We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Autumn Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Dunblane Hydro is a historic hotel situated on a hill above the town. It was opened in 1878 as a spa hotel, a role it still performs today despite the word 'spa' having a slightly different meeting. It retains some of the Victorian splendour despite a recent upgrade bringing it up to modern day and, some might say unfortunately, corporate standards. As part of the Doubletree by Hilton group you are welcomed with warm cookies which are very nice but the melted chocolate chips don't half make a mess of your clothes and your room if you are not careful.

The room itself was perfectly adequate. It was a bit of an odd design with a narrow bathroom and what appeared to be an extra small room that served no purpose at all other than bag storage. I suspect a rollaway bed could be put in there but as a room for two it seemed to be a waste of space. The bed was comfortable enough but surprisingly small in comparison with other Hilton group hotels we've stayed in. There was the usual tea tray, one of those mini-bars that you are afraid to use otherwise you'll be charged a fortune for a bag of nuts and decent toiletries in the bathroom.

Wifi and wired internet acces is available at a ridiculously high price - it is about time Hilton UK took a leaf out of it's parent's USA operation on that score - but free wifi was supposedly avaialble in the bar, not that I manaeged to log on when I tried. The bar other public areas and restaurant was all panelled wood and deer antlers and as you would expect there were dozens of Single Malts on the menu. We didn't dine in the restaurant other than the full Scottish breakfast which was good quality. We had a look at the liesure facilities which are in a annex across the car park and they appeard to be perfectly acceptable. All the staff we met were courteous and polite.

It is a ten minute walk to the middle of Dunblane which is worth a visit even though it is more of a village than a town. Stirling is a short drive away and there are plenty of opportunities for walks, though when we were there the ground was so waterlogged a walk was more of a wade through mud. It is a nice area in which to spend a few days and if you are going to the Dunblane Hydro is a good place to stay, especially if you get a good rate in a Hilton Sale.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I’m delighted to read that you had a good time with us. Sorry to hear you had issues connecting with our free WiFi in the bar area; your comments have been forwarded this to our internet broadband supplier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,425 - 3,431 of 4,149 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

My family and I spent the night at the Dunblane Hydro as a stop over on our travels. Having stayed there previously, it was lovely to see that the hotel had undergone some refurbishments however the corridors in the Stirling Wing could do with another coat of paint!
The check in, check out, dinner and breakfast at the Nick Nairn restaurant was faultless and would highly recommend eating in the hotel.
The bar area was very busy but it was New Year and the hotel was close to full, if not full.
The Fitness Centre and swimming pool was an added bonus to the hotel and my husband and son used the facilities.
I know that there were a number of children staying at the hotel but please, can parents teach their children the basic manners of staying in a hotel - ie, not to run up and down the corridors in the bedroom wings and continually slam doors while shouting to finish a conversation. This was bad enough at 4pm in the afternoon, never mind at midnight when they woke us up!
Apart from this grumble, we did enjoy our stay the Hydro and if we are back in the area we would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TringTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

The only thing which detracted from your stay was the behaviour of some other guests in the hotel – please accept our apologies; our staff do check the corridors at night to request the noisier guests to respect others that may be sleeping. Our rigorous facilities manager has duly noted your comments regarding the painting. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel a few times now and use the facilities frequently.

Although the dining could be better and the health club closer. (its a, short walk from the hotel)

Everything else with this hotel is fantastic, staff are warm and friendly and are always approachable should you need their help.

I recommend this hotel to stay in but maybe eat out somewhere for a better meal.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leahlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

It is disappointing to read that you counsel guests to eat out – your remarks have been forwarded to our restaurant so we may review and improve our service. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have not long returned from my third stay at this hotel and as in all my other stays the rooms were large,modern and clean. Service was great and the food was amazing as always but the bed in the room 321 was terrible everytime you turned over it creeked & banged loudly we hardly got a wink of sleep and my husband ended up sleeping on the sofa bed beside our daughter not really what you would expect from a hilton company I have put my complaint in writing to them so avoid room 321

Room Tip: Avoid room 321 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samrobg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, as noted in an email sent to you privately, your comments had been forwarded to our facilities department, who immediately dealt with the issue. I am sorry that we were not made aware of the problem so we may have had the opportunity to fix it whilst you were here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here as part of the christmas package to celebrate our first christmas as a married couple. The hotel is beautiful inside and out. The staff were absolutley fantastic and really could not do enough for you. So very welcoming and friendly. The food was amazing. I just cannot pick fault with this hotel at all. The small touches were just lovely for example christmas morning there was a stocking on our door full of goodies. The rooms are beautiful. Clean, modern and very comfortable. I would definetley stay here again and I cannot recommend this hotel enough. A very short walk to dunblane village which is very picturesque. If you stay here you wont regret it. An absolute bargain for such a Scottish treasure. Thank you Dunblane Hydro.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

So glad that Santa was good to you both. Thank you for your review – it is lovely to read you enjoyed our hospitality to the full and hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel for two nights on new years eve and the first of Jan,the ball arranged for new years eve was great fun and well organised,the food was very good,especially the main restaurant and pretty good value.Still not convinced the stay was value for money,it was quite expensive,but we did book very late.The previous reviewers complaints about dishes not being cleared quick enough have obviously fell on deaf ears,this was stiil a problem in the corridors and trying to get tables in the bars usually meant clearing up ourselves,not a big deal but slightly annoying ,But on the whole the Hotel is a vast improvement compared to previous visits.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Sorry to hear that the dishes were not cleared away quickly enough – your comments have been noted and shared with the team this morning. We are pleased to read that other than this, your stay was an enjoyable one. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

i stayed at this hotel for b/b for 2 nights .and i must say my wife and i really enjoyed the stay . the staff friendly and always willing to help you .the bedrooms are a good size and very comfortable . and the restarant for evening meal was excellent really enjoyed the food and the restarant staff where spot on . a real fabulous two day stay i will be back again . stayed on the 3/1/13 to the 5/1/13

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eagle5517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Lovely to read your enthusiastic feedback, thank you! We in turn, look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
0.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,202 reviews
13.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
5 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range: $122 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing