We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a surprising find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ciar Mhor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunblane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ciar Mhor
Ranked #2 of 4 Dunblane B&B and Inns
Dunblane, United Kingdom
1 review
“a surprising find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here while our house was having some work done it (we live in Dunblane) and we really pleasantly surprised at having such a lovely B&B on our doorstep. Lovely big and warm house! Thank you! And fantastic views of the Allan Water from the dining/living room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
14
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed as a family between Christmas and New Year while visiting friends in Dunblane. The room was a nice size for 2 adults and very small 2 children. There was a cot and a high chair provided which helped enormously. Jean and her husband were friendly and made sure we were OK. I was silly enough to leave my wallet behind and Jean was kind enough to post it onto me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donpeblo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We've been here once for 1 night and one week later for another two nights during our trip trough Scotland. Its a very nice place to stay. The McGregors are very friedly and helpful. The breakfast was good and enough, if we wanted more, just ask. Both times we've got a Tea or coffee for welcome. The location is really beautyful with the river behind the house! We will come back thats for shure!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisser79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

I have stayed with Jean and Ewan on several occasions and found their home a wonderful relaxing place to stay. The views from the lounge are stunning with the river flowing past the window. I have always found the rooms clean, cosy and comfortable. After a wonderful breakfast you will find that Dunblane is a convenient base for all areas and returning to the comfort of Ciar Mhor in the evenings, relaxing in the beautiful lounge makes the trip worthwhile. Jean made you feel like part of the family rather than a guest in this wonderful house. Will definitely be staying here again on our next trip to Scotland!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evieb61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fettercairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed here last year when attending a classic car show in nearby Bridge of Allan and were delighted and happy with our stay that we booked to return again this year. Jean is a lovely welcoming host and you feel that you are staying with a close family relative rather than a B&B owner.We had a lovely clean double room and a great sleep and she even put on the log fire in the Private Guest Lounge in the evening in order that we could sit their in comfort and watch TV which was very thoughtful, we were joined by another couple who were a pleasure to meet and thay too were delighted with their accommodation .We are returning in June and are looking forward to it already. Thank you once again for your great hospitality and kindness and for being so nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HoweOTheMearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed at Ciar Mhor for 2 nights recently while attending a family party in Dunblane. The location was lovely right next to the river, we saw a heron one day and also enjoyed watching the dogs in the park. Our room on the ground floor was very comfortable and the breakfasts were great with the eggs coming from the hens kept by Ewan and Jean. The lounge was a lovely place to relax with a good book and Jean very kindly lit the fire for us when we came back in the afternoon having been caught in a very heavy shower of hailstones. Would stay at Ciar Mhor again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nettie1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

Just stayed recently whilst at a wedding! The lady of the house was not very helpful no matter what we asked. Rooms were ok decor but freezing at night! Only one room en suite! The breakfast was terrible.... the cereal seemed like it had been in the tupperware containers for years and we had to ask for milk. There was a small jug of orange juice, enough for 2 people even though there were 6!! When we asked for more the jug was taken away and then returned with small amount, again for approx two people. The cooked breakfast was also very poor with very little, no bread, beans etc. Just overall very disappointing and I would never stay again!!

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeanmacgregor, Owner at Ciar Mhor, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
I too am disappointed at such a bad report - the first in over 12 years of providing B&B.
I would disagree with their opinion that I was unhelpful as all 3 items which I was asked for, I supplied.
It was bad judgement putting the heat off at night - as has happened for the last month -especially as these guests returned at 3. 30 in the morning on a very cold morning. This has been rectified by leaving the heating on when necessary.
I have to accept that - in their opinion - the breakfast was insufficient,although no-one else has ever mentioned this.
We were not asked at the time of booking if all the rooms were en-suite. All advertising has this information in it.
At no time during their stay was the breakfast or heating commented on.
I trust you find this helpful Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
0.5 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
4.0 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 21 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Queen's Hotel
The Queen's Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciar Mhor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciar Mhor

Property: Ciar Mhor
Address: Ciar Mhor Auchinlay Road, Dunblane FK15 9JS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Dunblane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dunblane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Ciar Mhor Dunblane, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing