We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant”
Review of Chimes House

Chimes House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunblane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chimes House
Ranked #3 of 4 Dunblane B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 12, 2013

we stayed at the chimes and had a great time. moira and her partner made us so welcome,
moira is a great hostess and does a fantastic breakfast. they both went out of there way to help, letting us know about events taking place and many other things.the room we stayed was great. we enjoyed staying at the chimes and their company so much that we are definately returning again thank you both for a wonderful time. hazel

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazeljones1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Chimes House, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Thanks for your review - we are now under new ownership and now completed at £50,000 refurbishment to Chimes House and re-launched on 3rd NOVEMBER 2016... maybe we can welcome you back next time you travel
Best Wishes
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 32 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here for our friends wedding at the begging of the month. There was 5 of us that stayed at the chimes and we had a 5 week old baby.

Moira and her partner were wonderful.
They both made us feel very welcome and at home. Which for ourselves (well mainly me!) was brilliant as with a newborn baby it was needed and made me feel at ease. Moira is very attentive ie rooms were hoovered and cleaned everyday! And nothing was any trouble.

The rooms were very clean and the bathroom (which for the family room we had was across the hall) was lovely.

I do feel however that the family room is a little dated and could do with a bit of a revamp but that is down to possibly my personal taste nothing more.

The location is excellent for those who have a wedding to attend at the cathedral and it's very close to all amenities.

Dunblane is beautiful and it speaks for itself.

Breakfast was lovely and delicious.

Don't be put off by the pub below - once the windows are shut you cannot hear anything (it's not at all rowdy - all locals) and we wasn't disturbed once (even with a newborn baby).

Parking a bit iffy but we had no trouble.

Would definately stay there again.

Thanks both

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluebell_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Chimes House, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Thanks for your review - we are now under new ownership and now completed a £50,000 refurbishment to Chimes House and re-launched on 3rd NOVEMBER 2016... maybe we can welcome you back next time you travel
Best Wishes
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Moira is a great hostess for this small homely b&b,situated overlooking the cathedral and above a local hostelry.Attending a local wedding it was a perfect spot to come back too,spotless room,tea and coffee in the room and directions from moira as well as local taxi numbers in case we needed a taxi back later.
The shower is just adequate,no high water pressure and the small shower/bathroom would be better un carpeted.
Breakfast was good ,yes its not a menu but thats what you expect in hotels, not in a small b&b.
A refreshing change for us as we both worked in the hospitality industry, and the large chain hotels while providing more amenities tend to be soulless .Local points of interest were pointed out to us and an early morning walk was just the thing to see this charming little town.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigglesStrathaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Chimes House, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Thanks for your review - we are now under new ownership and now completed a £50,000 refurbishment to Chimes House and re-launched on 3rd NOVEMBER 2016... maybe we can welcome you back next time you travel
Best Wishes
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here the night after our wedding (lack of accomadation due to 3 weddings in Dunblane in one day, and didn't want to stay at my parents). We were told to get up and out at 9:30am, we had missing breakfast and wouldn't even give us a coffee (served for about 20mins around 8am as far as I remember), the bathroom was crummy and the shower didn't work, we had difficulty getting back into the B&B at about 11:30pm due to a faulty key and then the landlady was rude!
Plus side it was clean and a central location and reasonable price (though no price is reasonable considering the above).

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahthevetTring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Chimes House, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Thanks for your review - we are now under new ownership and now completed a £50,000 refurbishment to Chimes House and re-launched on 3rd NOVEMBER 2016... maybe we can welcome you back next time you travel
Best Wishes
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here to attend a wedding at the Dunblane Hydro. We weren't quite sure what to expect as the house was above a pub but what a lovely surprise. The room we had overlooked the front of the house and the Dunblane Cathedral. The room was a lovely clean ensuite double bedroom. Tea making facilities with real milk, not the little cartons that you usually get, also chocolate biscuits. Moira made us feel very welcome from the start and even supplied us with a map showing us where to go for an evening meal, how to get to the Hydro and even a short cut if we wanted to walk back after the reception. In the morning we had a choice of various cereals, orange juice, toast, pot of tea and a lovely cooked breakfast. Great value for money and would definately recommend. Our only regret was that we could only stay for the one night.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalli1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Chimes House, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Thanks for your review - we are now under new ownership and now completed a £50,000 refurbishment to Chimes House and re-launched on 3rd NOVEMBER 2016... maybe we can welcome you back next time you travel
Best Wishes
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Chimes house is well situated in the centre of Dunblane and right opposite the Cathedral.
My wife and I were made very welcome by Mrs Campbell in a comfortable double room with en-suite bathroom.
The room, bedding, and bathroom were clean and the breakfast generous. A friendly, busy pub called the Tappit Hen occupies the ground floor of the building, but we were not disturbed by any noise from this. Free WiFi is available for accessing the internet as well as a couple of BTs WiFi hotspots. Overall great value for money and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for en-suite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veryoldfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Chimes House, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Thanks for your review - we are now under new ownership and now completed a £50,000 refurbishment to Chimes House and re-launched on 3rd NOVEMBER 2016... maybe we can welcome you back next time you travel
Best Wishes
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed here for 1 Saturday night as part of our Scotland Vacation. This Guesthouse is located right across the street from the Dunblane Cathedral, and about a 5-10 minute walk to the train and bus stations.

We had booked in advance, and ended up in a room with two single beds, which was unexpected. The beds and sheets do not suit a tall person at all. (I'm over 6'). The lock on the door did not work either. No Internet is available either.

There's no ensuite bathroom, so we had to go across the hall. I had never seen a bathroom with carpet until here. Shower pressure was non-existing.

Breakfast was lackluster as well. Although home cooked, you don't really have a selection, as it's just brought out to you.

Moira is a very nice hostess, but the overall amenities are lacking.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canuck33m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Owner at Chimes House, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Thanks for your review - we are now under new ownership and now completed a £50,000 refurbishment to Chimes House and re-launched on 3rd NOVEMBER 2016... maybe we can welcome you back next time you travel
Best Wishes
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunblane hotels
0 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
0.3 mi away
The Village Inn Apartment
The Village Inn Apartment
#1 of 2 in Dunblane
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimes House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimes House

Address: Cathedral Square, Dunblane FK15 0AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Dunblane
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dunblane
Price Range: $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chimes House, bed and breakfast guest house accommodation, Dunblane, Perthshire, Scotland...overlooking the magnificent 12th-century cathedral in the centre of Scotland's smallest city of Dunblane (pop.7200), Chimes House is a light, spacious Victorian town house retaining many original features combined with modern comforts, where guests will enjoy traditional Scottish hospitality and excellent home cooking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chimes House Dunblane, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing