We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Doubletree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro
Nearby Hotels
Old Churches House Hotel(Dunblane)(Great Value!)
$78
$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Hotel(Bridge of Allan)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cromlix(Kinbuck)
$526
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stirling Court Hotel(Stirling)(Great Value!)
$78
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Stirling City Centre(Stirling)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$102
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Colessio(Stirling)
$114
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$132
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Woodside Hotel(Dunblane)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (4,306)
Filter reviews
4,306 results
Traveler rating
1,326
1,424
900
442
214
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,326
1,424
900
442
214
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskailyard restaurantnick nairncookiescocktail barseparate buildingmain buildingfront facingleisure facilitiesjunior suitelovely hotelsteam roomdinner bed and breakfastboth nightsdoubletree by hiltonrelaxing breakself servicebeautiful building
Filter
Updating list...
3,796 - 3,801 of 4,306 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2012

As you drive up to the Hydro, the building takes your breath away. Very imposing and staggeringly beautiful hotel. From the moment you walk in, you are transported to an age long gone. A truly fairy tale hotel. Stayed in both standard rooms and suits. Every one beautifully decorated and extremely clean. Suites are very large with large flat screens in all rooms.. Beds are huge and as comfortable as hotel beds can be. As is the extensive breakfast. Nick Nairn's restaurant serves delicious local food. An excellent hotel for a romantic break

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HungryShireHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Thank you so much for your trip advisor review; we are delighted to read you had a lovely romantic break with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My wife organised a surprise 80th birthday treat with the family getting together for a DBB with the meal at Nick Nairns Kailyard.
The hotel is very imposing and the family who had not been before were very impressed.
The staff were very helpful when we booked in and when we asked for direction "Jim" offered to drive us down to the town and return if we wished. Very impressed by the service which received great feedback from the family. The hot cookie on booking in was also a nice touch.
The rooms were on the small side but very well furnished and equipped. The en-suit was modern and the only complaint was the lack of an extractor to dispel the steam.
The meal can only be described as excellent from the moment we arrived at the restaurant till we left a number of hours later. The staff were exceptional and had decorated the table with 80th confetti and banners for us. We had brought a cake and small fireworks for the table and the staff made a real effort to ensure the birthday meal was a great success.
The staff are a credit to the hotel and restaurant.
Due to the heating still being on in June our sleep was disturbed and when I opened the window for some fresh air we were disturbed by the fans under our window. If we return we will ask for rooms out with that area.
The gym is small but well equipped.
All in all a truly memorable experience and one which my mother in law will treasure as will the family as a whole.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the south side.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimbo1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

It is delight to read our staff were exceptional in making your Mother-in-Law’s 80th birthday treat so memorable for you all. Your feedback has been passed on to the relevant departments so we may improve our service and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dunblane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had a really nice 2 night stay recently. The room though pretty small, was clean, tidy and modern. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, always spoke to our 2 year old son. The hotel seemed noisy with functions yet the rooms were really quiet and you did not hear anything which was great. The breakfast was dissapointing, expected it to be better than the standard buffet breakfast which wasnt as fresh as you would expect. We ate in the Nick Nairn restaurant which was nice enough, though again expected it to be better. The swimming pool was really nice and there were plenty of treatment rooms if you wanted to get some pampering done.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Thank you for your positive comments – these do help us assess the standard of our facilities and services. We are focussing on our breakfast service and offerings and hope you will come back soon to appreciate the changes we have implemented.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

As a Hilton Honors member I had opportunity to stay for 40 pounds and 17K points, so I won't complain about the value. Needless to say we didn't end up in the nicest part of the hotel, but even still I was amazed that this is a Hilton property. The Stirling wing was in bad need of renovation, the rooms small, and the ventilation non-existant. Lucky for us a fairly large storm was blowing through and kept up a steady draft under the door, otherwise I'm sure we would have found the room stifling. The desk and dining staff were friendly and helpful, I tend to to get up in the morning a few hours before the rest of the family. The lovely grounds are all in front of the hotel and really don't offer much access. The bed was comfortable and the lounge comfortable. Otherwise this really seems to be more of a conference hotel and less of a family resort.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mowfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Thank you for your comments about our hotel; I would like to qualify that we are not a family resort and do market ourselves as such. That said, we do have lots of families coming to stay during the holiday periods of the year and have a great time. I am sure you will find there are more family orientated resorts in Scotland that may be better suited to your personal requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed for one night room only and wished we had booked more.Booked in January when Hilton have their sale so got a good deal. Lovely modern room. Reception staff very friendly and helpful and was welcomed by the traditional doubletree cookie which was rather nice. Was told at reception that as I was a Hilton honours guest I would receive free wifi however after searching for the password in my room and after calling reception i was told that this was only available for gold and platinum honors guests. Wifi I thought was rather pricey at 15.00 per day so didn't bother. On the whole a very nice modern hotel with all you would expect from Hilton
Will certainly return here soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Senga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews