We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel let down by poor customer service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel let down by poor customer service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in June to celebrate my parents retirement. The hotel is lovely but they applied our stay with a catalogue of errors including sour out if date milk in the room, rude staff, ants at the pool, leaving the kitchen fans below my sister's room in all night, buses parking outside our window with their engines running at 6.30am and making a total hash of our bill.

If they improve on customer service this could be a lively hotel but until then I would not go back!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MAY1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Sad but not unexpected to read this review after numerous emails to the hotel and to our headquarters and feedback left by the guest on our internal tracking survey. Having exhausted all these avenues and deciding that our patient attempts to resolve their complaints were “half-hearted and totally unsatisfactory” the guest obviously wishes – after 3 months – to express their disappointment again. We have apologised – any times. I can’t say any more – you decide!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,088
    1,236
    806
    384
    183
See reviews for
712
1,977
62
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (794)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Hotel was in a beautiful area with a very well keep grounds. Hotel rooms are nothing fancy and breakfast was good. Service was lacking but would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 12VoltMan-Chitown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Glad to see that you would stay again and I hope that the service will be better on your next visit…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. On the negative side, the room was a bit on the small side, only one comfy chair and the carpet needed a good shampoo. However the postives win, excellent service from the outset (I had been wrongly advised by the companys american call centre that there was a shuttle service, when I called from the train station I was told this was wrong but the helpful receptionist organsied a taxi). Lovely views, food in the restaurant first class, highly recommend the smoked salmon and the tarte tatin is to die for. Overall a very relaxed break, just what we needed.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lynsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
I am so pleased to read that the receptionist was able to promptly assist you in the travel arrangements from the station and that you had such a relaxed break and enjoyed first class food in the restaurant. I do hope that you will visit again sometime in the future…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

Beautiful hotel in beautiful grounds. Service not at standard usually enjoyed from Hilton which was disappointing. Were also allocated a standard room though paid for bigger - rooms do not have a fridge/minibar.
1 very small and slow elevator.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertParkLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
We share your disappointment in the level of service you received if it was below your expectations. We always try to exceed expectations. The size of the elevators (we have two!) could not be increased in this old listed building and we can always provide bar service to your room. (Mini-bars are very expensive to maintain for the hotel and guest alike). Sorry about the room allocation - you should certainly have got what you paid for! If you want to get in touch with me at the hotel I will look into this for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights, with several of our family members and friends joining us for food, drinks etc. We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who wasn't flustered even though she had just checked in a coach load of visitors, whose guide then proceeded to bark instructions regarding location of rooms, meal times etc at his companions. We liked the rooms, I would say they are of average size for this type of hotel - certainly no larger nor smaller than the average of hundreds of rooms I've stopped in over the last three decades or so while travelling professionally and for leisure. Our room was clean and had a pleasant fresh odour (as did the whole hotel). The room was equipped with an iron, an ironing board, hairdrier etc. The bed was larger than average (a 'super king' I guess) so once we'd settled we had a very restful night's sleep. Staff in the restaurant and bar were friendly and gave a pleasant greeting with a genuine smile. The snack and restaurant food were excellent (my wife regreted not being able to eat all the braised lamb she was served due to the portion size being very generous). Other family members used the pool and said it was very clean and pleasant to use. Being a picky person though I had a couple of 'niggles' - the live music in the restaurant on our second evening was obtrusive and so a conversation stopper, although the waitress did listen to my complaint and promptly arranged for the volume to be turned down: also there were no complimentary bottles of water in our room (the coffee and tea making facility was very good though and the tap water was clear and pleasantly drinkable - but my wife prefers bottled water so promptly sent me to the bar for supplies). At the end of the stay the receptionist once again was very friendly and provided all the information I asked for without any sign of impatience. Oh yes, there was ample car parking around the grounds.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 25kV_Sparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
We were so pleased to read your feedback that the hotel provided such a suitable venue for your family event and that the staff maintained such a pleasant and professional manner throughout. I was pleased to see that the restaurant food was excellent with such generous portion sizes and that the waitress immediately took on board your comments about the volume of the music and promptly did something about it. Do hope to see you back again soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night on our way down from Dunkeld to Edinburgh. Hotel was very nice so we decided to stay for dinner and sample some of the Nick Nairn speciality items. Portions were small and the food was quite nice but it was difficult to see what was special about anything we ordered. Restaurant was so dark we had trouble reading the menu. We were told it was "Mood Lighting". Most people would call it dull. We ordered black coffee at £2.75 each and were delivered 2 cups, half full. I joked with the waiter that for that price we had expected a pot of coffee plus petit fours and was told, rather surly, that serving coffee in cups was "more classy".

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
Glad that you decided to stop over here on your way back to Edinburgh but sorry that you weren’t wowed by the restaurant and that the décor was not to your liking. Sorry, too, for the less-than-professional response of your waiter but pleased that you did enjoy your stay in this beautiful location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Past glories somewhat restored and friendly, engaging staff who make the difference. But rooms are pokey and some aspects, like Internet, are an insulting ripoff. That said, probably the most happening bar in a provincial hotel on a Tuesday night that I've ever seen. Go on, you know you want to ;-)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fibernachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
“The most happening bar in a provincial hotel” – love that description! Despite the £12m recently spent on the major refurbishment of the hotel, it wasn’t possible to change the sizes of the rooms, giving us a range of rooms of different sizes and styles and I’m sorry that you found your room rather small. We’re also exploring our options around Internet charges which are complicated by infrastructure install and support costs and by bandwidth availability challenges. Do hope you’ll visit again soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
2.9 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
20.3 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
11.4 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
13.8 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Property: Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing