We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only average - let down by service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Durham
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Only average - let down by service”
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Not up to previous reviews. Having stayed at the hotel in its previous incarnations was optimistic . Unfortunately let down by service. Booked a prosecco deal with DBB and told room only. After showing booking confirmation we were promised wine to room - further request and phone call resulted in request being honored, two requests to open safe and still waiting. Restaurant service average at best. We had to pour our own wine and water, we're not asked if we wanted further drinks and had to ask manager (restaurant) to have desert served.

Food was fresh but over priced for what it is - this is no Michilen restaurant.

If you have to stay in Dunblane this is still probably the place to stay but they are not really trying - ok out of season but no excuse. Having stayed at Hiltons around UK and around world as far as Fiji this one has lessons to learn.

The food is good in parts, nice fish but very small portions with large slab of potato.

Hate to be negative but always honest. Average but could be a premier destination as nice facade, lovely grounds and good room refurb. Please please try harder.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hexaminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,161
    1,300
    835
    404
    189
See reviews for
761
2,081
63
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (836)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lochgilphead
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here 16th September 2012 - the day after we were married. Lovely staff at the hotel upgraded us to a huge suite on the 4th floor and provided drinks on the house for lunch.

The room was stunning, loads of clean fresh towels, bathrobes, slippers and toiletries. Prices for the minibar were laughable (as are all minibars) however I was disappointed to find that they expected £15 for wifi, I shouldn't complain after all the freebies but I don't pay £15 a month at home. Two televisions, comfy sofa and chairs, comfy four poster bed and a stylish modern bathroom all great.

The free to use pool, sauna, steam room and spa were great, however there is only a bubble pool at the same temperature as the pool, no hot tub. Boo! Didn't bother with the restaurant so can't comment but lunch at the bar was expensive for what it was.

Thanks again to the lovely staff, particularly Ashley on reception and Christina at the bar!

Room Tip: Be on your honey moon and get upgrade to suite 442
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartMcNae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

5 star service at a 3 star price. Being on a business trip I was looking to stay focused and relaxed and that's exactly what the staff and environment offered me. Great facilities and food (Nick Nairn's) and an extremely clean room. Had an amazing sleep and awoke to a beautiful breakfast.
Nothing bad to say about the hotel, can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Fantastic building but all a bit disappointing. Bedroom very small - hardly any space to walk between the end of the bed and the desk. Food only average; I couldn't taste the crab in the fishcake; no bread with a fairly ordinary prawn cocktail for my husband; main course plonked on the table when husband visiting the gents, table not cleared competely between courses.

My biggest gripe is no free wifi. At the price we paid, it should be included.

Staircase not vacuumed for the whole weekend.

On the plus side, staff are very friendly and the singer in the restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smithos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

When you pull up to the Hotel it looks impressive. Our daughter (12) thought it was "Fab and cool". Our Room was a family one and with the single up up bed it was a little small. However the staff were very friendly and helpful. The Restaurant Nick Nairn's own was a bonus as you didn't have to drive anywhere. It is easy to find and well appointed for travelling around the area. The smellies in the bathroom were of a better quality than norm. Overall it was a pleasent stay. With my duahgter now converted to "posh" hotels as she said the main toilets next to the restaurant were great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hIggsyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Excellent all round .

All staff very friendly and efficient. Stayed in room 431 which was very clean with everything required for comfort. Bathroom also very clean.

Only one negative aspect in bathroom. As it does not have a window. There did not seem to be any expelair fan or if there was it was not working.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

This was the last hotel on our tour and it turned out to be a good choice Check in was a little slow as there was only one receptionist on duty - there was another member of staff close by who just stood around The room was a good size once we found it - signs weren't too good The bathroom was well appointed with a decent shower The swimming pool and hot tub were excellent We had a meal in the bar which was good if a little expensive We went down for breakfast just before it was due to close but found plenty of choice both hot and cold Because of the slow check in I used the express check out but never got a copy of the bill

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andym1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
2.8 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,076 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
13.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
730 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Property: Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing