We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

At first seeing the hotel it has wow factor but entering the rooms its like any budget hotel except they would have constant hot water unlike this one where you have to run the taps for 5 mins if your lucky. Everything in this hotel costs you money even the wifi which is free in the local pubs and restaurants. If you want to throw money away this is the place to go fortunately it won't be me

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronnie2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

The hotel now provides complimentary wifi for guest’s in the public areas. As an additional benefit for our Silver and Diamond HHonors members’, complimentary wifi is provided throughout the hotel for the duration of their stay. Sorry to hear that you had issues with the water whilst you were; and have forwarded your remarks to our maintenance department to investigate. Please accept our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,089)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,362 - 3,368 of 4,089 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

if you are thinking of staying here then id highly recommend it.
i booked it as a romantic get away and upgraded to the junior suite - best thing i ever done. on arrival we received warm cookies which went down a treat.
everything is extremely clean and well presented around the reception.
check in was easy and staff were very friendly.

got to the room and it was better than i imagined, had a massive bed which was far too big for the 2 of us,but what i liked best was the two big doors seperating the bedroom and the living room which had a big tv and comfy couch (ideal for when i couldnt sleep and didnt want to hear her snoring)

breakfast was of as high a standard as iv always received in any hilton i have stayed in. really was top-notch

leisure facillities are great aswell,has a decent sized pool and a decent gym for a work out before having a dip.

the area worked out great also as you are five minutes walk from the centre of dunblane high street and about 5 minutes on the train from stirling in which we headed into one day.

all in all thei hotel is one of the best i have stayed in and the fact they were so friendly added to the luxury of the place

Room Tip: go for the junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

I am delighted to read that you have had such a wonderful time with us and found our team of staff so friendly and helpful. Thank you for your feedback. We do hope you will back to visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

we have been coming back to the hydro for 4or 5 times a year for at least 8 years.always made feel welcome until this last visit on the 3rd and the 4th of December 2012. we have had the same room213 nearly all this time. then rebooking for new year we were going to come a extra night but where to pay an upgrade rate for a room that had dirty big stains on the carpet small dirty bathroom and a noisy toilet. we spoke to the duty manager Natasha she was not helpful or interested in loyal guests in the hotel we are Hilton Honors card holder again she was not interested. we reserved a table at the window so as i was out of the way as i was on crutches this was not honored. most of the staff are very good Katy at check in was excellent Natasha has an attitude problem she is very false. we are still waiting for a follow up call for new year. but hey went elsewhere and had a fantastic Hogmany so we will not be back thanks to your disappointing attitude from some of your duty managers.FROM A@L DYKES

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

I must say how surprised I am to receive a complaint about the conduct and professionalism of our Duty Manager and am most disappointed to read that you did not appreciate the efforts taken to make your stay an enjoyable one; ensuring your request for a window table in the restaurant was honoured, checking you were satisfied with your meal, offering to show a selection of bedrooms to identify the room which would best suit you. The room you requested is classified as a deluxe and therefore does come with an upgrade charge. I am not sure what further actions could have been taken to resolve your disappointment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, first night was a party night with office, second was my own booking DBB. First night was not so good as room was quite a walk for my wife who has mobility problems due to her MS. Room had electric heater which was off and room was rather cold on arrival and during stay. saying that the room was good size and had everything you needed. Second night was booked DBB in family room for 114GBP. As room was not ready was given a room on 4th Floor main building which had sitting room and bedroom with 4 poster bed. Slippers and Dressing Gowns also provided. There was a bottle of wine which was complimentary however next to it was also a bottle of sparkling water which I was told would be charged for if used. Only found out by asking reception.
Staff were excellent overall and restaurant was all round very good for quality of food and service.
Below is some feedback provided to Hilton Honours survey.
1. Warm chocolate chip cookies not a practical idea as the chocolate melts and makes a bit of a mess when you handle/eat same.
2. At breakfast on morning 7th no pot of tea was provided for my wife and I just a cup. There were no staff about to provide any re-fills which was rather disappointing.
3. Housekeeping and Reception staff were very friendly.
4. Bar staff excellent especially at lunch time.
5. Restaurant staff at dinner were also excellent.
6. Room outside main building was very cold. Moved to room in main building 2nd night and was much better.

Area is beautiful, plenty to see and Stirling a 10 minute drive. Would definately recommend a stay here and if you look out for January believe there might be some good deals as this is quiet period after first week.

Room Tip: Try and get room in main building at fron for a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millienumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for your comments which have been reviewed with the hotel team so we may improve in the areas which appear to need a little more focus. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Dunblane Hydro is a historic hotel situated on a hill above the town. It was opened in 1878 as a spa hotel, a role it still performs today despite the word 'spa' having a slightly different meeting. It retains some of the Victorian splendour despite a recent upgrade bringing it up to modern day and, some might say unfortunately, corporate standards. As part of the Doubletree by Hilton group you are welcomed with warm cookies which are very nice but the melted chocolate chips don't half make a mess of your clothes and your room if you are not careful.

The room itself was perfectly adequate. It was a bit of an odd design with a narrow bathroom and what appeared to be an extra small room that served no purpose at all other than bag storage. I suspect a rollaway bed could be put in there but as a room for two it seemed to be a waste of space. The bed was comfortable enough but surprisingly small in comparison with other Hilton group hotels we've stayed in. There was the usual tea tray, one of those mini-bars that you are afraid to use otherwise you'll be charged a fortune for a bag of nuts and decent toiletries in the bathroom.

Wifi and wired internet acces is available at a ridiculously high price - it is about time Hilton UK took a leaf out of it's parent's USA operation on that score - but free wifi was supposedly avaialble in the bar, not that I manaeged to log on when I tried. The bar other public areas and restaurant was all panelled wood and deer antlers and as you would expect there were dozens of Single Malts on the menu. We didn't dine in the restaurant other than the full Scottish breakfast which was good quality. We had a look at the liesure facilities which are in a annex across the car park and they appeard to be perfectly acceptable. All the staff we met were courteous and polite.

It is a ten minute walk to the middle of Dunblane which is worth a visit even though it is more of a village than a town. Stirling is a short drive away and there are plenty of opportunities for walks, though when we were there the ground was so waterlogged a walk was more of a wade through mud. It is a nice area in which to spend a few days and if you are going to the Dunblane Hydro is a good place to stay, especially if you get a good rate in a Hilton Sale.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I’m delighted to read that you had a good time with us. Sorry to hear you had issues connecting with our free WiFi in the bar area; your comments have been forwarded this to our internet broadband supplier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My family and I spent the night at the Dunblane Hydro as a stop over on our travels. Having stayed there previously, it was lovely to see that the hotel had undergone some refurbishments however the corridors in the Stirling Wing could do with another coat of paint!
The check in, check out, dinner and breakfast at the Nick Nairn restaurant was faultless and would highly recommend eating in the hotel.
The bar area was very busy but it was New Year and the hotel was close to full, if not full.
The Fitness Centre and swimming pool was an added bonus to the hotel and my husband and son used the facilities.
I know that there were a number of children staying at the hotel but please, can parents teach their children the basic manners of staying in a hotel - ie, not to run up and down the corridors in the bedroom wings and continually slam doors while shouting to finish a conversation. This was bad enough at 4pm in the afternoon, never mind at midnight when they woke us up!
Apart from this grumble, we did enjoy our stay the Hydro and if we are back in the area we would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TringTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

The only thing which detracted from your stay was the behaviour of some other guests in the hotel – please accept our apologies; our staff do check the corridors at night to request the noisier guests to respect others that may be sleeping. Our rigorous facilities manager has duly noted your comments regarding the painting. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel a few times now and use the facilities frequently.

Although the dining could be better and the health club closer. (its a, short walk from the hotel)

Everything else with this hotel is fantastic, staff are warm and friendly and are always approachable should you need their help.

I recommend this hotel to stay in but maybe eat out somewhere for a better meal.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leahlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

It is disappointing to read that you counsel guests to eat out – your remarks have been forwarded to our restaurant so we may review and improve our service. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
0.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,167 reviews
13.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
786 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range: $115 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing