We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely weekend at the Dunblane Hydro”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Boddam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend at the Dunblane Hydro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Thank you to the staff of the DH for a lovely weekend. The rooms were nicely decorated , modern and great views at the front of the building. The evening meal we had at the Nick Nairns resturant was excellent and the staff in the Dining room were special - especially Teagan and the dining room manager. The singer in the dining room was also very good. Jim one the staff at the front desk was also very helpful. My only groan was the beds (as i think these beds are all the same in all uk hiltons) they were as hard as boards.!!! We did speak to the lady at the front desk who did get a mattress topper for us which did help. Other than that a very good weekend Oh and by the way breakfasts was the best I have had in any UK hotel !!! Porridge was brilliant ! thank you once again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SojournerScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
The breakfast was the best you have had in any UK hotel? Wow! Thanks for that feedback. Sorry that you found the bed not to your liking but pleased to read that our staff were quick to do what they could to ensure your comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,119
    1,256
    814
    393
    187
See reviews for
731
2,023
62
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (811)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is really good. Large breakfast ! The rooms are well laid out and spotless. First choice for a weekend break. The facilities are really good for a family with a lovely swimming pool. Golf is ten minutes walk from the hotel also.

Room Tip: To see the view from the hotel, request room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeJayBeeAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
What can I say, except to thank you for the feedback and to say how pleased we are that we are your first choice for a weekend break and that you found the staff, food and facilities so good. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Top marks and many thanks to the staff at Dunblane for creating such a warm, intimate and yet highly professional atmosphere in this large imposing hotel. We celebrated my wife's birthday over dinner in Nick Nairn's Kailyard Restaurant where the food as expected was excellent but thanks to an inviting dining room, attentive and knowledgeable staff and above all the soft almost lush music being played by guitarist Marcus Ford and his wife on violin, we had a most memorable evening - WONDERFUL!
Our room in the modern Stirling wing was spacious, well furnished and spotlessly clean. Quality bed linen, sumptuous towels and a fine bathroom which didn't steam up when the shower was in use!
Only slight blemish was caused by a guest who left his half-eaten snack outside his bedroom door. I daresay if he had called room-service for it to be collected it would have been done promptly but as it was it lay on the corridor floor undisturbed for at least four hours on Saturday evening.
Can't wait to go back for another weekend!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
So pleased that we were able to make the birthday treat such a memorable occasion and that you appreciated not only the food but the ambiance of the Kailyard Restaurant and the entertainment provided by the musicians. We will look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Have stayed at Dunblane Hydro a few times now and have been very happy. Staff very friendly and helpful, food excellent, rooms of a very high standard. The 2nd time we paid a little extra and got a double deluxe room, would recommend this as we got a room at the front of the hotel with an amazing view, One of the best things about the stay must be the buffet breakfast. Everything you could ever think of - something for everyone. Good quality food aswell. Will definatly go again and again

Room Tip: double deluxe was the best room we have had - located in the original building not the extention
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Your feedback is appreciated and we are so pleased that all your visits have been so good and that you intend to return again! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

Myself and my partner visited the hotel in October 2010 & January 2011 and wouldn't hesitate to come back. The hotel is located in lovely surroundings. Staff are very helpful and friendly, especially the bar staff. The leisure facilities are great.The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Bedroom was very spacious and well decorated. Look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazmacmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
It was great to read your feedback and we are so glad that the team here lived up to their name and were all so friendly and helpful. Glad that you are looking forward to your next stay – we are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

A lovely old hotel which is generally excellent. We stayed for a few days in January - the drive up from the gate to the hotel is magnificent in the dark on a frosty winter night.

Well decorated, good standard accommodation. Friendly and helpful staff.

The only thing which pulled it down a star in our view was that we had to move room on the first night due to noise (though this was done most graciously and efficiently by the night staff) - but beware rooms above the bar which often seems to have live music (though should mention its good music).

My only other criticism is the gym / health club. The staff were friendly and helpful - and the pool good. But the gym is very small with few machines and some queues even mid week in January.

But overall - we were most happy. And the restaurant there is first class !

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPWhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for posting your review. I was pleased to read that your stay in the hotel gave you such a good start to the year. Sorry about the noise from the entertainment in the bar but glad that we were able to offer you another room with such efficiency. Do hope to see you again soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Excellent welcome from a receptionist with personality. Food in the restaurant was excellent, both dinner and breakfast. It was great to be served by Scottish staff who could actually engage in conversation and serve with a smile. This attitude was followed through to the swimming pool/leisure facilities. Bedroom was good (although too hot). All in all, a refreshing break.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnson_Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
So pleased to read that you appreciated the staff. We recognise that it is the team who make the hotel what it is and I am pleased that you also enjoyed the excellent food and other facilities in the hotel. Thanks for your feedback and do visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
2.8 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
20.3 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
13.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
11.4 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Property: Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing