We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spa day but dissapointing service in the restaurant!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely spa day but dissapointing service in the restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Visited on Saturday 7th July for a day spa package, the beauty treatments were lovely & therapists friendly & professional, my only criticism of the spa would be a quiet area to relax as the only seating available was either at the reception or by the pool, we never used the pool or other facilities but they were always busy & the staff on attendence were friendly & helpful.
At 11.00 we had tea & coffee in the cocktail bar, the hotel was very busy with people checking out & in (the restaurant had told us they were still clearing up after breakfast)
On booking I asked for our lunch slot to be at 12.30 however when we went to the restaurant they said we were booked for 1.00 (the spa had confirmed 12.30) we were seated at 12.40 & ordered bread in the meantime before our main course arrived, after 1.00 the bread had not arrived, my sister asked a waitress & was told it was still being baked! Our main meal arrived at 1.25 & we still had no bread so we cancelled it, the waitress appeared confused & had to double check that our side order had been prepared, the food itself was delicious & the portions plentiful, beautifully presented & the restaurant is relaxing & comfortable but due to the slow service & the fact that our afternoon treatments were at 2pm we felt rushed not relaxed!! In between finishing our main & our dessert being served I went up to settle our bill a waiter was pouring drinks at the other end of the bar & I felt I wasn't even acknowledged by him until he returned to the bar after taking the drinks to a table, he was the only member of staff at this point ( there were 2 weddings on Saturday) & we can only assume that most of the staff were attending to the wedding guests? We were served dessert at 1.55pm (5 minutes before our treatments were due to continue & we had said to a waitress after finishing our main that we were to be back down at the spa by 2pm) we then had to ask for spoons! My sister & I rushed our desserts before running down for our treatments! The desserts were lovely & again beautifully presented but all in all we felt rushed not relaxed & the staff lacked direction but it could have been because of the weddings?
We apologised to the therapists & again they reassured us that our lunch was definitely booked for 12.30 to give us time in between our treatments!
A lovely day but felt that if the service at the restaurant had been quicker we would have felt more relaxed!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank scoobydooFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,119
    1,256
    814
    393
    187
See reviews for
731
2,023
62
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (811)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Attended a family wedding at this hotel, the room was booked by family so everything was a surprise. A very busy and vibrant hotel that lived up to its star billing, nothing too much trouble for the staff. Although a little pricey the bar was busy and had an excellent stock of drinks. Breakfast was first class. I would fully recommend this as a venue for a special occasion.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Just back from a last minute bargain DB&B offer at this lovely hotel. Fantastic value for money. Friendly staff, well maintained and clean room and facilities... Some very nice touches including good quality toiletries in room, well stocked minibar and so on. Food in restaurant exceptionally good with range of choices. Allowance for inclusive dinner offer quite reasonable with decent portions. Overall a really nice hotel in beautiful grounds.
Colour choices of plum and dark brown made corridors feel a bit oppressive and made room feel smaller than it was. Air conditioning would have have made a big difference on a balmy Scottish evening with a window that only opened a few inches! Wouldn't stop me going back though!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tootsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We booked in here at short notice after checking out immediately of the planned hotel. The Hydro was lovely, clean but pricey. The first night there was a wedding on and the noise from that disrupted our sleep however when we phoned reception they sounded frustrated about it too. The staff were very helpful. All in all it was a lovely hotel at a price.

Room Tip: If you can ask about weddings etc and request a room away from the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moira T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed here for just one night to celebrate my wedding anniversary. Lovely hotel set in a big country house with a modern twist. Most notIceable thing was the great customer service. Very polite and helpful staff without being patronising. Stayed in a double room with feature jacuzzi bath, was great. Food in the restaurant was excellent for both dinner & breakfast. Service could have been a little quicker but no big deal. We used the leisure facilities and although enjoyed the gym & swimming pool this could do with a refurbishment as it is really not that nice inside & certainly does not match to the standard of the hotel. However, we did have a spa treatment and this was very enjoyable. Overall a lovely hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linzh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

The service in this hotel was great and the staff very friendly. The Resturant was amazing. It's such a shame the standard of accommodation let it down

Room Tip: Ask to see the room when checking in and avoid room 434
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marieviola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Due the building being constructed more than a century ago, we have many styles, sizes and configurations of rooms available at our hotel. I am sorry to read this room was not to your taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dunblane hotels

edinburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at this excellent hotel. From start to finish we thoroughly enjoyed our experience at this hotel and would gladly return. This stay was given to us as a (much appreciated) gift. The room was an ample size for us with a beautiful bathroom. There was also the usual tea/coffee making facilities and a (pay) mini bar. The beds were very comfortable and neither of us had any trouble sleeping in them. We were at the front of the hotel on the 4th floor so we got a great view over the surrounding town. The grounds of the hotel were immaculate. The staff were very helpful and paid close attention to the slightest detail. We had a champagne afternoon tea when we arrived (luckily enough another gift!) which was mouthwateringly delicious. The breakfast buffet included all the usual choices plus excellent porridge. We made use of the swimming pool and sauna and managed to also get a couple of the treatments on offer. We didn't use Nick Nairn's restaurant this time but will do so on our return visit. All in all, we had a very enjoyable and relaxing break in this lovely hotel and would recommend it highly to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alrenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your high recommendations – this is exactly what we aim for; for all of our guests. Please don’t wait too long to come back for another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
2.8 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
20.3 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
13.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
11.4 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Property: Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing