not booked (even if a resident) they clearly enjoy turning you away; Rooms in the annex OK; clean. Hotel staff unable to cope with anything out of the ordinary (the change from panic to surly was rapid);

Unlikely to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy our Hogmany package and will use your feedback, along with others collated over the festive season, so we may improve our service and offerings for the coming year. Thank you for sharing your opinion with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
2.8 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
13.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
750 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Property: Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing