We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
ayrshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“will return”
Reviewed April 6, 2011

arrived at a glorius hotel in excellent condition. Beautiful entrance but lots of stairs to reception which is on the first floor, there is a lift to it, so use if u have suitcases. Very friendly and professional reception, we were given a lovely cookie on arrival. Hotel is in excellent condition, redone in 2009 and u can tell. Our room was on the 2nd floor facing the front, the gardens, try for a room here, theres an extension on the back of the hotel doesnt look as nice or have a nice outlook. We had a deluxe room, dressing gown slippers, good neutrogena toilettries and a whirlpool bath with seperate shower cubicle. Room very comfy. Had a meal in the kailyard restaurant by Nick Nairn, lovely but pricey, again great service. Try the cocktail bar for evening drinks. We went into Dunblane for something to eat but nothing there then went to Stirling and found only a few places open in the evening. However, had a great time, more than enough to do onsite with the leisure facilities, great food, wine etc. One of my favourite hotels, we will go back. A great base to explore this part of Scotland. Usual Hilton outstanding quality.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhnmckill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,180
    1,314
    843
    405
    190
See reviews for
773
2,105
63
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow,Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Arrived 3.40pm. Granted check-in states 4pm but to be told that your room is still showing up on the system as 'dirty'(!) well, it's just not what you want to hear!

@ 4pm, went back to reception and given key. Room OK but had booked a junior suite. To me, the room appeared too be a larger room with settee. A suite should surely have a seperate room for relaxing in? Was told that this was in fact a suite.

Dinner fab. Food fab, service fab.

Breakfast; arrived 25 mins before breakfast due to finish. Young waiter clearing tables nearby - VERY noisey! He literaly threw cutlery onto a tray for clearing! Not very relaxing!

When checking out I mentioned all of this (& other niggley details!) to reception whereby they took off cost of dinner from my bill.

We'll go back as I love this hotel, but keep on top of everything if you want what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

The hotel location is like a calendar picture, it is absolutely gorgeous. The main part is besutiful, chick and the staff is verey helpful. It is very clean and tidy. Howeveer, the newest part which is the one you stay with promotions is a bit shabby looking. The room is quite nice but the corridors look like a old hotel. But it is a small downside for such a great place, great food!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaynaraSegurado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e mids
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Lovely warm cookie on check-in- nice touch Doubletree! Lovely views over the countryside & Dunblane from the front of the main hotel. Great public rooms. We were in a standard room, it was nice, our room was in the Stirling Wing. We had a view over the front, but were ground floor, so behind a bush! Room had great facilities, though I'd expected a dressing gown & slippers, but these aren't standard!
We heard some drunken singing when we walked back across the carpark - early evening, but were far enough away not to be bothered. I can see how this could ruin your weekend tho' if you were unfortunate enough to be situated in rooms right next to them.
Facilities great. Room service lovely - highly recommended, but don't forget the tray charge on top. Took our dog, staff very welcoming to us all, cost us £10/night.
Towels good quality, big & super absorbent. Shower was powerful & a pleasure! Bath had some grime underneath the tap area, which is a shame as everywhere else seemed spotless, nothing a toothbrush & cleaning agent couldn't sort.
Highly recommended to visit the Trossachs & local area. Lovely setting. Staff we encountered very friendly, professional & efficient.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panda999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dornoch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Special Offer by Doubltree by Hilton lured us to this hotel - which boasts The Kailyard restaurant by Nick Nairn. From the moment of check-in when you are given warm cookies
( a must on a gals weekend) to the luxurious room - even the standard rooms are elegant - to the use of leisure facilities and evening entertainment - Saxophonist etc this hotel gives exceedingly good value for money and makes you feel that you've had a treat.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisKolumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

We went for a quiet weekend to recharge our batteries but could get no sleep for the constant noise during the night. There were two large events booked for that weekend - a wedding and a 21st birthday party and we seemed to be caught between the two of them! The drunken behaviour of the guests going to their rooms, constant knocking on doors and people trying to get into rooms that didn't belong to them put paid to my night's sleep. It was after 5 am before the noise abated. If you want quiet weekend, make sure no large events are taking place at the same time. We were in the Stirling suite. You might be better in the main hotel away from the noise. We wasted our second day by having to catch up on our sleep!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kl malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

we stayed here for a night on a holiday to uk>we were travelling from edinburgh to london.and sort of lost our way>someone at the gas station reccomende this hotel and we are glad we found it.we chesked in at about midnite and the staff was friendly and attentive.being a malaysian family we are used to staying together all seven of us i one big room or connecting rooms cos the little ones would not sleep on their own {not even at home}.we managed to get rooms next to each other.its a beautiful "castle".the interior is modern whereas the grounds and exteriors arent. we had lunch at the tea room i think cos there was an emergency mok up at the main dining hall.we loved it and would come again and explore the town next time we come back to london i hope soon.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lynlawless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
2.8 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
13.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
750 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Property: Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing