We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Doubletree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro
Nearby Hotels
Old Churches House Hotel(Dunblane)(Great Value!)
$78
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Hotel(Bridge of Allan)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cromlix(Kinbuck)
$529
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stirling Court Hotel(Stirling)(Great Value!)
$78
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Stirling City Centre(Stirling)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$104
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Colessio(Stirling)
$122
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,305)
Filter reviews
4,306 results
Traveler rating
1,326
1,424
900
442
214
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,326
1,424
900
442
214
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskailyard restaurantnick nairncookiescocktail barseparate buildingmain buildingfront facingleisure facilitiesjunior suitelovely hotelsteam roomdinner bed and breakfastboth nightsdoubletree by hiltonrelaxing breakself servicebeautiful building
Filter
Updating list...
3,752 - 3,757 of 4,306 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed3 nights to see the Tattoo and Edinburgh Festival and Fringe. Very busy and staff were rushed off their feet but still gave a personal, attentive service. Lovely quiet setting just outside Dunblane but ideal for visiting Stirling, Glasgow and Edinburgh. Good breakfast and dinner but not many local restaurants if you fancy eating elsewhere or if you are looking for nightlife. Room was spacious and comfortable with modern well equiped bathroom.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the car park and others have nice countryside views.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ratbagBirminghamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Firstly the positives : Impressive main building in beautiful setting in walking distance to Dunblane town centre. Staff are generally pleasant and in our visit had no criticisms of cleanliness etc. Our room ( a junior suite) had a very comfortable good sized bed.

The negatives : our bland, overpriced, corporate-type suite was in the very unnattractive concrete annexe at the back. Every public area overrun with (perfectly behaved on our stay) wedding guests both days. Nowhere for us to have a quiet coffee or informal lunch with our young son anywhere in the hotel as all public areas overrun with wedding guests.

Car park blocked by coaches when returned one night - front desk staff not particularly interested. Front entrance of hotel into narrow lobby corridor overrun with wedding guests, Rear entrance from car park takes you into function area, again overrun with wedding guests all day (from 1000 on Sunday) and evening, with hotel guests trying to push a path through the throng, many with luggage.

In reality we did not have the use of the hotel, only of our room.

If intending to go at a weekend ask if there is a large wedding on - if there is I would avoid as the hotel is physically not configured to cope with large weddings and non-wedding hotel guests at the same time .

The highlight was turning into the drive and seeing the beautiful main building and grounds, unfortunately the reality did not really come close. Disappointed for guts of 400 sterling at a promotional 2 nights room only rate.

Room Tip: Ask if your room is in main hotel building or in the unattractive concrete annexe. Ask if there is a wedding on.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAD2969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Mum and I had lunch here last week and it was just perfect. They serve lunch to non-residents and it gave us a chance to have a look around. We've decided to come back for a spa weekend soon. Service was fine - they didn't really notice that we had arrived so we had to go to the bar to let them know. Service was perfect thereafter.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hannah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I wanted to book a spa day with a friend and we chose the Dunblane Hydro. I booked the room online and rang the spa separately to book the spa day. Shorty after booking the spa day, I recevied a call from them to say that the restaurant was fully booked so we would not get our 2 course lunch which is part of the spa day, and was asked "What do you want to do?" I would have appreciated it if they had suggested a compromise but none were forthcoming. Instead I was forced just to cancel the spa day.

Upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted by polite reception staff and made our way to our room. The room was what I would have expected - fairly comfortable and clean. However, it was far too hot and the window did not open very far. This meant that it was far too hot to sleep and I would recommend that they install fans or air-con if rooms are going to be that hot.

At 5.45am the fire alarm went off. We made our way outside with everyone else and were baffled to find that not one member of staff was outside. Everyone stood outside waiting for 15 minutes before a member of staff eventually appeared. It was a very disorganised fire drill and we were never given any explanations.

Overall, I was not very impressed with the customer service but I got the feeling that this was due to a lack of communication between staff and departments such as the restaurant and the spa.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynsey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The hotel is in a lovely building in a beautiful setting. The public lounges, bar and restaurant are a pleasure to spend time in - with tasteful decor appropriately relfecting the grandeur of the old building. Everything neat, tidy & clean, with the wonderful smell of wood polish. The staff at front of house are also brilliant - professional, friendly and helpful. On the face of it, this should all add up to a superb hotel, until you scratch the surface and look behind the scenes.
Going up the stairs, you start to notice that housekeeping don't seem to know how to use a hoover attachment - the edges and the corners of the carpets clearly need cleaning.
The bedrooms are in a similar state.
We stayed in a family room at the back of the building (233 - wouldn't recommend it). Frosted glass, so no veiw - although only for 2 nights, so not that a big a deal.
The sofa bed was already made up for our daughter, however the room was so small, this meant that the bed was right against the cupboard, therefore cutting the room in 2 & you couldn't open the cupboard doors (mini bar & tea / coffee making facilities). Had to lift the bed to get these out of cupboard. There were only 2 mugs (for 3 of us), so called reception to ask for another & also pointed out there was about an inch of dust on lamps next to bed (didn;t bother mentioning the inch of dust in the corner of the wardrobe). The very efficient and helpful reception confirmed would be sorted straight away. Mugs duly delivered, however housekeeping not aware re lamps needing doing, so confirmed would be back later. When we returned to the room, one of the lamps had been sort of dusted, but the other was much the same. Clearly a trip to specsavers needed for housekeeping.
The mattress on the bed had completely collapsed on one side (nearest window) & could not be disguised with matress topper - very uncomfortable and left you with the feeling that you needed to lie towards middle of bed or face very good possibility of falling out of bed.
Bathroom also not great - extractor fan not working, which probably gave some sort of explanaition re why the stone tiles had started to completely come away at the bottom of the bath panel (small child could probably badly scratch themselves on this).
Need to also add that for health & safety reasons, windows don't open, however on a hot evening, the fans provided didn't come close to relieving the oppressive, stifling heat. It ws so bad that I'm sure anyone with a medical condition could have been quite ill - potentially an alternative health and safety issue that management may wish to consider. (Have also just remembered that housekeeping also didn;t replenish tea / coffee / milk).
It's quite unbelievable that a hotel of this standard could allow a room like this to be occupied. With a small amount of attention to detail and some basic consideration for comfort of guests, this room would have been perfectly acceptable.
Didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening, but breakfast was good - and a real pleasure to eat in the beautiful dining room
There appears to be such a lot of focus on presenting immaculate public spaces in this hotel (whole swathes of cleaning teams up ladders spraying and polishing pictures etc), but it feels like they really don't care what state the rooms are in. Whilst first impressions certainly count, the whole point of a good hotel is that your customers get a clean and comfortable stay - I'm not sure that Hilton can tick this box.
Sadly - all the efforts of the fantastic and professional team of people working on reception and in bar etc are badly let down by what;s happening behind the scenes. This hotel should easily be rated excellent, but for reasons above it is average at best.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews