We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Imposing, fun, but a bit lacking in the finishing touches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Imposing, fun, but a bit lacking in the finishing touches”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Past glories somewhat restored and friendly, engaging staff who make the difference. But rooms are pokey and some aspects, like Internet, are an insulting ripoff. That said, probably the most happening bar in a provincial hotel on a Tuesday night that I've ever seen. Go on, you know you want to ;-)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fibernachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
“The most happening bar in a provincial hotel” – love that description! Despite the £12m recently spent on the major refurbishment of the hotel, it wasn’t possible to change the sizes of the rooms, giving us a range of rooms of different sizes and styles and I’m sorry that you found your room rather small. We’re also exploring our options around Internet charges which are complicated by infrastructure install and support costs and by bandwidth availability challenges. Do hope you’ll visit again soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,131
    1,267
    822
    396
    187
See reviews for
739
2,036
62
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (818)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Beautiful hotel, Lovely room, good restaurant and friendly and personal service from the staff. I would definetely go back If in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bloklyset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you for posting this feedback and we are so pleased that both the hotel and restaurant, as well as the personal service from our team members, make you want to return. We look forward to seeing you…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

The hotel on arrival looked very nice, well kept lawn and immaculate reception area. Check in was speedy and efficient. The room we were given was in the "new" wing (I do have to stress that planning officials should be shot for allowing this monstrosity to be built on the side of a nice historic building). Our room was quite small but perfectly formed, although it could have done with a good clean and dust and the carpets desperately need a vacuum and the bathroom really needs a deep clean and the grout needs urgent attention. The bedding was clean and the bed comfy and I was glad to see the shampoo etc were of a good enough make not to be loaded with chemicals.

The carpets throughout the corridors really need somebody to vacuum them far more often as they always had loads of bits on them and the handyman needs to get down the corridors and paint all the scrapes and bashes on the walls and doors (this is just a personal pet hate of mine in hotels).

The bar areas are very nice and clean, drinks a bit expensive but the bar staff were all very pleasant.

Dinner was the worst part of our stay which was a bit of a letdown as it was the part I was most looking forward to. The restaurant is decorated to perfection for my taste but that is where the pro's end. We struggled to find anything on the menu that we wanted to eat so we both opted for the smoked salmon starter, this was nice although you can't go wrong with shoving a bit of smoked salmon on a plate with some watercress (this would have been far better also served with a slice of wholemeal bread to give it some substance). My main course I had trout which was served just warm on a bed of green potato stuff and something they were passing off as vegetables was 4 pea sized cut outs of a courgette!!! My husbands dinner was far worse though, he got a bowl of bean soup with a pork chop stuck on top (we should have guessed something was up as a few other guests had ordered side orders of chips and potatoes to give their meal a boost as they really lacked any substance, no wonder Nick Nairn is stick thin!!). Dessert I had the chocolate torte, no complaints for me but my husband ordered the rhubarb crumble as he was so hungry he thought this would be the most filling dessert, this turned out to be apple crumble as there was no rhubarb which was fine, although when it turned up instead of being a nice hearty looking crumble it turned out to be a circle of a very light crumbly textured oddity with some apple through it (not really like my crumble) and again was so light in texture it didn't have any substance again!!

The next nights dinner wasn't any better (the couple next to us couldn't find anything they wanted to eat either so just asked if the chef could make them some simple fish and chips, which to their credit they did) If we hadn't paid for the dinner beforehand we would never have gone back but we gave it another go. My husbands main was the chicken breast which again was served in a bowl on top of a concoction similar to a broth (we have since noted that if your main meal comes served in a bowl then you know you have a soup disguised as a main!!!) On the first night we both left the restaurant starving
hungry (contemplating whether to find the nearest chippy) but the next night we were quite prepared and had a big lunch while out shopping so it wasn't so bad.

Breakfast on the first morning was very good, we were greeted by a very nice Scottish girl who was polite and respectful and the food options were very good.

On the second morning we were greeted by a rather bolshy and miserable (eastern european) who really didn't want to be there, I was shown to a chair that had food all over it which I swiftly picked up and swapped with a chair from the next table and instead of checking why I had done this he just proceeded to sit another guest in the same food stained chair!!

Overall the hotel is quite nice and probably what people expect of a chain hotel. Some areas do need improvement and being trained in hotel management I probably do find fault and notice many things that some people may not. It would be nice to see the hotel look into the restaurant and maybe make it a little less pretentious and suit the food tastes of the many and not just the few. It would be nice to see the hotel employ a few more Scottish staff as they are certainly more pleasant and grateful for their jobs than their foreign counterparts who come across as miserable, arrogant and rude.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thetravellerScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
I am sorry that you were disappointed particularly in the restaurant menu. You mention that the guests at an adjoining table asked the chef to make something more to their taste and were promptly served a specially-prepared meal – I only wish that you had done the same so that we could have ensured your satisfaction. I am sorry that you met a member of staff who you thought was rather ‘bolshie’ but I have to defend the large number of foreign people who work in the hospitality industry in Scotland and say that I find your description of them as miserable, arrogant and rude to be a rather patronising generalisation which I find rather distasteful and surprising from someone who has been trained in hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

The hotel is much nicer since the £12 million refit.........back in 2008 it was like "The Shining"

Bedroom good.....Bathroom good.......food good, but small portions and expensive.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onthebuses1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Most people who return to the hotel after several years are amazed at the transformation! So glad you enjoyed your stay…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

ok there are places you visit to see the sites or tourist spots, but this hotel can be a visiting spot in itself if you happen to visit Sterling. It is one of the most beautiful hotels i have stayed in. the staff is very helpful and the checking process is very easy. As my partner is a Hilton Platinum member, we were upgraded to a suite on our arrival. the view from our room was outstanding, the big bathrooms ( with jacuzi) and the comfortable bed, you just wont feel like going out of your room.

the cons: location a bit secluded ( but u will love it if you want to enjoy a session of Golf)

there is an Indian restaurant within 5 min of walks (good food and they deliver until late night in hotel)

the staff made our stay very pleasant and is extremely helpful. Small
Will definitely visit this place and highly recommend for a peaceful and luxurious stay

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, if available they might just fulfill your wish and ask for a front view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VarunChopra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
I love your description of your stay as “magical” and that this was one of the most beautiful hotels you have ever stayed in. Glad that the staff were extremely helpful and made your stay so pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

The initial room we were offered smelt musty but we were moved with no problem to a nicer room. Breakfast tasty and lots of choice. Also ate in the restaurant where the food and service was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TortgirlScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
I am pleased to read that we were able to offer you an alternative room without any problem and that you enjoyed your stay and that both the food and service in the Kailyard Restaurant was excellent. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The Dunblane Hydro is a very relaxing place for a weekend break. The lack of activities in the immediate area (those not requiring a drive) is and advantage rather than a problem.

The downstairs lobby areas and cocktail bar have a 'cosy living room' feel enabling a solo traveller to curl up on a big chair with a warming drink and a good read entirely comfortably.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hlm_w_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatchmanDunblane, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
So glad to read that as a ‘solo traveller’ you felt at home with us and enjoyed your visit to the hotel. Hope we can look forward to welcoming you back again soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
2.8 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
20.3 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
13.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
11.4 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Property: Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing