We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not far to go to excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“not far to go to excellent”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

stayed here on the 1st and 2nd jan, our party was 6 adults and 3 kids with 2 adults and 1 child in each room without the z-bed rooms would have been ample size decor in all rooms was up to a good standard, menu on 1st night was restricted without prior notice but still had an enjoyable meal spoke to restaurant manageress and was satisfied with explanation and on the 2nd night she surpassed herself with assigning our party to private dining nice touch and much appreciated food on both nights was excellent.used leisure facilities on both days swimming pool was good for the kids great 2 day break only point would be and spoke to duty manageress when you ask kids what they want to drink they know by name what they what they want ie fruit shoots,hotel didn,t have anything like this and to pay £6.80 for 3 lemonades is a bit much ,that aside great break with the family

Room Tip: we had 3 different rooms in all locations of hotel all up to a good standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kosampler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
I was very pleased to see that the restaurant manager was so efficient in providing fecilities for your large party on the second night and that you appreciated this and had a great break with your family. We will take note of all your feedback as we strive for excellence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,161
    1,300
    835
    404
    189
See reviews for
761
2,081
63
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (836)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights over New Year and have to say it was quite average. The check in was ok as we had arrived a bit early and staff seemed very harrassed although we did manage to get into our room at around 2.30pm after housekeeping had been notified of our arrival. Hot cookies are to die for!!! On arriving at the hotel and while waiting on our room we decided to have a small snack/bar lunch which consisted of 2 plates of sandwiches which we waited 45 minutes for and we were the only ones eating!!!! Again staff seemed harrassed for no apparent reason.

The room was ok... Had obviously been recently redecorated but still bits needed a bit of work. Room was very dirty and needing a good clean round windows and bathroom was very sad and in need of a refurb. The carpets were extremely dirty. Bed was very hard and uncomfortable and disappointingly small.

There seems to be extemely unnecessary large gaps in the doors of the rooms which allows all outside noise to be heard which made for extremely disturbed sleep.

On Hogmanay we were disturbed by an emergency response team as a result of our smoke alarm (knowing to us as it is silent and only notifies reception!!!!!! hardly an effective safety measure!!!) being set off due to steam from the shower as the extractor fan did not work!!!! We were told this couldnt be fixed as it was Hogmanay!!

Didnt eat at Nick Nairn Restaurant as didnt feel the menu was to our taste and we chose to eat out which was fantastic. We ate at Bologna in Bridge of Allan which was absolutely beautiful. We only had breakfast and light lunches at the hotel and each time were disappointed. Staff were extremely clumsy at breakfast and staff at the bar very unattentive and at one point left the bar unmanned for 15 minutes while 23 people waited to be served!!!

The hotel itself is a lovely building and a credit to Dunblane but for a Hilton we felt somewhat disappointed and really didnt feel it was value for money. There were a few things which could have been improved on, particularly for the time of year and it could have been those little touches that would have made the difference.

The Spa is in a seperate building which was a pain considering how cold, wet and windy it was while we were there which made going over a bit of a chore. The pool was perishingly cold and the "bubble pool" was freezing. The whole area was in need of a refurb.

The only thing i would recomend about this hotel was the Spa Treatments.... has to be one of the best massages and facials i have ever experienced... staff were great and knowledgable.

Dunblane is a lovely quaint little village with a few villages pubs and an Indian restaurant, again not recomended, staff were arrogant and rude and food was tasteless.

All in all a nice short break in a quiet and peaceful part of the country but would not go out my way to venture back in a hurry.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juicylucy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
So pleased to see that you were able to check-in early on your arrival and that you loved the cookies! Glad too that the spa treatments were the best you have ever experienced. We are sorry that some other aspects of your stay didn’t live up to these but appreciate your feedback which will be used in our continued drive to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2012

The hotel was very nice, the hotel grounds were particularly nice. Got delicious cookie on arrival, I was pleased with our room to begin with, but after a while became very disappointed. We were in room 227 on the second floor, the room was directly above the restaurant, the music and noise coming from the restaurant was unbearable from about 7pm till 2am. Didn't get much sleep and for the money we paid did not expect to be so disappointed. Bed was also very soft. Overall I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 227
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Thanks for your feedback. Sorry about the noise from the function and do wish that you had mentioned this to our reception staff so that we could have tried to offer you a quieter room. Thanks for your feedback which will be useful to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Recently stayed for 2 nights together with 4 other families. Hotel lovely, we had junior suite was was great - very spacious and ideal having sitting area. Our stay was not without its problems - 1 room was not booked due to error between website booking & the hotel, we expected set xmas menu in restaurant after making enquiries beforehand only to find out this was not available on the night, we ordered 2 side dishes to go with our mains which arrived at least 5 mins after the entire table of 9 had finished and 1 wasn't even what we had ordered, and the service at breakfast was not great as we had to chase up for tea and coffees. Additionally we never got the famous cookies at check-in. Despite these issues, we really enjoyed the hotel and would stay again as think it is a great base but would seriously consider eating outwith the hotel as a result of the various problems we encountered - a general lack of organisation seemed prevalent. That said, the food that we had was very nice.

Room Tip: go for the junior suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JollySeasider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay on this occasion and that the service was not as professional as it should have been. I was pleased to see that overall you enjoyed the hotel and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We have been there over Xmas. Very nice hotel. Although some troubles at the beginning with the technic, stay was great. Rooms are nice and cosy, just beds are a bit small. Breakfast was great. The building is very nice and also the treatments are good. Staff was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay and that you enjoyed being here over Christmas. We do hope that you will visit us again in 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Stayed here for an evening away, room 223.

The drive up to the hotel through its grounds sets the scene perfectly for the grandeur of the hotel. The hotel itself is a wonderful old victorian building (should i say castle?) which has been well renovated in a a traditional scottish style.

The reception area (and hotel) was very busy, so there was a slight wait to check in, but the warm cookies more than made up for that.

Given it is an old building it can be a bit of a maze to navigate to the hotel rooms, but its well signposted throughout.

The spa is in a separate building which means walking outside to reach it - bit of a let down given the met office amber storm warning we were experiencing! The spa itself is good, but showing the signs of old age - its not a good example for Living Well.

Friendly and pleasant staff everywhere we went, despite the hotel being so busy.

Breakfast was good, try and go early to avoid the queue to be seated. Top marks to the chef who each time he was filling up the buffet asked if i needed anything.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CV76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
We were pleased to see that you rate the hotel as one of the best in Scotland and that the service was good and the team obliging. It is a wonderful old building, isn’t it and I was pleased to see that you appreciated the sympathetic renovation. Do hope that you’ll visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Nice grand looking hotel, warm cookie on arrival. Room was large and bathroom lovely.

Quite alot of noise came through adjoining door and a strong smell of cigrette smoke despite being a non smoking establishment. Nothing was done after a complaint made and could periodically smell smoke, sure it was from neighbouring room also lots of room service empties in the corridor which took a long time to be cleared up.

Pool nice enough but quite cold, jaccuzi freezing. Breakfast was average and afternoon tea was very overpriced, had to keep asking for cutlery, jam etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
As it is over 6 months since you stayed here it is difficult to respond to your specific comments but we are sorry that you did not consider it good value for money. I would like to think that we have made considerable improvements in the last 6 months to which most recent feedback would attest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
2.8 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,075 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
13.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
730 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Property: Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing