We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value special offer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed 2 nights on the Prosecco special offer at the hotel. We were give a huge chocolate cookie at reception and had a lovely bottle of chilled Prosecco waiting in our room . The room was very clean but far too warm. Even keeping the heating off and the window open we did not get much sleep. Staff very helpful and friendly throughout the hotel. The Kailyard restaurant has fabulous food. Being a vegetarian with an allergy to mushrooms it was a delight to find the hotel has a seperate vegetarian menu as well as the normal menu. Breakfast was a bit dissapointing but overall an adequate selection.The staff at breakfast time seemed very overworked and our tea/coffee took some time to arrive and we had to remind the staff we were still waiting. The health club is seperate from the hotel so although I would have liked to use the pool it was just above freezing when we stayed and the prospect of leaving the warmth of the hotel to go outside to get to the pool and the same to return meant that I was a bit put off. Overall very good and will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorgiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

I will certainly pass on your feedback to the restaurant for review so they may focus on the breakfast selections, thank you for letting us know. We hope, next time you visit; you will notice the improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,489 - 3,495 of 4,156 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Arrived at the hotel with friends at 3pm only to be told our rooms weren't ready. This wasn't a problem as we knew check in was 4pm so we went to the bar for a drink whilst we waited, the bar men were very attentive although busy. About 30 minutes later a very pretty blond receptionist informed us our rooms were ready and gave us our keys. The room was lovely although we missing some towels but this was sorted right away, although the food was lovely in the kailyard the staff were very slow and seemed disinterested. On my way to my room the same girl who had given us our keys asked how we were enjoying our evening. I said I was disappointed with the service which she apologised for. Imagine my surprise when 5 minutes later there was a knock at the door and the receptionist had sent up a complimentary bottle of wine. Very impressed with the reception staff (especially the blond girl, I think her name was astrid) and the hotel itself. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Our pretty receptionist recognised herself in your feedback, and was so pleased to see that she contributed to you having a great time, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed mid week on a two night stay on Diner,Bed and Breakfast special rate. Room was clean, quiet and well maintained. Food was of a high standard in both lounge and restraurant, hotel staff were polite and helpful with all aspects of stay.Will stay there again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happymarjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback; we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here on business and so had a twin room due to the hotel being very full of meeting delegates. It was small but well appointed but the way the room was set up I felt that every time someone walked down the corridor they were walking right past my head on the pillow! I used the small gym but had to use the swimming pool changing rooms to get changed which were soaking wet (obviously as they are for the swimming pool). It didn't have the feel of a pleasant spa hotel changing room, rather that of your local swimming pool. I wasn't inspired to get up for my early morning swim and opted for a lie in instead the next morning! The restaurant was fantastic, attentive staff (even bordering on too attentive!). Food was delicious and the wine good. Most definitely eat here if you're staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateM76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank for your comments, we strive to avoid the word “spa” because of the connotations attached; we realise that our Health Club does not have the same feel. It is nice to know that you had a great time here and you found the staff, food and atmosphere in the Kailyard fantastic!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel looks very impressive coming up the drive and the reception/lobby/lounge area is tastefully decorated. The girl that checked us in answered all our questions and advised us to book our meal asap to get a time we wanted. We were booked in for 2 nights DBB. Restuarant staff are flawless, very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Need to give a big shout out to Natascha, who really made our weekend, arrangeing lifts for us to and from the village so we could go out for a few drinks after dinner.
Our dinner on both nights was delicious. The chicken parfait is very light, and the chips with the steak were tasty real chips. Breakfast was also plentiful with a wide range and food topped up regularly.
Our room was 415 which had a dormer window. Room was slightly small, but nicely decorated, the bathroom by comparison was huge, also beautifully finished. The bed was comfy, and although we had a few issues with the fridge, these were sorted by the apologetic staff.
We used the pool/sauna/steamroom everyday and found them to be clean and not too busy, even with a swimming lesson going on. I had a lovely pedicure on our last day.
Overall we had a wonderful time, the hotel is beautiful, and in a great location, but the staff and their pleasant, friendly and helpful attitudes are what made the stay brilliant. We hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

It’s delightful to read that your weekend was made brilliant by our staff! Thank you for your feedback, which has been forwarded to all the staff so they know they are getting “it” right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had left accommodation booking to the last minute and could find nothing in Stirling. Luckily for us, we found Doubletree Dunblane.... It was such a relief to pull up to a well lit, welcoming establishment with lovely staff. We were given comfortable modern rooms with large bathrooms and the morning view out of the window over the fall colours was breathtaking! The dinner offered by the fire in the lounge was tasty and reasonable, and the staff were efficient and friendly throughout. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHTGaborone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for your high recommendations; it is lovely to read you enjoyed your last minute stay with us. We agree; it is agreeable to cosy up next to the fire on these cold autumn evenings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Very disappointing overall. This may be listed as four stars but it is not at that standard or anywhere near it.

Remnants of broken glass in hotel corridor, our room not correctly cleaned (not vacuumed under tables). Pool changing areas had broken lockers, womens' loos adjacent to restaurant had broken locks on disabled toilet. Gents loo failed to flush.

Dinner was a comedy of errors; my meal arrived without chips (never brought), wrong drinks, no condiments, salt cellar empty, mustard asked for but never brought, other condiments arrived late. My daughter's meal was incorrectly prepared in spite of specific instructions. No refund offered, waiters young, inexperienced and evasive.

Absolutely appalling - avoid.

Room Tip: Don't book, go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wageouris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
2.8 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
20.3 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
5 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range: $123 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing